Enlightenment and Absolutism-(14/14)

14-player game set at the beginning of the War of the Austrian Succession; numerous special rules. Created and GMd by VaeVictus. 3-way draw between Russia (Alupi), Saxony-Poland (Stanislaw) and Spain (Shibabalo)

Enlightenment and Absolutism-(14/14)

Postby VaeVictis » 04 Jun 2014, 20:25

Enlightenment & Absolutism-v.1.0.2-Reference Map-GIF.gif
Enlightenment & Absolutism-v.1.0.2-Reference Map-GIF.gif (42.62 KiB) Viewed 3426 times


Enlightenment & Absolutism-v.1.0.2-GIF.gif
Enlightenment & Absolutism-v.1.0.2-GIF.gif (44.26 KiB) Viewed 3426 times


Enlightenment & Absolutism is a 14 player variant set at the beginning of the War of the Austrian Succession, though the intended purpose of the variant is not to follow the course of that war. This is reflected through the inclusion of powers either indirectly involved or neutral during the course of the Austrian Succession War (Denmark-Norway, Sweden, Russia, and the Ottoman Empire). Though the 1740’s were dominated by the near continuous string of smaller conflicts that combined to form what is now called the War of the Austrian Succession, this time period serves as an excellent base for a Diplomacy variant. The period of the 1740’s was chosen for Enlightenment & Absolutism because it represented a time in which many regional powers still held significant sway in the diplomacy and politics of Europe. Such smaller countries as Bavaria, Saxony, Naples-Sicily, etc. could not field the same large armies as France or Austria, but they could not be overlooked in the intricate web of alliances that maintained the balance of power in Europe. Therefore, the game begins in Spring 1741 following the recent occupation of Silesia by Prussia in December of the year previous.

The Major Powers
Hapsburg Monarchy (Austria), demonym: Austrian
Electorate of Bavaria (Bavaria), demonym: Bavarian
Kingdom of Great Britain and the Electorate of Hanover (Britain-Hanover, Britain), demonym: British
Kingdom of Denmark-Norway (Denmark-Norway, Denmark), demonym: Danish
Kingdom of France (France), demonym: French
Kingdoms of Naples and Sicily (Naples-Sicily), demonym: Neapolitan
Republic of the Seven United Netherlands (Netherlands, United Provinces), demonym: Dutch
Kingdom of Prussia (Prussia), demonym: Prussian
Empire of Russia (Russia), demonym: Russian
Kingdom of Sardinia (Sardinia), demonym: Savoyard
Electorate of Saxony and the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth (Saxony-Poland, Saxony), demonym: Saxon
Kingdom of Spain (Spain), demonym: Spanish
Kingdom of Sweden (Sweden), demonym: Swedish
Ottoman Empire (Turkey), demonym: Turkish

Initial Home Centers
Austria: Vienna (Vie), Budapest (Bud), Trieste (Tri), Milan (Mil)
Bavaria: Munich (Mun), Regensburg (Reg)
Britain-Hanover: London (Lon), Edinburgh (Edi), Bristol (Bri), Hanover (Han)
Denmark-Norway: Copenhagen (Cop), Christiania (Chr)
France: Paris (Par), Strasbourg (Str), Marseilles (Mar), La Rochelle (LaR)
Naples-Sicily: Naples (Nap), Palermo (Plm)
Netherlands: Amsterdam (Ams), Rotterdam (Rot)
Prussia: Berlin (Ber), Konigsberg (Kon), Breslau (Brs)
Russia: St. Petersburg (StP), Moscow (Mos), Kiev (Kiv)
Sardinia: Turin (Tur), Cagliari (Cag)
Saxony-Poland: Dresden (Dre, Saxon), Leipzig (Lei, Saxon), Warsaw (War, Polish)
Spain: Madrid (Mad), Cadiz (Cad), Valencia (Val)
Sweden: Stockholm (Sto), Abo (Abo)
Turkey: Constantinople (Con), Angora (Ang)

Initial Placement
Austria: A Vie, A Bud, A Mil
Bavaria: A Mun, A Reg
Britain-Hanover: F Lon, F Edi, F Gib (supplied from Bri), A Han
Denmark-Norway: F Cop, F Chr
France: A Par, A Str, A Mar, F LaR
Naples-Sicily: A Nap, F Plm
Netherlands: A Ams, A Rot
Prussia: A Ber, A Kon, A Brs
Russia: F StP, A Mos, A Kiv
Sardinia: A Tur, F Cag
Saxony-Poland: A Dre (Saxon), A Lei (Saxon), A War (Polish)
Spain: A Mad, F Cad, F Val
Sweden: F Sto, F Abo
Turkey: A Con, A Ang

Victory Conditions
There are a total of 55 supply centers: 38 controlled by the major powers, 17 neutral, and 24 needed to win.
Victory is achieved when one player/power gains control of 24 supply centers. In the event that two players reach 24 supply centers at the end of the same year, then victory is decided by which player holds more supply centers over the required 24 to fulfill the victory conditions. If the two players hold equal number of supply centers, then play continues until one of those players secures a majority over the other and remains above the 24 required for the victory condition.


Special Rules
Garrison of Gibraltar: Gibraltar was occupied by the British in 1704 during the War of the Spanish Succession and formally ceded to the Kingdom of Great Britain in 1713 as one of the stipulations of the Treaty of Utrecht. Britain maintained a garrison from that point forward to safeguard the prized possession of Gibraltar for its strategic value to guard trade and to assist in establishing naval supremacy over the Mediterranean in time of war.

• The space of Gibraltar (Gib) is initially controlled by Britain at the start of the game and contains a “garrison.” The Garrison of Gibraltar is not an actual unit that can move or provide support, but it affords the space of Gibraltar a defensive strength of one. In order to capture the space of Gibraltar it is necessary to have an attacking strength of two.
• The Garrison of Gibraltar may also be supported by an army or fleet as if the Garrison/space of Gibraltar were an ordinary unit.
• Gibraltar is not a supply center, but control is determined during the Fall build/adjustments phase as if it were a supply center. If the space of Gibraltar is occupied by an opposing, non-British fleet or army during the Spring phase, but the opposing fleet leaves voluntarily or is dislodged and forced to retreat by a British fleet or army, then the Garrison remains. However, if the space of Gibraltar is occupied and held until the fall build/adjustments phase, then the Garrison is dissolved and cannot be reestablished even if Gibraltar is retaken by Britain.
• The Garrison of Gibraltar rule applies only to Britain and any other nation that successfully captures Gibraltar does not benefit from the defensive strength of one for the space of Gibraltar.

Strait of Gibraltar: The Strait of Gibraltar is a passageway south of Gibraltar (Gib) initially controlled by Britain. Whoever has control of Gibraltar manages access through the Strait of Gibraltar. Fleets may pass through the Strait of Gibraltar without first attaining control of the space Gibraltar, allowing for direct movement between Atlantic (Atl) and Alboran Sea (AbS). However, access through the Strait is determined by the player controlling Gibraltar and naval traffic of other players is only permissible if allowed by the player exerting control over the space of Gibraltar. It is also possible to avoid the Strait, and the player controlling Gibraltar, by moving through Morocco (Mor). The space of Gibraltar does not break up the coast of Morocco and movement from Atlantic to Alboran Sea via Morocco is unhindered by the Strait of Gibraltar special rules or the space of Gibraltar. However, convoys must pass through the adjoining sea spaces connected by the Strait and may not bypass the Strait of Gibraltar by Morocco since it is a land space (see more discussion on convoys below).

Fleets of the player currently owning Gibraltar have unfettered access through the strait, but fleets of other players must receive the consent of the player currently controlling Gibraltar through a support order written as "Gib S X country F X space-X space" or "Gib support X country fleet X space-X space". If this form of support order is not given by the player controlling Gibraltar to the player endeavoring to move through the Strait, then the move fails and is invalid with the fleet attempting passage through the Strait remaining where it originated with an order to Hold. Additionally, the player in control of Gibraltar (i.e., the player exerting control since the last build/adjustment phase) maintains management over allowance of passage through the Strait even if the space of Gibraltar is currently occupied by another player’s army or fleet. As discussed above in the section on the Garrison of Gibraltar, determining control of the space of Gibraltar is decided with the Fall build/adjustment phase.

Example A: Gibraltar is under British control and Britain agrees to allow a Spanish fleet to pass from Atlantic into the Alboran Sea. The Spanish order would be written as a normal movement order "F Atl-AbS" and the British player would submit a support style order "Gib S Spanish F Atl-AbS" or "Gib support Spanish fleet Atl-AbS".

Example B: Gibraltar is under British control and a French fleet asks for permission to pass from Atlantic into Alboran Sea. Britain initially agrees in diplomatic discussions but later decides against it in his set of orders. France gives the order "F Atl-AbS", but the British player reneges on their agreement and writes no such support order to allow French passage through the Strait. The French fleet remains in the Atlantic with an order to hold.

Example C: Gibraltar is under British control and a Spanish fleet asks for permission to pass from Atlantic into the Alboran Sea. Britain initially agrees in diplomatic discussions but later decides against it in his orders, but alters his orders in such a way as to make it appear as a mistake. Spain gives the order "F Atl-AbS", but Britain writes his support order as "Gib S Spanish F Atl-Gib-AbS". This order appears sound, but only a support order designating the Spanish fleet's space of origin and its destination is acceptable since the fleet passes through the Strait, but does not (nor can it since that would represent an extra move from Atl to Gib and then into AbS all in one turn) move through Gibraltar on the way into AbS. Any form of support order that does not exactly specify "Gib S X country F X space-X space" or "Gib support X country fleet X space-X space" is considered invalid and the fleet that was intended to be supported through the Strait is given an order to hold.

This form of movement can work either from Atl to AbS or from AbS to Atl so long as it is by a fleet of the player in control of Gibraltar or by a player who receives the above form of support order from the player in control of Gibraltar. The player in control of Gibraltar need not give any such support order to allow passage of his own fleets. Gibraltar also need not be occupied with a fleet/army of the player in control of it for such a support order to given to another player's fleet.

A support order allowing passage through the Strait of Gibraltar must be written precisely as "Gib S X country F X space-X space" or "Gib support X country fleet X space-X space" or else it is an invalid order and the fleets involved in the movement are given orders to hold.

Supporting Movement through the Strait of Gibraltar: A fleet moving through the Strait of Gibraltar may receive support for its movement, as with normal movement between spaces, provided the fleet moving through the Strait is either owned by the player exerting control over Gibraltar (Gib) or has been granted passage through the Strait via the support order discussed above.

Example: Gibraltar is under British control and Britain agrees to allow a French fleet to pass from Atlantic (Atl) into the Alboran Sea (AbS). The French order would be written as a normal movement order "F Atl-AbS" and the British player would submit a support style order "Gib S French F Atl-AbS" or "Gib support French fleet Atl-AbS". France also possesses a fleet in Western Mediterranean and uses it to support “F Atl-AbS”, writing it as a normal support order, “F Wes S F Atl-AbS”. France does this in order to prevent a Spanish fleet in Balearic Sea (BaS) from causing a standoff in AbS.

While the above may be true for giving support to fleets moving through the Strait, fleets in Atl or AbS may not give support or support one another to hold in either Atl or AbS through the Strait of Gibraltar. This is always the case even if the player endeavoring to give support to one of his own units or the unit of another player maintains control of the Strait of Gibraltar.

Convoys through the Strait of Gibraltar: Convoy orders treat Atlantic (Atl) and Alboran Sea (AbS) as adjoining sea spaces and players endeavoring to convoy armies through the Strait must secure the support order of the player in control of Gibraltar (Gib) for the army. This is opposed to the support order given for a fleet in the case of naval movement through the Strait. These orders are written by the player in control of Gibraltar in a nearly identical fashion as normal support orders for fleet movement through the Strait except the orders must designate the army as securing passage through the Strait. These orders are written as "Gib S X country A X space-X space" or "Gib support X country army X space-X space", just as support orders allowing fleet passage through the Strait. The fact that the army is being convoyed need not be specified in the support order allowing passage through the Strait.

If the army's space of origin and destination differ between the player in control of Gibraltar giving the support order allowing passage through the Strait and the player endeavoring to convoy his army through the Strait, then the order is invalid and the army remains in its location at the start of the turn and is given an order to hold. The fleets are also given an order to hold in the event of incompatible convoy and support orders through the Strait. Similarly, if the player in control of Gibraltar does not place the support order for the convoy in his set of orders, then the convoy fails and the army and fleets are given orders to hold. Convoy orders for an army under the command of the player in control of Gibraltar need not designate such a support order since he manages passage through the Strait.

Example A: A Spanish player has fleets in Atlantic (Atl) and Alboran Sea (AbS) and is endeavoring to convoy an army from Portugal (Por) to Barbary Coast (BaC). The British player maintains control of Gibraltar (Gib), but agrees to allow the Spanish convoy. The Spanish player writes the following set of orders: A Por-BaC; F Atl C A Por-BaC; F AbS C A Por-BaC. The British player then writes his support order as "Gib S Spanish A Por-BaC" or "Gib support Spanish army Por-BaC". These orders are valid, passage is granted by the British player through the Strait, and the Spanish army is successfully convoyed from Portugal to Barbary Coast.

Example B: A French player has fleets in Bay of Biscay (Bis), Atlantic (Atl) and Alboran Sea (AbS) and is endeavoring to convoy an army from La Rochelle (LaR) to Cagliari (Cag) with the help of a Neapolitan fleet in Western Mediterranean (Wes). The British player maintains control of Gibraltar (Gib), but agrees to allow the Franco-Neapolitan convoy. The French player writes the following set of orders: A LaR-Cag; F Bis C LaR-Cag; F Atl C A LaR-Cag; F AbS C A LaR-Cag. The Neapolitan player writes his orders as "F Wes C A LaR-Cag." The British player then writes his support order as "Gib S French LaR-Cag " or "Gib support French army LaR-Cag". These orders are valid, passage is granted by the British player through the Strait, and the French army is successfully convoyed from La Rochelle to Cagliari with the help of the Neapolitan fleet in Western Mediterranean.

Example C: A French player has fleets in Bay of Biscay (Bis), Atlantic (Atl) and Alboran Sea (AbS) and is endeavoring to convoy an army from La Rochelle (LaR) to Cagliari (Cag) with the help of a Neapolitan fleet in Western Mediterranean (Wes). The British player maintains control of Gibraltar (Gib), but agrees to allow the Franco-Neapolitan convoy. However, he later decides against supporting the French convoy. The French player writes the following set of orders: A LaR-Cag; F Bis C LaR-Cag; F Atl C A LaR-Cag; F AbS C A LaR-Cag. The Neapolitan player writes his orders as "F Wes C A LaR-Cag." The British player omits the support order from his moves. The French convoy order is invalid, passage is not granted by the British player through the Strait, and the French army and French and Neapolitan fleets are given orders to hold.

Example D: A Spanish player has fleets in Atlantic (Atl) and Alboran Sea (AbS) and is endeavoring to convoy an army from Portugal (Por) to Barbary Coast (BaC). The British player maintains control of Gibraltar (Gib), but agrees to allow the Spanish convoy. However, he later decides against supporting the Spanish convoy and resolves to fabricate an erroneous support order in an attempt to deceive the Spanish player. The Spanish player writes the following set of orders: A Por-BaC; F Atl C A Por-BaC; F AbS C A Por-BaC. The British player then writes his support order as "Gib S Spanish A Por" or "Gib support Spanish army Por". The Spanish convoy order is invalid, passage is not granted through the Strait due to the incorrect order of the British player, and the Spanish army and fleets are given orders to hold.

Additionally, the player in control of Gibraltar (i.e., the player exerting control since the last build/adjustment phase) maintains management over allowance of passage for convoys through the Strait even if the space of Gibraltar is currently occupied by another player’s army or fleet. As discussed above in the section on the Garrison of Gibraltar, determining control of Gibraltar is decided with the Fall build/adjustment phase.

A support order allowing passage through the Strait of Gibraltar for a convoy must be written precisely as "Gib S X country A X space-X space" or "Gib support X country army X space-X space" or else it is an invalid order and the units involved in the convoy are given orders to hold.

Barbary Coast and the Khanate of the Crimea: The states of the Barbary Coast and the Khanate of the Crimea were vassals of the Ottoman Empire and were known for their military raids against the lands of Christendom. The Corsairs of the Barbary pirates and the swift horse archers of the Crimean Khanate had long served the Porte or their own designs, serving as a stark reminder to Europe of the long standing feud with Mohammedanism dating to the Battle of Tours and the Fall of Constantinople.
• The Barbary Coast (BaC) and the Khanate of the Crimea (Crm) are neutral supply centers and begin the game with a neutral fleet and army, respectively. Though these supply centers are considered neutral, they count toward the Ottoman Empire’s supply center total for victory purposes. Therefore, the Ottoman Empire has 4 supply centers for victory purposes at game start, though the units occupying the Barbary Coast and the Khanate of the Crimea operate differently than normal Turkish units.
• These neutral units are controlled by the Ottoman Empire, but are not Turkish units.
• These units can only receive orders from the Ottoman Empire and may give and receive support as other units. The Turkish player may also give them movement orders, with or without support, to standoff units. However, a movement order may never succeed and any movement order given to the Barbary fleet or the Crimean army that would normally succeed, with or without support, fails and is considered invalid with the unit being given an order to hold by the GM. (This rule operates in a similar fashion as the rules for minor powers in Ambition & Empire by B. Powell and J. Kase and College of Cardinals by T. Hayward and B. Powell)
• If attacked and dislodged, these units will be auto-disbanded by the GM and removed from play.
• If either the Barbary Coast or Crimean units are destroyed by another player, then the Ottoman Empire may occupy and capture those supply centers as normal. Otherwise, the Ottoman Empire may not attack these neutral units with the intent to dislodge them, though they may perform a bounce in those territories as with normal units.

Example A: The Spanish player has a fleet in Valencia (Val) and submits the order “F Val-AbS”. The Turkish player suspects this move and orders the fleet in Barbary Coast (BaC) to move to Alboran Sea (AbS) as well by submitting “F BaC-AbS.” The result is a standoff between the Spanish and Barbary fleets.

Example B: The Spanish player has fleets in Valencia (Val) and Andalusia (And). The Turkish player suspects that the Spanish player is endeavoring to move to Alboran Sea (AbS) with support and requests the Savoyard fleet in the Western Mediterranean to support the fleet in Barbary Coast to move to AbS. However, the Spanish player orders “F Val-AbS” without support from the fleet in Andalusia. The Barbary fleet successfully stands off the Spanish fleet with the Savoyard support, but the Barbary fleet cannot move to AbS and is instead ordered to hold by the GM.

Example C: The Spanish player has fleets in Valencia (Val) and Andalusia (And). The Turkish player suspects that the Spanish player is endeavoring to move to Alboran Sea (AbS) with support and requests the Savoyard fleet in the Western Mediterranean to support the fleet in Barbary Coast to move to AbS. However, the Spanish player orders “F Val-AbS” without support from the fleet in Andalusia. The Barbary fleet successfully stands off the Spanish fleet with the Savoyard support, but the Barbary fleet cannot move to AbS and is instead ordered to hold by the GM. Anticipating that this may be the result, the Turkish player further requests that the Savoyard player designate a support order for the Barbary fleet with his fleet in Tyrrhenian Sea (Tyn). As a consequence, another Spanish order to move from Morocco (Mor) and attack Barbary Coast, supported by a Neapolitan fleet in the Ionian Sea (Ion), fails because of the GM designated hold order to Barbary Coast and the Savoyard support.

Treaty of Karlowitz: In the year 1699 the Ottoman Empire suffered its first set back and territorial losses after centuries of nearly unchecked expansion with the conclusion of the Austro-Ottoman War of 1683-1697. One of the stipulations of this treaty specifically affected the Khanate of the Crimea, as a vassal of the Ottoman Empire, and the Tsardom of Russia effectively ending the practice of Crimean Tartar raids into southern Russian territory for the purpose of capturing slaves.
• The neutral, Ottoman controlled Crimean army may not be given orders to move into the neighboring Russian spaces of the Ukraine (Urk) and Don Voyska (Don). Any orders given by the Turkish player to move the Crimean army into either Ukraine or Don Voyska are invalid and the GM will replace them with an order to hold.

The Electorate of Saxony and the Polish Lithuanian Commonwealth: In 1697 the Lutheran Elector of Saxony, Frederick Augustus I, converted to Catholicism and was subsequently elected as king of Poland. His son, Frederick Augustus II, would also become a convert of Catholicism and would reign as king of Poland after his father’s death in 1733 and the costly War of the Polish Succession (1733-38). Despite many of the efforts of the Saxon Electors to unite Saxony and the Polish Lithuanian Commonwealth into a unitary, centralized state, the two countries remained virtually independent of one another with their only firm connection being the personal union under the same monarch. The personal union is reflected on the map by cream colored Poland having a Saxon brown outline.
• Saxony-Poland is controlled by one player—both the Elector of Saxony and the King of Poland—though they act as separate nations each having their own home supply centers.
• Each nation maintains its own units as separate from one another, though the Saxon player controls both Saxon and Polish units. As a consequence, Saxon builds and disbands are separate from Polish builds and disbands. Saxony may not use one of its builds on a Polish home center nor may it disband a Polish unit in the place of a Saxon disband and vice versa for Poland.
• Saxon and Polish units are considered to be allied and may not dislodge each other according to the rules against self-dislodgement.
• Saxon and Polish units may not capture one another’s supply centers since they are considered to be allied. This would also include any form of an exchange of supply centers. However, Saxon and Polish units may move into one another’s supply centers and remain there to the Fall build/adjustments phase since they may not capture the other’s supply centers and are considered allied.
• If the last Polish home center is captured and Poland is eliminated from the game, the Saxon player may recapture Polish home centers thereby reestablishing Poland as a power under the command of the Saxon player. In the case of Saxony being eliminated, the Saxon player continues to control Poland and may reestablish Saxony as a power in the same manner described above. Saxony or Poland may not absorb each other's home supply centers as if they were neutral or opposing home centers. Saxony or Poland is restored if one of their home centers is recaptured and held until the Fall build/adjustments by the other power in the Saxony-Poland personal union. This is because Saxony-Poland is controlled by the same player and their units and supply centers are considered allied.
• Saxon and Polish supply centers are counted together for victory purposes. Saxony-Poland begins with three supply centers (2 Saxon and 1 Polish) toward the victory total.

Kingdom of France: The Kingdom of France was the richest and most populous country on the European continent in the mid 18th century boasting some of the most fertile soil and fielding some of the largest armies before the revolutionary conscription revisions of the Napoleonic Wars.
• Paris begins the game with one army, but may support two units with its supply center. The ability to support more than one unit from Paris will be determined with the Fall build/adjustments phase of every year.
• As long as the French player holds Paris, the number of units he may support will be the number of French supply centers plus one.
• If Paris is captured by another nation and held to the Fall build/adjustments phase, then two French units will need to be disbanded if the French player had supplied two units from Paris.

Marriage Rather than War: The Hapsburg Dynasty was renowned for its policy of territorial expansion through political marriages rather than outright conquest. A result of this policy was a lack of emphasis on a military to guard the far flung dominions of the polyglot empire. In the mid 18th century, the Austrian military stood at half its authorized size due to neglect and expenditures used elsewhere in the governmental structures of the Hapsburg Monarchy.
• The Hapsburg Monarchy (Austria) begins the game with 4 home supply centers, but only 3 units (A Vie, A Bud, A Mil).

Appeal to Hungary: During the War of the Austrian Succession (1740-48), Maria Theresa, as Queen of Hungary, appealed to the Hungarian nobility for support and large levies of troops. Hungarian support for the Hapsburg Monarchy was one of defining causes of the survival of Maria Theresa’s Austria during the course of this conflict.
• If either Vienna (Vie) or Trieste are occupied and held until the Fall build/adjustments phase by another nation, Budapest may supply two units.
• If Budapest is occupied by another power, this rule will not be in effect.
• If Budapest is captured and held to the Fall build/adjustments phase by another power while this rule is in effect, then the Austrian player will need to disband two units.

Landgraviate of Hesse-Cassel: The rulers of Hesse-Cassel lent their army to the highest bidder throughout the 18th century in order to facilitate building projects and cultural achievements in their dominions with the raised funds.
• Hesse (Hes) acts as a home supply center to any power that occupies and holds it until the Fall build/adjustments phase.

Additional Home Supply Centers: In addition to the home supply centers held by the major powers at the beginning of the game, many neutral spaces may be used as home supply centers by various powers.

Once a nation designates its third home center by building there in the fall build/adjustment phase (either in the specific or general sections under the Additional Home Supply Centers rule), that supply center becomes the third home supply center permanently and may not be changed to another supply center. This is always true except in the cases of Russia and the Ottoman Empire or where a nation has only one option for an additional home supply center (e.g., the Netherlands may only use Austrian Netherlands as its third home supply center). Russia begins the game with three home supply centers, but may use the Khanate of the Crimea (Crm) as a fourth home supply center. Turkey similarly is allowed a maximum of four home supply centers, with the addition of the Khanate of the Crimea (Crm) and Barbary Coast (BaC) (see above for the Crimean and Barbary Coast special rules and below for rules relating to Turkish control of Crimea and Barbary Coast as additional home supply centers).

Specific Supply Centers:
• Khanate of the Crimea (Crm) may act as an additional home supply center of both Russia and Turkey (in addition to Barbary Coast).
• Barbary Coast (BaC) may act as an additional home supply center of Turkey (in addition to Crimea).
• Either the Republic of Genoa (Gen) or Corsica (Cor) may act as an additional supply center for Sardinia, but not both. The Savoyard player will designate whether Genoa or Corsica will act as Sardinia’s third home supply center by placing a unit there during the Fall build/adjustments phase.
• Austrian Netherlands (ANe) may act as an additional home supply center for the Netherlands.
• Berlin (Ber), the Duchy of Mecklenburg (Mec), or Hanover (Han) may act as an additional home supply center for Saxony, but only one. The Saxon player will designate which of the three options will be Saxony’s third home supply center by placing a unit there during the Fall build/adjustments phase.
• Either Konigsberg (Kon) or the Duchy of Courland and Semigallia (Cou) may act as an additional home supply center for Poland, but not both. The Saxon player will designate whether Konigsberg or Courland will act as Saxony’s third home supply center by placing a unit there during the Fall build/adjustments phase.

General Supply Centers:
• Bavaria, Denmark-Norway, Naples-Sicily, and Sweden may choose their third home center. These players will designate which supply center, whether a neutral supply center or opposing home center they have captured and held until the fall build/adjustments phase, will act as their third home supply center by placing a unit there during the Fall build/adjustments phase.
• The Bavarian player needs to choose his third home supply center with especial shrewdness as Bavaria is the only landlocked power without a specific additional home supply center designated to be a coastal supply center (e.g., Saxony-Poland is also initially landlocked, but all of Saxony-Poland’s additional home supply center choices are coastal centers supply centers).


Specific Notes About the Map:
Vassals and Dependencies: Several neutral spaces are outlined in the colors of national powers. This does not indicate control, but is merely present for aesthetic purposes to present historical spheres of influence or dynastic ties.
• The Austrian Netherlands (ANe), the Duchy of Parma (Prm), and the Grand Duchy of Tuscany (Tus) were under the influence of the Hapsburg Monarchy, controlled by cadet branches of the House of Hapsburg, or nominally under the central authority of the court at Vienna during the 1740’s. These neutral spaces are outlined in the white of the Hapsburg Monarchy (Austria).
• The Electorate of Cologne (Col) and the Bishopric of Munster (Mst) were held in near perpetual secundogeniture by the House of Wittelsbach and were closely attached to the Electorate of Bavaria. These neutral spaces are outlined in the lavender color of the Electorate of Bavaria (Bavaria).
• Iceland (Ice) was a possession of the Kingdom of Norway and was held by the King of the personal union of Denmark-Norway. Iceland was under the nominal control of the absolute monarchy of the Danish king, though throughout much of Iceland’s history it remained unguarded by the central Danish government. Iceland is a neutral space outlined in the burgundy color of the Kingdom of Denmark-Norway (Denmark-Norway, Denmark).
• The Duchy of Courland and Semigallia (Cou) was a semiautonomous fief of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth that retained a degree of independence throughout its history in association with Poland and Lithuania. Courland is a neutral space outlined in the cream color of the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth (Saxony-Poland).
• The Barbary Coast (BaC), the Khanate of Crimea (Crm), the Principality of Moldavia (Mol), and the Principality of Wallachia (Wal) were nominally vassals of the Ottoman Empire, though in truth were displaying a marked increase in autonomy or outright independence by the mid 18th century. These neutral spaces are outlined in the light brown color of the Ottoman Empire (Turkey). See above for the special rules regarding the neutral fleet in Barbary Coast and the neutral army in Crimea.

Land Bridges: There are several land bridges connecting spaces that allow movement between them for land and naval movement.
• There is a land bridge between Cagliari (Cag) and Corsica (Cor).
• There is a land bridge between Naples (Nap) and Palermo (Plm).
• There is a land bridge between Constantinople (Con) and Angora (Ang).

Bosporus Strait:
• The Aegean Sea and Black Sea do not border one another. In order for a fleet to move from one to the other it must move along the coastline of either Constantinople or Angora through the Bosporus Strait. Fleets endeavoring to move from either the Aegean or Black Sea into the other must first capture or move through Constantinople or Angora before proceeding.

Danish Sound
• Copenhagen is a Danish home supply center space that encompasses the islands between Scania (Sca) on the southern tip of Sweden and Jutland (Jut). Copenhagen acts like Denmark in Classic Diplomacy and does not break up the coasts of Scania and Jutland. Scania and Jutland are considered to have one coast and both border Copenhagen for land and naval movement.

Gibraltar:
• Gibraltar (Gib) borders Cadiz (Cad), Gulf of Cadiz (GoC), Andalusia (And), Alboran Sea (AbS), and Atlantic (Atl). Gibraltar also borders Morocco (Mor), but only for naval movement. There is no land bridge between Gibraltar and Morocco.

General Notes About the Map:
• Trieste appears to have its coast disrupted by Istria (unlabeled). This is merely for aesthetic purposes and Trieste is considered to have only one coast.
• The Bishopric of Wurzburg (Wrz) and Bohemia (Boh) border. Dresden (Dre) and Upper Palatinate (UPa) do not border.
• The Duchy of Mecklenburg (Mec) and Jutland (Jut) border.
• Brandenburg (Bra) and the Landgraviate of Hesse-Cassel (Hes) border.
• West Baltic Sea (WBa) and Jutland (Jut) border.
• Copenhagen (Cop) and the Duchy of Mecklenburg (Mec) do not border.
• Lithuania (Lth) has a coast and borders East Baltic Sea (EBa). The Duchy of Courland and Semigallia (Cou) and Konigsberg (Kon) do not border.
• Tyrrhenian Sea (Tyn) and Gulf of Lyon (GoL) border.
• Gulf of Cadiz (GoC) and Alboran Sea (AbS) do not border.
• Gulf of Cadiz (GoC) and Morocco (Mor) do not border.
• Amsterdam (Ams) and the Electorate of Cologne border.
• Amsterdam (Ams) and English Channel (Eng) do not border.
• Rotterdam (Rot) and Wadden Sea (Wad) border.
• Moscow (Mos) and Livonia (Lvn) border.
• St. Petersburg (StP) and Livonia (Lvn) border.
• Galicia (Gal) and Transylvania (Tra) border.
• Turin (Tur) and Ligurian Sea (Lig) border.
• The Duchy of Parma (Prm) and Ligurian Sea (Lig) border.

List of Abbreviations:
Provinces:
Abo- Abo
Ams- Amsterdam
And- Andalusia
ANe- Austrian Netherlands
Ang- Angora
Arm- Armenia
Art- Artois
BaC- Barbary Coast
Blr- Belorussia
Boh- Bohemia
Bos- Bosnia
Ber- Berlin
Bra- Brandenburg
Bri- Bristol
Brs-Breslau
Bud- Budapest
Bul- Bulgaria
Bur- Burgundy
Cad- Cadiz
Cag- Cagliari
CaL- Castile and Leon
Cat- Catalonia
Chr- Christiania
Cir- Circassia
Col- Electorate of Cologne
Con- Constantinople
Cop- Copenhagen
Cor- Corsica
Cou- Duchy of Courland and Semigallia
Crm- The Khanate of the Crimea
Crn- Cornwall
Cro- Croatia
Dal- Dalmatia
Don- Don Voyska
Dre- Dresden
Edi- Edinburgh
Ext- Extremadura
Fin- Finland
Gal- Galicia
Gas- Gascony
Gen- Republic of Genoa
Gib- Gibraltar
Han- Hanover
Hes- Landgraviate of Hesse-Cassel
Ice- Iceland
Jut- Jutland
Kiv- Kiev
Kon- Konigsberg
LaR- La Rochelle
Lon- London
Lth- Lithuania
Lei- Leipzig
Lev- Levant
Lus- Lusatia
Mad- Madrid
Mar- Marseilles
Mec- Duchy of Mecklenburg
Mil- Milan
Mol- Principality of Moldavia
Mor- Morocco
Mos- Moscow
Mst- Bishopric of Munster
Mun- Munich
Nap- Naples
Pal- Electoral Palatinate
Pap- Papal States
Par- Paris
Pie- Piedmont
Plm- Palermo
Prm- Duchy of Parma and Piacenza
Por- Kingdom of Portugal and the Algarves
Poz- Poznan
Pro- Provence
Reg- Regensburg
Rot- Rotterdam
Sal- Archbishopric of Salzburg
Sca- Scania
Sil- Silistra
Sto- Stockholm
StP- St. Petersburg
Str- Strasbourg
Swi- Swiss Confederation
Tra- Transylvania
Tri- Trieste
Tro- Trondelag
Tur- Turin
Tus- Grand Duchy of Tuscany
Tyr- Tyrol
Ukr- Ukraine
UPa- Upper Palatinate
Val- Valencia
Ven- Republic of Venice
Vie- Vienna
Vol- Volhynia
Wal- Principality of Wallachia
War- Warsaw
Wrz- Bishopric of Wurzburg
Wur- Duchy of Wurttemberg
Yor- Yorkshire

Sea Spaces:
AbS- Alboran Sea
Adr- Adriatic Sea
Aeg- Aegean Sea
Arc- Arctic Ocean
Atl- Atlantic Ocean
Bar- Barents Sea
BaS- Balearic Sea
Bis- Bay of Biscay
Bla- Black Sea
Bot- Gulf of Bothnia
Eas- Eastern Mediterranean
EBa- East Baltic Sea
Eng- English Channel
GoC- Gulf of Cadiz
GoL- Gulf of Lyon
Iri- Irish Sea
Ion- Ionian Sea
Lig- Ligurian Sea
NAt- North Atlantic
Nrg- Norwegian Sea
Nth- North Sea
Ska- Skagerrak
Tyn- Tyrrhenian Sea
Wad- Wadden Sea
WBa- West Baltic Sea
Wes- Western Mediterranean


House Rules:

Orders: Messages containing orders should have the following in their titles: "Game Name-Country Name-Orders/Retreats/Builds-Season and Current Year" (ex.- Enlightenment & Absolutism: Britain/British Orders-Spring 1741 -or- E&A: Britain/British Orders-Spring 1741). All orders should be sent in a new message each season so that they are not lost in my inbox, this will also help me keep track of all orders for folders. Failure to do so is on the player's head. Before each phase is adjudicated, I will search for extra or lost orders, but if a player did not accurately label his orders, I am not responsible for his NMR.

Any ambiguities in orders are ultimately the responsibility of the player and will not be adjudicated if unintelligible. I cannot be expected to understand what a player means when submitting vague orders; anything that cannot be understood without grand assumptions of intent on my part will be rejected. So please make sure your abbreviations are accurate. Any and all questions regarding provinces' borders and names are welcome. A little bothering before the turn will save all of us from a big headache afterwards.

The site rules for mistakes by GM's will be followed regarding incorrect results posted after a phase deadline:

Any mistake in adjudication or in the map which has not been noticed by or reported to the GM by the next movement deadline will stand. If a mistake is reported, however close to a deadline, then it should be corrected and time given for orders to be modified.



Questions or Other Messages: Questions or other messages should be labeled differently than orders so that I can address them immediately. Something along the lines of "Question regarding (game name)" would be appropriate.

Deadlines: 4/1/1 (days), unless a consensus of players prefer longer deadlines. A reminder will be sent out 24 hours in advance of the phase end for turns with a deadline longer than 24 hours. Even if this reminder is not sent, players are still expected to submit orders in a timely fashion, though I will try to send a reminder every turn. I will also send out emergency reminders past 12 hours if I remember or have the extra time. Do not expect these 12 hour or less reminders, though I will try my best to ensure that all sets of orders are received. I will be lenient for legitimate excuses, otherwise it will be an NMR. If I sense that a player is deliberately taking advantage of this leniency, I will not be pleased and may become vindictive to the point of having that player replaced if it becomes a repeated offense.

I will use speed deadlines if all moves are submitted before the end of the phase. All moves will be adjudicated at such time as I receive final orders from all players. Any orders marked provisional will not be considered final until the deadline is reached. A player may submit an infinite number of order changes and the last set will be the ones used.

Delays will be granted on a case-by-case basis judged by me on the legitimacy of the request and circumstances involved for the player requesting the extension. Please ask for requests as far in advance as possible. Extensions must be requested 24 hours in advance of the next phase adjudication, otherwise the request will be denied and the player will be expected to submit orders or suffer an NMR. Even if the request for extension is submitted in advance of 24 hours before the next adjudication, I will still decide based on the circumstances given by the player and reserve the right to accept or deny the request based on my own judgement.

Draws: Draws cannot be proposed until Spring 1746. Draws are not DIAS.

NMR's: The deadline is final and any orders submitted after I have posted the adjudicated orders and the map are late and not valid. If a player submits orders after the deadline, but before I can update the map and post the results for the turn, those orders will be accepted and adjudicated with the rest.

2 NMR's in successive phases whether orders, retreats, or builds/adjustments will result in the immediate removal of that player unless a legitimate reason is given, in a timely manner, for the absence. 3 NMR's overall, but not in succession, will result in a player's immediate removal and replacement by a reserve. Game will reset if NMR on first turn and a replacement will be sought.

Players: I also reserve the right to accept or deny players based on reputation or past experience.


Signups
Game A
1. Stanislaw
2. mambam14
3. Pharaoh of nerds
4. bindlestiff
5. Palin
6. glacier777
7. haroonriaz
8. Shibabalo
9. Antigonos
10. Alupi
11. Bob.Durf
12. KingSolomon9
13. McGiles
14. Ecallaw

Reserves
1. JonathanSwaim
2. simblanco
3. dcaibal
4. mariscal

Game B?
1. dcaibal
2. mariscal
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.
10.
11.
12.
13.
14.


Countries will be assigned via blind auction. Please do not discuss preferences, this is not first-come-first-served.
Last edited by VaeVictis on 24 Jun 2014, 19:50, edited 23 times in total.
VaeVictis
 
Posts: 1602
Joined: 30 Dec 2012, 01:57
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1248)
All-game rating: (1251)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Enlightenment and Absolutism

Postby Pharaoh of nerds » 04 Jun 2014, 20:53

Sign me up!
GM Evil vs Evil vs Evil vs 'MURIKA
Creator + Britain 1930s World
Creator 1700, 1933, 1914 World
Japan in Zeus
Britain in 1900: Stars and Stripes
Messinia in Pericles
Franci in Imperium
Evil England in Root Z
Yellow in City-States and Zombies
User avatar
Pharaoh of nerds
 
Posts: 676
Joined: 23 May 2010, 20:34
Location: Sector 001
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (972)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Enlightenment and Absolutism-(3/14)

Postby Stanislaw » 04 Jun 2014, 20:57

Question. What happens when a Saxon army enters Polish Sc, or when a Polish army enters a Saxon SC?
When you play the game of thrones you win, or you die, there is no middle ground.

Platinum member of the Classicists
User avatar
Stanislaw
 
Posts: 385
Joined: 16 Feb 2012, 02:55
Location: CT, USA
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1434)
All-game rating: (1484)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Enlightenment and Absolutism-(3/14)

Postby VaeVictis » 04 Jun 2014, 21:06

Stanislaw wrote:Question. What happens when a Saxon army enters Polish Sc, or when a Polish army enters a Saxon SC?


Nice catch with that one. I wrote the Saxony-Poland section with everything making clear sense in my own head, but forgot to indicate that they are considered to be allied. I have added two bullet points under the Electorate of Saxony and the Polish Lithuanian Commonwealth section (points 3 & 4).
VaeVictis
 
Posts: 1602
Joined: 30 Dec 2012, 01:57
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1248)
All-game rating: (1251)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Enlightenment and Absolutism-(3/14)

Postby Gooderian » 04 Jun 2014, 21:44

Is it possible to enlarge the units a bit? I can distinguish what is what, but they´re a bit to small for my liking.
Gold Classicist, and a member of the whippersnappers.
Remember, our country is called the Netherlands, not Holland!
User avatar
Gooderian
 
Posts: 2770
Joined: 16 Nov 2011, 20:32
Location: Right here. Or over there. Whatever makes me win.
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1059)
All-game rating: (1045)
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Enlightenment and Absolutism-(3/14)

Postby glacier777 » 04 Jun 2014, 22:26

This looks incredible. If the DVFG folks did an annual awards thing like the Mafia folks then you would easily win best variant designer! :)

A few questions:
1. What's with the incredibly low victory criteria? 18 out of 55 is less than a third. I'm not fussed if it's not over half but it seems very low.
2. What's the point of Gibralter? The British unit can't move or support :? so why would anyone have an incentive to attack it? I know it controls the Sog but Spain can build both sides of it. It just don't see the point. Also, can the British player destroy F Gib if he has a destroy?
3. BaC and Crm: It seems a bit odd that the Turkish player can build there once they have been occupied by another power and then recaptured by Turkey. But that was probably your intention.
4. Trieste: So after the first build turn does A-H still need to have [units = centres-1]? But then if Vie or Tri are taken, A-H can have [units = centres + 1]. Is that right - A-H gains 2 units after loosing 1 home SC? :shock:
5. Just to check, ANe borders Pal while Col doesn't border Art, right?

Sorry if I sound a bit critical there, I love the map, just some rules confused me.

Should I sign-up? My PlayDip schedule is about to explode in the next two weeks and I said I wouldn't add anything to it. But this variant looks so amazing that I am leaning towards signing up.
Put my name down, and I will make a final decision in the next few days.
Back on PlayDip after a 3 year hiatus

Silver member of the Classicists
User avatar
glacier777
 
Posts: 557
Joined: 06 Jan 2013, 19:40
Location: Manchester, United Kingdom
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1264)
All-game rating: (1278)
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Enlightenment and Absolutism-(3/14)

Postby bindlestiff » 05 Jun 2014, 00:25

Pick me! Pick me!! Pick me!!! :o
-- bindlestiff
-- Platinum Classicist, Star Ambassador, card-carrying Oldie, and all-around prince of a guy

"La parole nous a été donnée pour déguiser notre pensée." (We were given speech to hide our thoughts.)
-- Charles Maurice de Talleyrand-Périgord
User avatar
bindlestiff
Premium Member
 
Posts: 424
Joined: 24 Feb 2011, 06:02
Location: Oregon, USA
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1331
All-game rating: 1388
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Enlightenment and Absolutism-(3/14)

Postby VaeVictis » 05 Jun 2014, 04:07

glacier777 wrote:This looks incredible. If the DVFG folks did an annual awards thing like the Mafia folks then you would easily win best variant designer! :) Thank you, I appreciate that.

A few questions:
1. What's with the incredibly low victory criteria? 18 out of 55 is less than a third. I'm not fussed if it's not over half but it seems very low. My idea was that 14 players battling over 55 SCs is a tall order for victory. This variant also has a lot of moving parts that could lead to stalemate lines. In addition, I wanted to semi-reflect the balance of power of the 18th century that often aspired to lofty goals in warfare and which often failed to achieve much else then small land exchanges. Therefore, I thought that conquering the half of Europe (as in Classic and most variants) was too much, but I certainly could be wrong. Another interesting note is that a 6 player draw is the same percentage as a 3-way in Classic (obviously since it is merely a multiplication by two). Therefore, I thought that either players would race to 18 centers or there would be a semblance of "the balance of power in Europe" with a 6 or 5 player draw which I think adds to the feeling of the 18th century that I hope this variant will succeed in producing.
2. What's the point of Gibralter? The British unit can't move or support :? so why would anyone have an incentive to attack it? I know it controls the Sog but Spain can build both sides of it. It just don't see the point. Also, can the British player destroy F Gib if he has a destroy? I think you may be mistaking the Garrison of Gibraltar, which is only a space that possesses a defensive value of 1, with the British fleet that begins in Gibraltar.
The space of Gibraltar (Gib) is initially controlled by Britain at the start of the game and contains a “garrison.” The Garrison of Gibraltar is not an actual unit that can move or provide support, but it affords the space of Gibraltar a defensive strength of one. In order to capture the space of Gibraltar it is necessary to have an attacking strength of two.
The "garrison" is merely a flashy way of saying the space of Gibraltar maintains a defensive value of 1. The "garrison" is not to be confused with the British fleet that begins in Gibraltar supplied from Bristol. The "garrison" was designed to help damper the efforts of a three center Spain (in addition to the British fleet that begins in Gibraltar and borders Cadiz) which would otherwise be a natural France killer.

3. BaC and Crm: It seems a bit odd that the Turkish player can build there once they have been occupied by another power and then recaptured by Turkey. But that was probably your intention. Yes, my intent was to give Turkey the benefit and recognition of being a major, sprawling empire with four supply centers while also reflecting the reality that the Ottoman Empire was beginning to wane during the 18th century. By making Crimea and Barbary neutral units, that have limited range of motion, the Turkish player can hold the powers of Christendom at bay (as the Barbary pirates did up until the French burned Algiers in the 1830's) while also restricting the Ottoman Empire's actual ability to project outward offensively.
4. Trieste: So after the first build turn does A-H still need to have [units = centres-1]? But then if Vie or Tri are taken, A-H can have [units = centres + 1]. Is that right - A-H gains 2 units after loosing 1 home SC? :shock: Austria begins with three units, but four home centers. Therefore, the Austrian player can build a unit for his empty center in Trieste. It is simply a matter of tallying supply centers during the Fall build/adjustments phase (it is possible that Austria could lose Milan in the first year and be left with only three units for three centers even though Austria begins with four). In the case of the Appeal to Hungary rule, it acts like the REM rules of 1900 except that it only applies to the capture of Trieste and Vienna; Budapest and Milan are excluded since Budapest is the supply center that can supply two units if Tri or Vie are captured and Milan is an Italian possession that is less connected to the centralized state. Overall, the three units to four centers at the beginning for Austria is as if an Austrian unit had been destroyed and needed to be replaced with the Fall build/adjustments phase. Additionally, the only time that Austria may supply +1 units to number of supply centers is when either Trieste or Vienna is occupied by hostiles and Budapest is still held by Austria.
5. Just to check, ANe borders Pal while Col doesn't border Art, right? Correct. The flamboyant border is simply the way that the Austrian Netherlands and the Electorate of Cologne (often in personal union with the Bishopric of Liege which is represented by the finger-like extension in the middle of ANe) were shaped.

Sorry if I sound a bit critical there, I love the map, just some rules confused me. There is no need to apologize at all, healthy criticism almost always helps and rarely hurts.

Should I sign-up? My PlayDip schedule is about to explode in the next two weeks and I said I wouldn't add anything to it. But this variant looks so amazing that I am leaning towards signing up.
Put my name down, and I will make a final decision in the next few days. Join us. Resistance is futile, you will be assimilated.



mambam14 wrote:Is it possible to enlarge the units a bit? I can distinguish what is what, but they´re a bit to small for my liking.


They are smaller, but so also are some of the provinces and having small squares and rectangles allows me to comfortably cram more units into crowded areas like Germany and northern Italy.
VaeVictis
 
Posts: 1602
Joined: 30 Dec 2012, 01:57
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1248)
All-game rating: (1251)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Enlightenment and Absolutism-(5-6/14)

Postby Pedros » 05 Jun 2014, 10:12

Sorry, but I don't agree with glacier! Most complicated award, probably; but this is way too fiddly for me - millions of one-off rules are one of the precise things which Dip isn't about in my book.
"Sooner or later, one of us will stab the other. But for now we're both better off as allies" (kininvie)
User avatar
Pedros
 
Posts: 12465
Joined: 25 Jan 2009, 12:59
Location: Somewhere full of gorse and brambles, West Cornwall
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1085)
All-game rating: (1314)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Enlightenment and Absolutism-(5-6/14)

Postby Stanislaw » 05 Jun 2014, 17:21

Alright so those new bullet points mostly clear it up. One more question though. Does that mean Saxon units cannot enter Polish SCs and vice versa? Because they could potentially enter them just not capture them if they stay there in the fall.

Also I strongly second glacier's concern about the low SC victory count. Variants like the 1900 extension with the Americas have suffered before from gaining more SCs but not an increased victory condition of SCs. I understand your viewpoint on the not conquering all of Europe part, but I'd at least increase it to say 24. 18 is incredibly low for a 55 center map.
When you play the game of thrones you win, or you die, there is no middle ground.

Platinum member of the Classicists
User avatar
Stanislaw
 
Posts: 385
Joined: 16 Feb 2012, 02:55
Location: CT, USA
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1434)
All-game rating: (1484)
Timezone: GMT-5

Next

Return to Enlightenment and Absolutism {All Maps Visible}

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest