Retreats

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Retreats

Postby djthomas73 » 22 Feb 2008, 18:21

Can a unit retreat to a supply center that is owned by another player but not occupied after a Fall Round? for example:

Portugal is owned by France but not occupied. Italy fleet is dislodged from Spain. Can Italy retreat to Portugal and pick up that SC or does he have to retreat somewhere else?
djthomas73
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Retreats

Postby mdmuff » 22 Feb 2008, 18:28

IIRC, you can retreat to any adjacent area that was not moved into. If two units bounced in that region, then you will not be able to move there.

In your scenario, yes Italy could retreat to Portugal and claim it.


Example: First Forum Game

Go through the order history and you can see Turkey use the retreat & claim movement.
Don't argue with an idiot; people watching may not be able to tell the difference.

Ham & Eggs: A days work for a chicken; a lifetime commitment for a pig.
User avatar
mdmuff
 
Posts: 917
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests