Can A Kiel- Denmark without convoy ?

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Can A Kiel- Denmark without convoy ?

Postby hallusk » 18 Jul 2011, 15:06

Can A Kiel- Denmark without convoy ?
hallusk
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 30 May 2011, 00:12
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Can A Kiel- Denmark without convoy ?

Postby musashisamurai » 18 Jul 2011, 15:08

Yes, and if you don't believe me, look at the old naps: it clearly shoes them bordering
¸,,¸_____}\,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,...,,,,,,
`’’´¯¯¯¯¯}/’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’¨¨¨¯
The simulacrum is never that which conceals the truth-it is the truth which conceals that there is none. The simulacrum is true.
musashisamurai
 
Posts: 16512
Joined: 16 Dec 2010, 21:54
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Can A Kiel- Denmark without convoy ?

Postby felexus » 18 Jul 2011, 15:27

Yes, you can go Kiel-Denmark with your army it is a very common opening move for Germany. If you aren't fully certain of this you can find maps showing them connected as musashisamurai said.

By the way you can also move Denmark-Sweden (seriously this is true). This gives you an upper hand as Germany in negotiations with Russia.
felexus
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 17 Jul 2011, 23:07
All-game rating: 6140
Timezone: GMT

Re: Can A Kiel- Denmark without convoy ?

Postby Tolumnius » 18 Jul 2011, 15:29

Denmark is essentially treated as both a land space and a sea space, so a fleet can move through it and an army can move through it.
"Sume superbiam quaesitam meritis et mihi Delphica lauro cinge volens, Melpomene, comam." -Horace, Odes III.30
User avatar
Tolumnius
 
Posts: 47
Joined: 23 May 2011, 15:51
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Can A Kiel- Denmark without convoy ?

Postby ChristianAnkerstjerne » 18 Jul 2011, 16:32

felexus wrote:By the way you can also move Denmark-Sweden (seriously this is true).


We do have a bridge, you know? ;)
User avatar
ChristianAnkerstjerne
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 27 Feb 2011, 11:58
Location: Denmark
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Can A Kiel- Denmark without convoy ?

Postby musashisamurai » 18 Jul 2011, 17:29

ChristianAnkerstjerne wrote:
felexus wrote:By the way you can also move Denmark-Sweden (seriously this is true).


We do have a bridge, you know? ;)


Is the bridge at least eleventy-one years old?
¸,,¸_____}\,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,...,,,,,,
`’’´¯¯¯¯¯}/’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’’¨¨¨¯
The simulacrum is never that which conceals the truth-it is the truth which conceals that there is none. The simulacrum is true.
musashisamurai
 
Posts: 16512
Joined: 16 Dec 2010, 21:54
Location: Galactic Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Can A Kiel- Denmark without convoy ?

Postby Peanut » 18 Jul 2011, 17:43

The canal is in the province of Kie and not on the border between Den & Kie.

As a rule of thumb, Den is treated as a Land space by Armies and as a Sea space by Fleets.
(That's why Swe doesn't have two coasts)

Cheers
Youth & Talent are no match for Age & Treachery
Let your relationships with the other players drive your strategy, not the other way around.
Ambassador & Platinum Member of the Classicists
User avatar
Peanut
 
Posts: 2360
Joined: 23 Jul 2008, 15:51
Location: Tiptree (where jam comes from), Essex. England (orig Lutterworth, Leics - where Jet Engine invented)
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1148)
All-game rating: (1381)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Can A Kiel- Denmark without convoy ?

Postby xxi_centuryboy » 24 Nov 2017, 18:56

Also be aware that a fleet in Skagerrack has to go to either Sweden or Denmark first to get to the Baltic Sea and oddly if you go to Sweden first, you don't have to go to the Baltic to get to either Finland or Gulf of Bothnia. That's faster than they traveled in Game of Thrones! ;)
xxi_centuryboy
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 22 Jul 2010, 19:27
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: 524
All-game rating: 503
Timezone: GMT-5


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests