Can you destroy your own units?

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Can you destroy your own units?

Postby Cheat » 05 Mar 2017, 22:52

If i put unit A on hold, and unit B attempts to move there with the support of unit C, what will happen? I checked on the order solver which didn't give me a result.
Note: I own all three of them
Cheat
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 16 Jan 2017, 17:05
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (967)
All-game rating: (970)
Timezone: GMT+6

Re: Can you destroy your own units?

Postby Zosimus » 05 Mar 2017, 23:03

You cannot dislodge yourself. Thus, you will not get the option of disbanding the unit.
Be more aggressive.
User avatar
Zosimus
 
Posts: 654
Joined: 19 Aug 2014, 22:17
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1696
All-game rating: 1730
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Can you destroy your own units?

Postby edmgrim » 05 Mar 2017, 23:06

The short answer is "no" but it is plenty nuanced:

You can't,for example, attack yourself to force a retreat.
And you can't, during a non-build phase, voluntarily destroy a unit that has not been forced to retreat.
And you can't, during a build phase, destroy any unit(s) unless you are required to destroy. (So, for example,during the build phase you would not be able to disband a unit that has been shove so far from your home to be practically useless in favor of re-building one elsewhere.

But, you can voluntarily destroy a unit that is being forced to retreat. And you can negotiate with an ally (or even an enemy) to have them attack a unit with sufficient strength to force said retreat.
edmgrim
 
Posts: 136
Joined: 31 May 2016, 04:15
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1077)
All-game rating: (1086)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Can you destroy your own units?

Postby Cheat » 05 Mar 2017, 23:09

Thank you
Cheat
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 16 Jan 2017, 17:05
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (967)
All-game rating: (970)
Timezone: GMT+6

Re: Can you destroy your own units?

Postby American Diplomat » 06 Mar 2017, 04:08

no you can't destroy your own unit(at least I don't think so)
American Diplomat
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 17 Feb 2016, 17:51
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: 987
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Can you destroy your own units?

Postby ColonelApricot » 06 Mar 2017, 04:22

Cheat wrote:If i put unit A on hold, and unit B attempts to move there with the support of unit C, what will happen?


Not being allowed to dislodge your own unit enables a practical use of a variation of this type of move. If Units B and C move as described then instead of holding Unit A can be used to cut support in another space without risk of being dislodged by a 2 vs 1 attack.
Dog of War in ToS
GRU of the Despicables in TTT
User avatar
ColonelApricot
Premium Member
 
Posts: 390
Joined: 06 Oct 2013, 11:48
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1010
All-game rating: 1400
Timezone: GMT

Re: Can you destroy your own units?

Postby super_dipsy » 06 Mar 2017, 08:41

Cheat wrote:If i put unit A on hold, and unit B attempts to move there with the support of unit C, what will happen? I checked on the order solver which didn't give me a result.
Note: I own all three of them

Not sure what you mean about the Orders Solver not giving you the result. I just used it and here was the output (I tried to dislodge my unit in Pic from Bel with support from Bre)
Snip20170306_1.png
Snip20170306_1.png (17.17 KiB) Viewed 2325 times
User avatar
super_dipsy
Premium Member
 
Posts: 12068
Joined: 04 Nov 2009, 17:43
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1000
All-game rating: 931
Timezone: GMT

Re: Can you destroy your own units?

Postby Cheat » 16 Mar 2017, 18:09

super_dipsy wrote:
Cheat wrote:If i put unit A on hold, and unit B attempts to move there with the support of unit C, what will happen? I checked on the order solver which didn't give me a result.
Note: I own all three of them

Not sure what you mean about the Orders Solver not giving you the result. I just used it and here was the output (I tried to dislodge my unit in Pic from Bel with support from Bre)
Snip20170306_1.png


Just saw this.
From what I remember one of the arrows -> was followed by a blank space. I may have put in something very wrong at that point since I was pretty desperate for an answer.
I tried again it worked this time :)
Cheat
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 16 Jan 2017, 17:05
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (967)
All-game rating: (970)
Timezone: GMT+6


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests