Page 1 of 4

Fedudal diplomacy rules

PostPosted: 11 Jan 2010, 06:49
by his_flyness
This is the latest version and included as a new topic for everyone's convenience.

Feudal Diplomacy:

Feudal diplomacy is set in Western Europe shortly after 1100 AD.

Victory:
Victory is attained by controlling the Papacy and a major kingdom (England, France, the Holy Roman Empire (HRE)), or by controlling all three major kingdoms.

Units and turns:
There are both fleet and army units. Both cost 1 supply, but fleets have only half the strength of armies.

Turns operate as in normal diplomacy, with spring, fall, retreat, movement, and build phases.

Each unit is paired to a specific supply center (this will be explained later). So, when a supply center is captured, the new unit must be built in that supply center (so there will be at minimum a 1 year lag between capturing a supply center and building a new unit). If a supply center is lost, the unit associated with that supply center must be destroyed.

All units are labeled with text which indicates their home SCs.


The Board:
The board encompasses Britain, France, Germany, and Italy.

There are five kingdoms: England, France, the HRE, Scotland, Naples, plus some independent territories (the Papal States, Orkney and Caithness, Dublin, Venice) which are not part of any kingdom. All kingdoms have some supply centers controlled by the king, and may have unoccupied supply centers and centers controlled by lords, who are substantially independent of the king in their actions.

The king of a country is the player which controls the capitol SC. The capitol supply centers are: England – London, France – Paris, Scotland – Edinburgh, Naples – Naples.

In the case of the HRE, the initial king is Bavaria, but a new king can be chosen by election as described below.

The Players:
There are three groups of players: lords, kings, and the Pope:

Kings:
Kings have direct control over a limited number of units, and also many have some number of lords who are (at least theoretically) under their command. A king may declare one or multiple of his lords a “traitor” as an additional, special, move each turn. Doing so reduces the strength of those lords’ units to ¾ of their usual strength the following turn. This condition lasts until the lord is eliminated or the king issues a new order, restoring that lord to full standing, again effective starting the following turn.

Any player can become the king of any country by seizing that country’s capitol supply center, or by election in the case of the HRE. If a king is replaced, any players who have been labeled a traitor by the previous king are automatically restored to normal status.

In the case of the HRE, the first king is the Bavarian player. However, every 2 years thereafter (during the build phase) there is an election to determine a new king. All players who control supply centers within the HRE are entitled to vote, which is weighted by the number of supply centers which they control within the HRE. Any player (even if they hold no territory within the HRE) is eligible to be elected king of the HRE.

Lords:
Lords can become kings as explained above. Although they may be the vassal of one king, that does not prevent them from negotiating with whomever they choose on the board and moving their units as they see fit, as long as they are prepared to accept the consequences of their king’s displeasure if they ignore or attack him!

Some lords serve multiple kings! Both Burgundy and Flanders start out in this position, but others may find themselves in the same circumstance if they manage to capture SCs within another kingdom’s boundaries. In their cases, being labeled a traitor only affects the units supplied from that king’s country. So, if the king of the HRE labeled Flanders a traitor, it would affect the units supplied by Lower Lorraine and Frisia (Fri), but not the unit supplied by Flanders (Fla).


The Pope:
The Papal States are not within any other kingdom. Additionally, the pope can excommunicate any player on the board. Once a player is excommunicated, they are forbidden from negotiating with any other players who are not also excommunicated. If the excommunicated player is a king, any declarations of treason they have made are automatically lifted, and no further declarations of treason can be made until excommunication is lifted. Excommunication and lifting of excommunication are issued the same way kings declare lords traitors, and take effect the following turn. As is the case with kings, if the Pope is replaced, all outstanding excommunications are immediately lifted.


Country boundaries:
Country boundaries are fixed. Capture of an English supply center by France, for example, does not make that supply center a part of France. While the French player who captures it will gain control and a new build, the supply center will be held as a fief of the English king, and is subject to being labeled a traitor just like the rest of his lords.

Supply:
The supply center a unit is supplied from affects which declarations of treason affect it. At the start of the game, all units are supplied by the center they start on. Any builds gained must be built at the new supply center (so, as previously noted, there will be a minimum of a 1 year lag between taking SCs and gaining new builds).

Capturing supply centers and “self” dislodgement:
No unit will dislodge units controlled by another player from the same country unless specifically ordered to do so. So, if Anjou attempted to force the French king out of Paris, A Blo – Par, A Nor S A Blo – Par doesn’t do the trick. Instead, the player should order A Blo – Par (dislodge), A Nor S A Blo – Par. Similarly, units won’t capture supply centers held by other players in the same country unless specifically ordered to do so. If Anjou wanted to then go on to capture Paris, he should order A Blo – Par (dislodge) (capture), A Nor S A Blo – Par.

Such orders are not needed when attacking other countries. But be careful – if a lord controls units supplied from 2 different countries, some of his units may count as foreign and dislodge/capture supply centers even if not specifically ordered to do so.

Re: Fedudal diplomacy rules

PostPosted: 12 Jan 2010, 00:56
by rayhond
Can fleets cut support? It seems like I've heard other rules where fleets at half strength can't cut support.

Re: Fedudal diplomacy rules

PostPosted: 12 Jan 2010, 04:05
by his_flyness
Hmm... that's a really good point.

I'm going to go ahead and say that a fleet can reduce a support by half -- so an army providing support which is attacked by a fleet only provides support of 0.5.

Re: Fedudal diplomacy rules

PostPosted: 12 Jan 2010, 04:07
by raytheruler
A few questions.

do traitor units have the ability to cut support?

how does an excommunicated player not communicate? whos stopping him? how does he become un-excommunicated?

you made an example of the HRE having an election. is this only for the HRE or for ever other kingdom too?

Re: Fedudal diplomacy rules

PostPosted: 12 Jan 2010, 04:23
by his_flyness
Units declared traitors by the King reduce support the same way fleets do (ie they reduce it by 2/3)*****.

The Pope can restore excommunicated players in his orders, the same play he excommunicates them.

Not communicating is on the honor system. And in this case it takes 2 to cheat, as the other player could always report the excommunicated player for attempting to communicate.

Note: excommunicated players CAN communicate with each other. So, it's definitely not in the Pope's interest to excommunicate too many people.

***** I should have written 3/4 here. Whoops.

Re: Fedudal diplomacy rules

PostPosted: 12 Jan 2010, 04:33
by raytheruler
youre a little inconsistent. is a traitor at 3/4 value or 2/3? You said 3/4 in the rules above.

Got it. honor system. because all diplomacy players are SO honest. haha. ;)

Re: Fedudal diplomacy rules

PostPosted: 12 Jan 2010, 05:02
by his_flyness
Crap, you're right. 3/4.

Re: Fedudal diplomacy rules

PostPosted: 12 Jan 2010, 06:00
by DOI
His holiness is whoever's in control of Rome at any given time, correct?

Re: Fedudal diplomacy rules

PostPosted: 12 Jan 2010, 07:06
by his_flyness
Yes.

Re: Fedudal diplomacy rules

PostPosted: 12 Jan 2010, 07:10
by his_flyness
raytheruler wrote:you made an example of the HRE having an election. is this only for the HRE or for ever other kingdom too?


Sorry, I missed this earlier. The emperor is elected, but no other kings are elected -- kingship of other countries is determined by ownership of the capitol SC (Paris/London/Edinburgh/Naples).