Fleets swapping zones?

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Fleets swapping zones?

Postby Live Free or Dieplomacy » 17 Aug 2017, 16:19

I'm having trouble figuring out what would happen if a fleet being attacked by two fleets tried to move into the zone from which the attacker was coming. Would that fleet be destroyed or would it move into the zone from which the aggressor was advancing? In this scenario there is not another legal zone for the fleet to move into. For instance: Barents Sea -s being attacked by fleets in Norwegian Sea and Norway and St. Petersburg is occupied. Can the Barents Sea fleet move to Norwegian Sea if that is where that attack coming from?
Live Free or Dieplomacy
Posts: 1
Joined: 01 Aug 2017, 17:12

Re: Fleets swapping zones?

Postby Nanook » 17 Aug 2017, 16:25

No, it cannot move to where the attack came from. A unit cannot have an effect on the space it is dislodged from, and that includes not being able to move there. It also cannot retreat to that space.
Platinum Classicist
(h/t lordelindel)

User avatar
Posts: 10919
Joined: 19 Jun 2014, 19:52
Location: East TN
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1209)
All-game rating: (1413)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Fleets swapping zones?

Postby Charleroi » 17 Aug 2017, 16:27

A displaced unit cannot move into the space from which its attacker comes. Instead, the unit is displaced and may retreat during the retreat phase if another space is available for a retreat (ie, another neighboring space is vacant and was not the scene of a bounce in the movement phase). If there is no space available, the displaced unit is destroyed and the space from which the attacking unit came is left empty.

In other words, there are no ships passing in the night.
Premium Member
Posts: 159
Joined: 07 Jan 2016, 05:39
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1554
All-game rating: 1692
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Fleets swapping zones?

Postby StarWatcher009 » 17 Aug 2017, 17:34

Use the handy orders solver if you wished to figure out what would happen with a certain set of moves.
Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better.
User avatar
Posts: 850
Joined: 26 Dec 2013, 23:43
Location: somewhere
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1021)
All-game rating: (1406)
Timezone: GMT

Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest