Suggestion for Diplomacy in Class

Information on how to set up games for class-based projects.

Suggestion for Diplomacy in Class

Postby Tanglewood12 » 11 Jan 2016, 06:45

I have a suggestion for how Diplomacy might be better used in class. I have seen posts about teachers being concerned about maintaining and managing multiple games. This is logistically difficult and also there can be particular games that get unbalanced because particular students lose interest or are less competent.

Instead of having lots of games (which is hard for the teacher to monitor and which leads to some students being lazy and not getting much benefit), have just ONE, but assign roles for each student within the country. This will teach teamwork as well as one of the most important concepts of negotiation for real life, which is that the negotiations that occur on the same side of the table are just as important as those that occur across the table. In real life, more diplomacy is often necessary with members of your own team than with your opponent.

Depending on how many students you have, each country could be assigned a:

Foreign Minister -- Responsible for all official diplomatic communications
Minister of Propaganda -- Responsible for all public press
General -- Responsible for all army movements
Admiral -- Responsible for all fleet movements
Minister of Finance -- Responsible for all decisions relating to builds and destroys

This accommodates a class of 35. If you have more, you could assign the extra students jobs as UN officials, members of the international press, Amnesty International or Doctors Without Boarders, and assign them the job of interfering with the cold, hard realpolitik of the game itself. Their victory condition for the international community students could be that the game ends with at least one neutral center remaining uncaptured and its people free.