Page 1 of 1

Retreat in Fall into opponent controlled territory?

PostPosted: 26 May 2020, 05:47
by MechGumbi
If a unit is dislodged or defeat in the fall, and the only space available for them to retreat to is controlled by another player, will they conquer/control that territory after the retreat?

Re: Retreat in Fall into opponent controlled territory?

PostPosted: 26 May 2020, 05:50
by Tortellacci
You can retreat to any province that is open, hasn't been fought over (i.e. bounced in), and wasn't the province the unit was attacked from. You also have the option of voluntarily destroying the unit rather than retreating. If there are no open spots to retreat to, it automatically blows up your unit.

It doesn't matter what territory it is or who owns it so long as it follows those rules. :)

Re: Retreat in Fall into opponent controlled territory?

PostPosted: 26 May 2020, 08:03
by adebruyn666
In other words, if all these criteria are met, and you realize that you can take a SC in your retreat phase from the guy who attacked you, congratulations, it means your attacker is "not the sharpest knife in the drawer", is my grandma used to say. :D

Re: Retreat in Fall into opponent controlled territory?

PostPosted: 27 May 2020, 01:12
by Pops2112
I agree, @adebruyn66, that will usually mean error by attacker, but not always - it can be a deliberate ploy if the repositioning of units that results is what the attacker was trying to achieve ...