Question about cutting support

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Question about cutting support

Postby svengali » 28 Feb 2008, 08:33

I'm playing a game as France, and in the summer of 1903, here's the setup. I have a fleet in Liverpool while England has a fleet in Wales. Russia has an army in Clyde. I also have a fleet in the English Channel. I would like to hold Liverpool in the fall, but fear England moving WAL-LIV with Russian support at Clyde. Obviously I have no adjacent units to support my fleet, so my question is this. If I move ENG-WAL and LIV-CLY, will that cause a bounce? Thanks.
svengali
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Feb 2008, 12:17
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Question about cutting support

Postby Master Radishes » 28 Feb 2008, 11:38

No, it won't. Lvp-Cly will not cut the Russian support, as it will still be two units against one, and ENG-Wal does absolutely nothing, as Wal is moving, not supporting, so there won't be support to cut or anything. Instead, you'll take Wal, but be forced to retreat from Lvp.

What you could do instead, however, is attack Lvp - Wal, with ENG supporting the attack. This will bounce you two back out again, as each side has two units attacking without support being cut anywhere. But only do this if you're certain Russia will be supporting Wal-Lvp, otherwise you'll end up with Wal and will have left Lvp open.

If you don't want to risk that, and play it safe - sorry, with those pieces and their arrangement, there's no move to guarantee you'll hold Liverpool.
Master Radishes
 
Posts: 6206
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: London
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1071)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Question about cutting support

Postby svengali » 28 Feb 2008, 20:39

Alright, thanks. Thought it was worth a try. I guess I have to use old fashioned diplomacy to convince Russia to look elsewhere.
svengali
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Feb 2008, 12:17
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Question about cutting support

Postby infinity8ball » 11 Mar 2008, 21:05

Support is cut by an attacking unit UNLESS the attacking unit is in the province that the supporting unit is helping to dislodge.

Or in layman's terms... you can't cut support of a guy who's already attacking your spot (or helping to attack it).
User avatar
infinity8ball
Sponsor
Sponsor
 
Posts: 2174
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Question about cutting support

Postby Xeinar » 12 Mar 2008, 13:04

This is a very helpful thread... even for those like me who don't play since a long time and despite re-reading the rules keep on forgetting things! :D :D :D
Xeinar
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 19:48
Location: Rome, Italy
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Question about cutting support

Postby infinity8ball » 18 Mar 2008, 16:29

Yeah, you can kind of think of it this way:

If you attack someone, they need to fight you. If you attack someone supporting (involved in another battle), they have to stop what they're doing and address you and your assault on their borders.

IF, however, that army is supporting the assault against you in your province, they're already fighting you (just with shelling and artillery), so you don't really distract them from already attacking you.
User avatar
infinity8ball
Sponsor
Sponsor
 
Posts: 2174
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest