Dislodging a Surrendered Unit

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Dislodging a Surrendered Unit

Postby senorita21 » 20 Feb 2017, 02:34

If I dislodge the unit of a surrendered nation does that unit retreat or auto-disband. If it retreats how is its retreat decided?

Many thanks.
senorita21
 
Posts: 176
Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 13:04
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1179)
All-game rating: (1190)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Dislodging a Surrendered Unit

Postby Guns of Brixton » 20 Feb 2017, 02:43

If the country remains surrendered through the retreat phase then the unit will be disbanded.
Platinum Classicist
Mentor
User avatar
Guns of Brixton
 
Posts: 676
Joined: 18 Feb 2013, 00:53
Location: SW London
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1580)
All-game rating: (1622)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Dislodging a Surrendered Unit

Postby senorita21 » 20 Feb 2017, 02:46

Guns of Brixton wrote:If the country remains surrendered through the retreat phase then the unit will be disbanded.


Thank you for this.
senorita21
 
Posts: 176
Joined: 22 Jan 2013, 13:04
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1179)
All-game rating: (1190)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Dislodging a Surrendered Unit

Postby Bromley86 » 20 Feb 2017, 03:45

Follow-up answer to the unasked question:

Civil Disorder Disbands
Last edited by Bromley86 on 20 Feb 2017, 11:26, edited 1 time in total.
A member of the Classicists, a group that aims to reduce NMRs/surrenders.
Bromley86
 
Posts: 503
Joined: 02 May 2012, 00:16
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1880)
All-game rating: (2233)
Timezone: GMT+12

Re: Dislodging a Surrendered Unit

Postby gareth66 » 20 Feb 2017, 10:57

Yes, if the country was in civil disorder during the processing of the turn that resulted in the dislodging, and then remains in civil disorder through to the processing of the Retreat phase, such that no orders are entered, then the unit auto-disbands. That is actually true for any unit that needs to retreat but for which no orders are entered, whether or not the country is in civil disorder.

If the surrender occurred DURING the retreat phase, it is possible that the surrendering player may have entered orders before surrendering, in which case those orders will be processed as normal. Or a player may come in during the retreat phase, enter orders, and then surrender. Either way, if for any reason there are orders entered for the retreat, then those orders will be processed even if at the time of processing the country is in civil disorder.
User avatar
gareth66
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3523
Joined: 06 Apr 2011, 18:09
Location: Uk (North Midlands)
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1485)
All-game rating: (1638)
Timezone: GMT


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests