The standard map, now in layers

Several topics concerned with making and using maps as a GM

Moderator: Morg

The standard map, now in layers

Postby RazorBran » 25 Sep 2016, 06:02

Since I started playing on this site, I've always liked to work out my problems on a copy of the map. If you've done this, you probably know the limitations of bucket-filling an image that is full of labels and textured topography. So eventually I got around to removing the colors and unit markers and breaking it down into layers. Behold!

I give you three separate files, to be recombined by you in whatever program you choose. I use the GIMP, which is free and open-source, but in order to make something everyone could use, I reduced the original number of layers and made them all png files of the smallest size. Units are not included. If you are just working out a problem, rather than running a game, it'll be easier to add them ad hoc than to recreate the designers' work (army or fleet × holding or dislodged × 75 spaces + 3 coasts).

The layers:

3. First come the land spaces. This bottom layer is the one you will select in order to pick colors and bucket-fill the territories. (In most programs capable of handling layers, you can choose one layer to edit even while others are visible on top of it.) You can pick existing colors off the map, but I also added a palette up in the Norwegian Sea so you will always have a reference. It includes neutral beige, the sea color, fog-of-war gray, plus never-before-seen mud-of-war brown, snow-of-war white, Spanish lime, Spanish slate, and Polish polka-dot (just joking). The palette will be hidden by the ocean layer. Hidden in Siberia are the colors for the Versailles variant.

2. In the middle, the sea spaces. When you select this layer, you can color the seas too! I like to mark who controls what.