by Zanmor » 20 Mar 2009, 23:56
Ok guys, sorry about the delay. Between work and a concert last night I haven't been on a computer in over a day. So, there may be some minor changes to these before we actually get underway, but these rules are pretty solid, I think. And of course, please ask any questions, even check out some scenarios and all, before we get underway. If there are any problems or confusion I'd like to try and get rid of that before we start.
Dune Diplomacy
All normal Diplomacy rules apply except as noted.
First of all, the game starts in 10190 AG, the first orders taking place in Spring 10191.
There are thirty two (32) supply centers. Seventeen (17) are needed for a solo victory.
The six (6) factions are the great houses Corrino, Harkonnen, Atreides, and the Spacing Guild, Bene Gesserit and Fremen.
All factions start with armies. Armies can move to any space on the board. When on a sandy space they can be ordered to attempt to summon a worm. This order is entered as ‘A (province name) Summons’.
Any move against that army causes the attempt to fail, even if the unit is not dislodged. For example:
A Mirage Erg Summons
A Stilgar’s Island moves Mirage Erg
Even though the move on Mirage Erg is not supported and does not dislodge the other army, this still causes the summon to fail.
Armies attempting to summon can still be supported as though they were holding.
If a summon succeeds (is not moved against) then the army that summoned is replaced by a sandworm unit and follows special rules.
Movement rules remain the same except that worms can only move through sandy spaces. The sandy spaces are the yellow ones on the board. They cannot support attacks or holds of units in rocky spaces (this may change a bit). A few spaces are partially rock and partially sand. Worms can move into, control, support moves to or support holds of units in Rock Outcroppings, Habbanya Erg, Wind Pass and the Reef. Worms cannot move pass the 'worm line' into the Polar Basin.
Worm units have special attack rules. They still have the same strength of any army unit, so they require support to dislodge a unit. However, if a worm dislodges a unit by moving against it (not supporting an army to dislodge it) then the dislodged unit is automatically destroyed and has no opportunity to retreat.
Escort
This is essentially the same thing as convoying in regular Diplomacy but the name has been changed to reflect movement over land, not aboard ships at sea.
A unit attempting to move via an escort must have a complete chain to reach its destination. In the case of worms it is also necessary that this escort chain not go through an area or end in an area they cannot normally move to (rocky area). Both worms and armies can escort or be escorted.
Example orders for a short escort chain are as follows:
A Saline Playa moves to The Major Erg
A Cielago Depression escorts A Saline Playa to The Major Erg
If the unit in Saline Playa had been a worm (denoted in shorthand orders by a ‘W’) then it would have been illegal to escort it through the Cielago Depression, which is a rocky area.
However, a worm can escort an army to a rocky area. The escort simply assumes that a friendly unit or units control the space or spaces that are being escorted through. So, the following is legal:
A C’tair Erg moves to Cielago Depression
W Saline Playa escorts A C’tair Erg to Cielago Depression
The worm cannot and is not moving to the rocky area, but is simply insuring the army has safe and therefore faster movement through the sandy area it occupies.
Just as with convoys in regular Diplomacy, if any unit along the escort chain is dislodged then the escort fails.
Last edited by
Zanmor on 22 Mar 2009, 23:09, edited 2 times in total.