Disbanding because you want to instead of required to

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Disbanding because you want to instead of required to

Postby Spitfire » 20 Feb 2008, 19:39

Hi,

I hope I can make this clear, but I was under the impression that you can disband any of your units in the build phase even if its not required that you do so. Is this true?

eg. I finish with 2 Fleets and 2 Armies, but I still have 4 Supply Centres, but I want another army instead of a fleet. Can I disband one of my fleets in the build phase?

And if I can, can I build an army in the same phase with the free slot? Or must I wait till the next build phase?

Spitfire
Diplomacy is to break someone's leg and then to say; "Lean on me."
User avatar
Spitfire
 
Posts: 1672
Joined: 12 Feb 2008, 15:34
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Disbanding because you want to instead of required to

Postby BlackAdder » 21 Feb 2008, 13:37

Hey,

No you cannot choose to disband units because you "want to". Units can only be disbanded under the following circumstances.

1) During your build phase if you do not have enough supply centers to support your current number of units, you must disband units to equal the number of supply centers you own. For example, if you own 4 units and have 3 supply centers you MUST disband one unit. You CANNOT disband 2 units and build 1.

2) If your unit is dislodged and you have no possible place to retreat to then the unit is disbanded.

3) If a player has left the game and that country's unit becomes dislodged it is automatically disbanded. (It doesn't get to retreat)

Side note: Civil Disorder

If during a build phase a country who's player has left does not have enough supply centers to support its number of units, units are disbanded in the following order.
i) The furthest unit from that country.
ii) If two units are equally distance fleets before armys
iii) If they are the same type of unit (and same distance) alphabetical order is used

Countries in Civil Disorder CANNOT build new units. This is true even if they have more supply centers than units.

Hope this helps! ;)

Cheers,
Image
User avatar
BlackAdder
 
Posts: 28
Joined: 19 Feb 2008, 16:31
Location: Oxford, United Kingdom
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Disbanding because you want to instead of required to

Postby w123 » 21 Feb 2008, 22:10

2) If your unit is dislodged and you have no possible place to retreat to then the unit is disbanded.


Just to clarify this point, when a unit needs to retreat, the player may choose NOT to retreat a unit, and so then the unit will be disbanded.
w123
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests