Rules Summary (official)

15-player synthetic variant based on ... well, you know. Starts 2989 (Third Age). Created by Magmaniac.

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby Magmaniac » 15 Mar 2009, 22:28

I think (1) is the best way to resolve that for the reason you stated.

About boarding a fleet in a river, rivers aren't extremely wide. Armies would throw grappling hooks or whatever into the sides of the ships, or just swim to it and climb up. The idea of it being a full fleet is that it just has a barebones crew meant to move the ships around, an army could easily overpower the few people on the empty ships.
User avatar
Magmaniac
 
Posts: 1028
Joined: 27 May 2008, 07:41
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby Steppenwulf » 15 Mar 2009, 22:45

Magmaniac wrote:I think (1) is the best way to resolve that for the reason you stated.

About boarding a fleet in a river, rivers aren't extremely wide. Armies would throw grappling hooks or whatever into the sides of the ships, or just swim to it and climb up. The idea of it being a full fleet is that it just has a barebones crew meant to move the ships around, an army could easily overpower the few people on the empty ships.


Great - so just a few more questions to verify my understanding. For a full fleet, on the turn when the army moves off the fleet:

1. To verify again, the (becoming) empty fleet can do nothing but hold. Is this correct, or is there any other action the emptying fleet can do?

2. If an enemy army attacks on the turn the full fleet is emptying, does the enemy army capture the emptying fleet?

3. If an enemy fleet attacks on the turn that the full fleet is emptying, does the enemy fleet capture the province (forcing the emptying fleet into retreat)?

My guess for 2 and 3 is that the province is captured, since the army part of the full fleet is leaving - just want to make sure.
"The best weapon against an enemy is another enemy"
Friedrich Nietzsche
User avatar
Steppenwulf
 
Posts: 510
Joined: 08 Mar 2009, 05:55
Location: Canada
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1021)
All-game rating: (1023)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby Magmaniac » 16 Mar 2009, 08:09

Steppenwulf wrote:
Magmaniac wrote:I think (1) is the best way to resolve that for the reason you stated.

About boarding a fleet in a river, rivers aren't extremely wide. Armies would throw grappling hooks or whatever into the sides of the ships, or just swim to it and climb up. The idea of it being a full fleet is that it just has a barebones crew meant to move the ships around, an army could easily overpower the few people on the empty ships.


Great - so just a few more questions to verify my understanding. For a full fleet, on the turn when the army moves off the fleet:

1. To verify again, the (becoming) empty fleet can do nothing but hold. Is this correct, or is there any other action the emptying fleet can do?

2. If an enemy army attacks on the turn the full fleet is emptying, does the enemy army capture the emptying fleet?

3. If an enemy fleet attacks on the turn that the full fleet is emptying, does the enemy fleet capture the province (forcing the emptying fleet into retreat)?

My guess for 2 and 3 is that the province is captured, since the army part of the full fleet is leaving - just want to make sure.


1.) It could convoy another army I suppose if it's in a river location... but it can't move at all.

2.) Yes the army captures the fleet as long as the move to it is successful.

3.) If the enemy fleet is a full fleet, yes. If it is another empty fleet it will bounce.
User avatar
Magmaniac
 
Posts: 1028
Joined: 27 May 2008, 07:41
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby MoodytheWise » 16 Mar 2009, 08:51

If we're getting super-technical, here's an interesting question (I think):

Tol Brandir and Sarn Gebir do not have multiple coasts designated on the map. However, their coastline is clearly disrupted by the Falls of Rauros; a fleet cannot move along the coast of Tol Brandir up or down the falls. Then again, since there is only one coast of Tol Brandir, a fleet can move into it from the South and move out of it towards the North.

Can boats be portaged? If not, are Sarn Gebir and Tol Brandir exceptions, or are they mistakes?
MoodytheWise
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 11 Feb 2009, 02:14
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby Magmaniac » 16 Mar 2009, 08:59

Their coastline is continuous for techincality's sake. Fleets can go to Tob or Sag from FORA and then to 33 or vice versa without problem, just not directly between 33 and FORA. Portaging the boats is a good explanation for that. Either with makeshift wagons or just carried one by one or something.
User avatar
Magmaniac
 
Posts: 1028
Joined: 27 May 2008, 07:41
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby Steppenwulf » 17 Mar 2009, 03:06

Ok, another question. I can't help it, when I'm in the bath I think about... fleets.

So, for a convoy, does an army have to start and end on land? For example, can a full fleet convoy its army to another fleet which then convoys it to land somewhere, leaving an empty fleet behind?

Or could an army on land get convoyed down a couple of fleets, and at the end, create a full fleet where an empty one used to be?

Or could an army be convoyed from one fleet to another fleet? Creating an empty fleet at the beginning and a full fleet at the end?

Enquiring, minds want to know.
"The best weapon against an enemy is another enemy"
Friedrich Nietzsche
User avatar
Steppenwulf
 
Posts: 510
Joined: 08 Mar 2009, 05:55
Location: Canada
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1021)
All-game rating: (1023)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby Magmaniac » 17 Mar 2009, 03:42

A convoy has to be from land to land. If there is an empty fleet in the land destination, it creates a full fleet there. If an army is convoyed from departing a fleet on a land space, it leaves the empty fleet behind there. You can't convoy from one fleet to another though.
User avatar
Magmaniac
 
Posts: 1028
Joined: 27 May 2008, 07:41
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby Steppenwulf » 17 Mar 2009, 05:08

Another question

Can a full fleet on a coastal province separate by the empty fleet going to a nearby body of water while the army holds in the coastal province?
"The best weapon against an enemy is another enemy"
Friedrich Nietzsche
User avatar
Steppenwulf
 
Posts: 510
Joined: 08 Mar 2009, 05:55
Location: Canada
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1021)
All-game rating: (1023)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby davidmorton » 17 Mar 2009, 13:40

Good questions. This one isn't possible though. If a fleet splits up then the army moves out and the fleet holds. You can't do it a different way.
davidmorton
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 29 Dec 2008, 05:01
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+7

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby davidmorton » 17 Mar 2009, 14:54

I've edited the rules again to include some of the answers to recent questions including:

Falls of Rauros
Convoying to and from fleets
Attacking a convoying fleet with an army
Retreating only the army from a full fleet

I changed the numbering system to make it easier to add things and formatted it a bit.

I have a couple of further things brought up by some of the recent questions.

1. In the spring 2991 retreat, an army retreated from a full fleet and another army came in to capture the province, becoming a full fleet. If the capturing unit was a full fleet instead, then I guess that the empty fleet remaining in the province would be destroyed. I can't think of another way to resolve this and I've put it in the rules, but if it's not correct I can change it.
2. Can an army move out of one fleet, directly into another? If so, can it only do this on land provinces or in rivers too?
davidmorton
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 29 Dec 2008, 05:01
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+7

PreviousNext

Return to Lord Of The Rings [Games 1 & 2] {Maps Visible in Game 2}

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest