Movement, can one unit block two spaces effectively

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Movement, can one unit block two spaces effectively

Postby dlouhane » 04 Dec 2017, 01:47

For all intents and purposes, pretend there is nothing else on the board.

I have a French fleet in Irish Sea that is ordered to move to Wales
I have a French fleet in the English channel that is ordered to move to London

There is currently an English Fleet(army) in Wales, that is ordered to move to London.

What happens?

If you have The one English and one French trying to go to London, they bounce, which means the English stays in Wales, and the French fleet in the Irish sea cant dislodge it (1v1)

In essence, the English player can guard two places at once?
dlouhane
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 Nov 2017, 05:00
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (884)
All-game rating: (887)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Movement, can one unit block two spaces effectively

Postby V » 04 Dec 2017, 02:13

Yes. It requires England to correctly predict the French moves & achieve the bounce in London. France has alternative successful options (e.g. to support an attack on Wales from Irish Sea) in the example provided. Diplomacy is mainly about diplomacy, but straightforward tactics can also influence the contest.
Platinum Classicist
Voilà! In view, a humble vaudevillian veteran cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of Fate. This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is a vestige of the vox populi, now vacant, vanished.
V
 
Posts: 779
Joined: 04 May 2014, 21:28
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1769
All-game rating: 1827
Timezone: GMT-7

Re: Movement, can one unit block two spaces effectively

Postby ExiledAtHome » 04 Dec 2017, 03:46

Sure this type of event is very common (two units bounce, thus causing a secondary bounce of a unit trying to move into one of the territories one of the units was / still is sitting in).

In your specific scenario, one could just not attempt to move to London, allowing the English fleet in, and then the Irish Sea fleet will move to Wales, leaving two units adjacent to London next turn.

Or move Irish Sea to Liverpool, English Channel to London. Wales cannot block both.
Gold Classicist Member
User avatar
ExiledAtHome
 
Posts: 3376
Joined: 19 Aug 2014, 22:56
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1385)
All-game rating: (1590)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Movement, can one unit block two spaces effectively

Postby ExiledAtHome » 04 Dec 2017, 03:49

And this just occured to me, but I hope this is not an active game you're currently in, or at least that the scenario you posited isn't the actually game scenario.

You're not supposed to talk about active games or get tactical / strategic advice, nor are we supposed to give it.
Gold Classicist Member
User avatar
ExiledAtHome
 
Posts: 3376
Joined: 19 Aug 2014, 22:56
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1385)
All-game rating: (1590)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Movement, can one unit block two spaces effectively

Postby dlouhane » 04 Dec 2017, 04:40

No. Not an active scenario. I'm trying to understand nuances of rules.
dlouhane
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 23 Nov 2017, 05:00
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (884)
All-game rating: (887)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Movement, can one unit block two spaces effectively

Postby ExiledAtHome » 04 Dec 2017, 04:50

No problem then.
Gold Classicist Member
User avatar
ExiledAtHome
 
Posts: 3376
Joined: 19 Aug 2014, 22:56
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1385)
All-game rating: (1590)
Timezone: GMT-5


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest