Honest Question - Self-destroy a Unit?

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Honest Question - Self-destroy a Unit?

Postby Ignorance_is_Sin » 02 Jun 2020, 01:36

Is it outside the rules to disband a unit of mine, to replace the unit next build with a new unit of the other type (meaning disband fleet and build an army)?
Ignorance_is_Sin
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Nov 2017, 05:34
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (944)
All-game rating: (953)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Honest Question - Self-destroy a Unit?

Postby DarthWader » 02 Jun 2020, 02:44

That's totally fine. If your unit is dislodged, you may choose to disband it, and then if you are short a unit on the build turn, you may build anything you want.
DarthWader
Premium Member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: 17 Nov 2012, 22:01
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 2127
All-game rating: 2370
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Honest Question - Self-destroy a Unit?

Postby jay65536 » 02 Jun 2020, 03:51

The key is "if your unit is dislodged".

If your unit is not dislodged, you can't arbitrarily choose to take it off the board.
jay65536
 
Posts: 487
Joined: 10 Sep 2016, 18:13
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1120)
All-game rating: (1126)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Honest Question - Self-destroy a Unit?

Postby AKFD » 02 Jun 2020, 09:05

Self-destroying a unit is completely allowed. And it's very beneficial for you too, especially if that unit has been overstretched from your defenses.
Silver Classicist! (well, I used to be one)

Apparently "the biggest GoT fan" (@Pootleflump)

Have fun on this website. Signing off.
User avatar
AKFD
 
Posts: 1228
Joined: 24 Mar 2018, 15:55
Location: Metro Manila, Philippines
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: 820
All-game rating: 755
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: Honest Question - Self-destroy a Unit?

Postby Phlegmatic » 02 Jun 2020, 16:15

To see a great example of how this can work in practice, watch the 1901 moves and builds by Russia and Turkey here:

https://youtu.be/q61bVJdIzN4
Phlegmatic
Premium Member
 
Posts: 128
Joined: 18 Jul 2018, 16:50
Location: Cheshire, UK
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1430
All-game rating: 1586
Timezone: GMT


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests