AAR – 90788. Florida Challenge; T solo

Discussion of finished games.

AAR – 90788. Florida Challenge; T solo

Postby WHSeward » 23 Feb 2015, 20:30

I’m just getting started and will come back and finish this AAR later. Others feel free to pipe up before I am done. I will probably just edit the OP. (I am also going to feel too guilty if I don’t write a couple of mentor game AAR comments before I do this one so it will be a bit.)

Normally when I write an AAR, I just focus on my game and a few highlights, but I think this game was so well played, it is worth doing a bit wider and deeper analysis. My perspective, of course, is shaped by what I was privy to as a player. Hopefully a few more players will flesh out the analysis.

This invitational included 6 of the top 11 finishers in the 2014 Classicist League. (There was a 5-way tie for 6th in the League.) I was, as dib called me during the game, the “wild card entry” who didn’t really belong in the field. I hadn’t yet finished a Classicist game when the 2014 League ended, but I thought having a “bowl game” for the leaders to celebrate the year was a good idea, and if I was going to organize it I might as well play!

I am glad I did. This was without a doubt the highest quality game I have played in my time at this site. Zero surrenders. Zero NMRs. 7 Star Ambassadors and all the communication that suggests. Most important, this had 7 strong players fighting hard the whole game. As a group, the table had a PureDip average rating of 1776 which, for comparison sake, would make it just above the strongest board in round 1 of the PDET.

I feel very fortunate to have nabbed a solo off of this board. In a game with 6 strong opponents, I tend to think the best you can do is look to create solo chances and see what happens. I got a chance and it came through.

Data Tables: