Rules Summary (official)

15-player synthetic variant based on ... well, you know. Starts 2989 (Third Age). Created by Magmaniac.

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby Stander » 06 Mar 2009, 23:41

A quick question regarding builds.

If someone has (say) 3 builds can they build 3 armies and one fleet (which is full - with 1 of these 3 armies)
Or in the case of Rhun, Gray Havens and Umbar, can they build 3 armies and 2 fleets that are full (with 2 of those armies)?
I will be running the London Marathon on 22nd April 2012 to raise funds to help disabled children and in memory of my darling wife who sadly passed away in January 2012.

To find out more or to donate please visit:- http://www.justgiving.com/BigRunningFool
User avatar
Stander
Elite Sponsor
Elite Sponsor
 
Posts: 2088
Joined: 07 Sep 2008, 23:19
Location: Mainly running the streets of Essex, getting wet, cold and bloody miserable.
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby Magmaniac » 06 Mar 2009, 23:45

If you have three builds you can do any of the following (assuming you are going to USE all three builds)

Army, Army, Army
Army, Army, Army, empty fleet
Army, Army, full fleet.

In the case of a power that can build two fleets:

Army, Army, Army
Army, Army, Army, empty fleet, empty fleet
Army, Army, full fleet, empty fleet
Army, full fleet, full fleet

Or any smaller combination where the total supply adds up to three. (army = 1, full fleet = 1, empty fleet = 0) where up to one (or two for the certain powers) fleets of any kind are being built.

Does that clarify?
User avatar
Magmaniac
 
Posts: 1028
Joined: 27 May 2008, 07:41
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby Stander » 06 Mar 2009, 23:48

Magmaniac wrote:Does that clarify?


Completely. Thanks.
I will be running the London Marathon on 22nd April 2012 to raise funds to help disabled children and in memory of my darling wife who sadly passed away in January 2012.

To find out more or to donate please visit:- http://www.justgiving.com/BigRunningFool
User avatar
Stander
Elite Sponsor
Elite Sponsor
 
Posts: 2088
Joined: 07 Sep 2008, 23:19
Location: Mainly running the streets of Essex, getting wet, cold and bloody miserable.
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby davidmorton » 07 Mar 2009, 01:54

Magmaniac wrote:I changed my mind about that though and since you hadn't put that on here I didn't think about it.
An army can leave a fleet without the fleet being in a coastal province.


Ok, I'll change it back. I just went to check it for myself and realised my summary was different.
davidmorton
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 29 Dec 2008, 05:01
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+7

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby Jaded Knight » 07 Mar 2009, 04:59

So an army can move from a full fleet to a province as long as the waterway and province are next to each other then?
War does not determine who is right, war determines who is left.
User avatar
Jaded Knight
 
Posts: 197
Joined: 02 Feb 2009, 19:03
Location: My own private Camelot
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby davidmorton » 07 Mar 2009, 05:29

Yes, I think so. An army can move out of a full fleet wherever it is, into any land space.
davidmorton
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 29 Dec 2008, 05:01
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+7

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby Steppenwulf » 13 Mar 2009, 01:12

I've been reading the rules about empty fleets, and it is fascinating - separating the ships from the soldiers that man them.

But if we follow the rules that were identified, am I the only one with a sinking feeling that in 20 years the entire world is going to be covered in fleets...

Hey John - where the supplies for my army?

Sorry Fred, the farmers couldn't get to the crops with all the fleets on top of them. Why don't you take a half dozen fleets instead and call it even?
User avatar
Steppenwulf
 
Posts: 510
Joined: 08 Mar 2009, 05:55
Location: Canada
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1021)
All-game rating: (1023)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby Steppenwulf » 15 Mar 2009, 09:24

Ok, I am moving my questions about the fleet rules to this thread, as I think this is where it should have been to begin with. I also added one more, so now there are three.

1. Can a country "catch up" on fleet building? That is, if I didn't build a fleet last build turn, could I build 2 this build turn?

2. If building an empty fleet, you said it can be built on any army, turning that army into a full fleet. Does that include building it on an army that is not on a supply (considering empty fleets do not need supply).

3. Can a full fleet separate, with the empty fleet and the army move in different directions on the same turn? Some examples below:

A) With a full fleet in a river, can the army go to a province on one side, and the (now empty) fleet in the same turn go to a province on the other side?

B) With the full fleet in a river, can the army go to a province on one side, and the fleet go 2 steps downriver same turn?

C) With a full fleet in a coastal province, can the empty fleet go 2 steps downriver, while the army moves on land, in the same turn
"The best weapon against an enemy is another enemy"
Friedrich Nietzsche
User avatar
Steppenwulf
 
Posts: 510
Joined: 08 Mar 2009, 05:55
Location: Canada
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1021)
All-game rating: (1023)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby davidmorton » 15 Mar 2009, 11:46

1. No, I don't think you are allowed to catch up missed builds - Rule 22. Only one Fleet can be built per year by a power, except for the Gray Havens, Rhun, or Umbar, who can each build two.

2. Again, no. - Rule 24. An empty fleet can be built on a center already holding an army, so that it becomes a full fleet. or - Rule 21. A player can build on any supply center they control.

3. No. - Rule 5. The army in a full fleet may disembark leaving an empty fleet. The fleet may be in any type of province (river, coastal or sea). The army is ordered to move from the fleet. Example: The fleet is full and in Aaa, you write the order as A Aaa -> Bbb. The army will move as an army normally moves, and the fleet will hold. If another unit moves to Aaa, the army moving away is not affected, but the fleet is. Note then that the fleet will now be an empty fleet.
davidmorton
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 29 Dec 2008, 05:01
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+7

Re: Rules Summary (official)

Postby Steppenwulf » 15 Mar 2009, 21:40

Darn, all anyone says is no. I am starting to feel like my one year old.

Well I have another question, about empty fleets. What happens if an empty fleet is ordered to convoy an army on a particular turn, and an enemy in a coastal province also tries to board the fleet (while it is on the river).

1. A standoff - the enemy is bounced by the army that was attempted to be convoyed, and the convoy fails.

2. The enemy succeeds in taking over the empty fleet and the convoy fails.

Again it seems to me the answer should be 1 - If the fleet is convoying an army, that convoyed army defends the fleet.

Also the whole idea of a fleet being taken over by an army while it is in a river seems a bit strange. The fleet has to have sailors, right, or it couldn't travel empty. So couldn't the sailors just stay away from the bank and prevent the army from boarding? Is it true that an enemy army can board and take over an empty fleet while it is in a river?
"The best weapon against an enemy is another enemy"
Friedrich Nietzsche
User avatar
Steppenwulf
 
Posts: 510
Joined: 08 Mar 2009, 05:55
Location: Canada
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1021)
All-game rating: (1023)
Timezone: GMT-5

PreviousNext

Return to Lord Of The Rings [Games 1 & 2] {Maps Visible in Game 2}

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest