Devious GM Spring 1943

Diplomacy where the GM makes a set of unannounced predetermined random changes to the map, rules, etc based on one or more variants. Introduced by Pedros, GMed by Asudevil.

Moderator: Morg

Devious GM Spring 1943

Postby asudevil » 25 Nov 2015, 02:26

Here are our spring results. We have no retreat and no need to fake one so we head right into fall.

Fall orders are due 11/28 5pm Eastern Time 3pm Arizona time. This allows an extra day for the Thanksgiving holiday for any of you Americans

Fall 1943 –Vanishing Borders
After each movement phase but before the retreat phase a randomly chosen border is erased. The victory condition for a solo remains one more than half of all remaining supply centers.

These borders will vanish in ADDITION to other devious things for the next 4 years (8 seasons)

The combined territories will be formed as follows:

Type: Black Hole > Home SCs > other SCs > Seas > Land

The unique spaces Constantinople, Denmark, Kiel, and Sweden will retain their properties as long as is applicable.

Name: The dominant territory's name will be used for the new combined territory. If two of the same type are merged, the first name alphabetically will continue in use.

Possession: If two unoccupied territories are merged, the resulting territory remains neutral, unless one was an owned but unoccupied SC, or both were owned by the same power. Then the owner of the SC(s) continues to own the new territory as an SC.
---
If one territory is occupied and the other is not, the occupier maintains possession of the new territory if possible. Armies are dislodged if their territory is merged into a sea and may retreat if possible.
---
If both territories are occupied, the following precedence is followed:

A Zombie displaces a player unit, which may retreat if possible.

A unit occupying an SC dislodges one on a normal territory. That unit may retreat if possible.

On the merger of a sea and a land space, if a fleet and an army were present, the fleet remains on the space and the army may retreat if possible. If two fleets were present, both must retreat if possible. If a fleet becomes landlocked, it may retreat to an adjacent province with a coast if possible.

On the merger of two SCs, two land territories, or two sea territories, both units are dislodged and may retreat if possible. A territory formed by merging two SCs becomes neutral unless one was already neutral in which case the power with control of the other retains control.

Exception: if, in any of the situations above where two units would be dislodged, the same player owns both units, then one may remain and one must retreat or disband. In cases with one fleet and one army the unit to remain may be chosen by the player and the other retreat or disband ordered: if no choice is submitted the unit which was on the alphabetically first territory remains and the other is disbanded.

Coasts: If a border elimination puts a fleet on a new territory with new multiple coasts, the player must choose a coast for the fleet during the retreat phase. This does not apply to extension of multiple coasts that previously existed.

Protection: A border change may never result in either the elimination of a player. In this case no border will vanish during that turn

This season the territories of SKA and OSL are combined to a land space of OSL

Spring 43.gif
Spring 43.gif (63.04 KiB) Viewed 1243 times


England-EpicDim

D Len – Bye----Resolved
D Sto – Lap----Resolved
D WBS – Den----Resolved
D Lit S D Len – Bye----Resolved
D Gda – EBS----Resolved
A Pra – Mun----Resovled
A Ham – Hol----Bounced
A Bel – Hol----Bounced
F Nth S D WBS – Den----Resolved
D MAO – NAO----Resolved
D Pie – Tri----Resolved

France-I Love Italy

Eliminated

Italy-Aeschines

Eliminated

Germany-marsman57

UKR-SEV----Resolved
THE-ADR----Resolved

Poland-JonS

Eliminated

Russia-sjg11

A Bye- Pri----Resolved
A Bur- support A Mars-Hold
A Mars- support A Bur-Hold

Turkey-Gooderian

Eliminated

MINORS

Sweden-sjg11

Eliminated

Spain-marsman57

SOG-POR----Resolved
MAD-WMS----Resolved

Czechoslovakia-Aeschines

Eliminated

Yugoslavia-JonS

Eliminated

Rumania-Gooderian

Eliminated

Greece-EpicDim

Eliminated

Egypt-I Love Italy

Duck in CAI move to LIB----Resolved

Zombies

Ire H----Resolved
Cly H----Resolved
Liv H----Resolved
Wal H----Resolved
Bre H----Resolved
Gas – BUR----Bounced
Por – Mad----Resolved
Alg H----Resolved
Pap H----Resolved
Apu H----Resolved
Jer - WEST BANK----Resolved
Kur H----Resolved
Arm H----Resolved
Smy H----Resolved
Mol -Ukr (MOVE)----Resolved
Bul – The----Resolved
Gal - Ukr (SUPPORT)----Resolved
Kra H----Resolved
Fin – LEN----Resolved
Osl- Sto----Resolved
Hun H----Resolved

Cavalry

SKA move to DEN-----Bounced
Captain FANG, forum team championships WINNER
Part of the surviving nations of WW4/Haven

Unless I am in the cheater's subforum. 99% of what I say is NOT as a mod.
User avatar
asudevil
Premium Member
 
Posts: 16582
Joined: 18 Jul 2011, 02:20
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1351
All-game rating: 1447
Timezone: GMT-7

Re: Devious GM Spring 1943

Postby marsman57 » 25 Nov 2015, 03:58

Not that the map would've changed in any way but Kur should've focused on West Bank as well.
marsman57
 
Posts: 1473
Joined: 05 Oct 2009, 21:42
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1118
All-game rating: 1128
Timezone: GMT

Re: Devious GM Spring 1943

Postby I Love Italy » 25 Nov 2015, 04:04

Shouldn't OSL have a North and South coast?
I have special eyes.
User avatar
I Love Italy
 
Posts: 2357
Joined: 31 Jul 2013, 23:08
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1041)
All-game rating: (1059)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Devious GM Spring 1943

Postby EpicDim » 25 Nov 2015, 05:08

The victory condition for a solo remains one more than half of all remaining supply centers.


The victory condition was half or more of all remaining SCs. Are you changing that now, or should this rule stay the same?
Gauls (Ad Arma) 3-way, Russia (Othello) 4-way, Austria (Crowded Othello) Solo, England (Devious GM 2) Solo, Egypt (Time Travel) 3-way, (Exploration: Great Expeditions) Solo
EpicDim
 
Posts: 902
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 05:32
Location: Frisco, TX
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1169)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Devious GM Spring 1943

Postby EpicDim » 25 Nov 2015, 05:12

Also, D in Gda should be in Lit.
Gauls (Ad Arma) 3-way, Russia (Othello) 4-way, Austria (Crowded Othello) Solo, England (Devious GM 2) Solo, Egypt (Time Travel) 3-way, (Exploration: Great Expeditions) Solo
EpicDim
 
Posts: 902
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 05:32
Location: Frisco, TX
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1169)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Devious GM Spring 1943

Postby EpicDim » 25 Nov 2015, 06:07

A border change may never result in either the elimination of a player


How do you define this? If it would eliminate the player's last SC but they still have a unit it would be ok? If it would eliminate their last unit but they still had an SC and they couldn't build it would still be ok?
Gauls (Ad Arma) 3-way, Russia (Othello) 4-way, Austria (Crowded Othello) Solo, England (Devious GM 2) Solo, Egypt (Time Travel) 3-way, (Exploration: Great Expeditions) Solo
EpicDim
 
Posts: 902
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 05:32
Location: Frisco, TX
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1169)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Devious GM Spring 1943

Postby EpicDim » 25 Nov 2015, 06:12

On the merger of a sea and a land space, if a fleet and an army were present, the fleet remains on the space and the army may retreat if possible. If two fleets were present, both must retreat if possible. If a fleet becomes landlocked, it may retreat to an adjacent province with a coast if possible.


What about ducks?
Gauls (Ad Arma) 3-way, Russia (Othello) 4-way, Austria (Crowded Othello) Solo, England (Devious GM 2) Solo, Egypt (Time Travel) 3-way, (Exploration: Great Expeditions) Solo
EpicDim
 
Posts: 902
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 05:32
Location: Frisco, TX
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1169)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Devious GM Spring 1943

Postby EpicDim » 25 Nov 2015, 06:16

Possession is only defined for unoccupied territories or two SCs. I think you need some rules for possession when one or both of the territories are occupied and/or neither is an SC.

You also have a contradiction here:
If two unoccupied territories are merged, the resulting territory remains neutral, unless one was an owned but unoccupied SC, or both were owned by the same power. Then the owner of the SC(s) continues to own the new territory as an SC.

A territory formed by merging two SCs becomes neutral unless one was already neutral in which case the power with control of the other retains control.


If two unoccupied SCs owned by the same player are merged. Rule one states the owner keeps the combined one. The second rule states that it becomes neutral.
Gauls (Ad Arma) 3-way, Russia (Othello) 4-way, Austria (Crowded Othello) Solo, England (Devious GM 2) Solo, Egypt (Time Travel) 3-way, (Exploration: Great Expeditions) Solo
EpicDim
 
Posts: 902
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 05:32
Location: Frisco, TX
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1169)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Devious GM Spring 1943

Postby EpicDim » 25 Nov 2015, 06:25

What happens if there are two units in one of the spaces being merged because one is dislodged and the other is the new occupier? For instance, if an army dislodges a fleet in an SC and that space is merged into a sea space, who gets to stay? Or if the same situation happens and the land space is merged into a sea space?
Last edited by EpicDim on 25 Nov 2015, 06:32, edited 2 times in total.
Gauls (Ad Arma) 3-way, Russia (Othello) 4-way, Austria (Crowded Othello) Solo, England (Devious GM 2) Solo, Egypt (Time Travel) 3-way, (Exploration: Great Expeditions) Solo
EpicDim
 
Posts: 902
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 05:32
Location: Frisco, TX
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1169)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Devious GM Spring 1943

Postby EpicDim » 25 Nov 2015, 06:30

What about mergers into nuked territories?

How are home SCs and capitals handled? Do they only remain with those designations if the name remains the same?

Same question for the non SC build locations.

Same question for religion SCs.

What if a nation loses all of their home SCs? Are they just SOL for builds?

Two zombies merge, what happens? Does one of them retreat, if so how does that work?
Gauls (Ad Arma) 3-way, Russia (Othello) 4-way, Austria (Crowded Othello) Solo, England (Devious GM 2) Solo, Egypt (Time Travel) 3-way, (Exploration: Great Expeditions) Solo
EpicDim
 
Posts: 902
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 05:32
Location: Frisco, TX
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1169)
Timezone: GMT-6

Next

Return to Devious GM 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest