I've Been Assigned Two Powers?

Rules for playing on and using the site.
Forum rules
This section of the Forum is for the Site's rules.
If you have a question about how to play the game, please post in the RULES section of the Forum, not here. The site's rules for standard Dip do not substantially differ from published rules.

I've Been Assigned Two Powers?

Postby justwhatever » 16 Aug 2017, 19:56

Hello, I hope this is the correct place to be posting this question!

Recently, a group of friends and I began our first bout at Diplomacy! We created a group with a total of four players, and when the game began, I received an email from playdiplomacy.com saying I controlled two powers. I'm assuming that other players have been given similar benefits (with an unfortunate odd one out), but my specific question is in regards to how this affects play? Am I to assume two distinct roles of these powers? If so, is there a method messaging to others separately as these two distinct powers, or will all messages sent to either of the powers I control be able to be read and replied by me? When looking at the Public Press or Message tabs, it only identifies me as one power, but across from that it says "You are playing as A and B." It's a little confusing, especially for this being my first time!

If there are any resources that I can be directed to that address this problem, I would be most appreciative!
justwhatever
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Jul 2017, 01:06
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: I've Been Assigned Two Powers?

Postby super_dipsy » 16 Aug 2017, 20:13

You are playing the shorthanded version of the game. Take a look here http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=566&t=22618

One player will only have one country, For this reason, now we have Escalation as an option it tends to be more popular because with Escalation you can play with 4 players and each will have 5 units, making it fairer.
User avatar
super_dipsy
Premium Member
 
Posts: 12060
Joined: 04 Nov 2009, 17:43
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1000
All-game rating: 931
Timezone: GMT

Re: I've Been Assigned Two Powers?

Postby justwhatever » 16 Aug 2017, 20:19

Thank you very much, this helped perfectly!
justwhatever
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Jul 2017, 01:06
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT


Return to Rules for Fair Play and Fair Use

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests