If I move into Spain in the spring and vacate it in the fall

Some questions come up a lot... look here for simple explanations of the rules.

If I move into Spain in the spring and vacate it in the fall

Postby KalmarFan » 25 Jan 2017, 02:03

Image

So as you can see in the picture, it's fall 1901. (I am France). I was wondering if I vacate the territory of Spain this move if it would become my territory at the end of the year. Thanks in advance.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
KalmarFan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 01 Dec 2016, 01:40
Class: Ambassador
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: If I move into Spain in the spring and vacate it in the

Postby Carebear » 25 Jan 2017, 02:07

Since this is purely a rules question, the answer is no you must occupy a supply center territory that is currently neutral or owned by another player at the end of Fall adjudication (including retreats) to gain control of it. It remains in your control until another player occupies it at the end of a Fall adjudication.

Simple rules questions can be posted to the forum, but take care about asking tactics or strategy questions regarding games that are in progress. That is not allowed.
You can have my last supply center, when you pry it from my cold dead hands.

Spam Ambassador Wannabe

Officially Sanctioned Site Gadfly (meaning the negative kind of sanction)
User avatar
Carebear
 
Posts: 2389
Joined: 12 Nov 2013, 04:26
Location: In the fingerhold
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1573)
All-game rating: (1589)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: If I move into Spain in the spring and vacate it in the

Postby KalmarFan » 25 Jan 2017, 02:28

Carebear wrote:Since this is purely a rules question, the answer is no you must occupy a supply center territory that is currently neutral or owned by another player at the end of Fall adjudication (including retreats) to gain control of it. It remains in your control until another player occupies it at the end of a Fall adjudication.

Simple rules questions can be posted to the forum, but take care about asking tactics or strategy questions regarding games that are in progress. That is not allowed.

Okay thank you. And yeah I wouldn't post a strategy question.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
KalmarFan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 01 Dec 2016, 01:40
Class: Ambassador
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: If I move into Spain in the spring and vacate it in the

Postby RichardListens » 22 Sep 2017, 16:00

I have a further question as I am a little confused. I'm currently playing in 134082 Here We Go Again II. France took Spain in the Spring 1901 and in the Fall moved into Portugal. Now by my understanding he should not have gained Spain as a Supply Centre. Yet on the status drop down list it shows him controlling 6 centres which would have to include Spain.

Am I missing something and if so I'd be grateful for any enlightenment?

Thank you
Aspiring Classicist
RichardListens
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 Aug 2017, 08:57
Location: UK
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1079)
All-game rating: (1036)
Timezone: GMT

Re: If I move into Spain in the spring and vacate it in the

Postby WHSeward » 22 Sep 2017, 17:12

In that game, the army left spain and went to portugal but it was replaced by a fleet. Fleets are just as good as armies at capturing SCs. That is why he controls Spain. It has nothing to do with the army.
"As a general truth, communities prosper and flourish, or droop and decline, in just the degree that they practice or neglect to practice the primary duties of justice and humanity." WHS

A member of the Classicists.

Ask me about mentor games. Send me a PM or post in the Mentoring forum.
User avatar
WHSeward
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: 29 Dec 2012, 22:16
Location: San Francisco, California, USA
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1633)
All-game rating: (1647)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: If I move into Spain in the spring and vacate it in the

Postby RichardListens » 22 Sep 2017, 18:24

Thank you. I get that, but that didn't happen in our current game, so I don't understand how in the current game 134082 France gets Spain.
Aspiring Classicist
RichardListens
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 Aug 2017, 08:57
Location: UK
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1079)
All-game rating: (1036)
Timezone: GMT

Re: If I move into Spain in the spring and vacate it in the

Postby WHSeward » 22 Sep 2017, 18:48

I don't know what you are looking at. Here are France's orders for F01 in that game:

FRANCE
Spain MOVE Portugal -> resolved
Burgundy MOVE Belgium -> resolved
Mid-Atlantic Ocean MOVE Spain (South Coast) -> resolved

Why don't you think a fleet is in Spain in this game?
"As a general truth, communities prosper and flourish, or droop and decline, in just the degree that they practice or neglect to practice the primary duties of justice and humanity." WHS

A member of the Classicists.

Ask me about mentor games. Send me a PM or post in the Mentoring forum.
User avatar
WHSeward
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: 29 Dec 2012, 22:16
Location: San Francisco, California, USA
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1633)
All-game rating: (1647)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: If I move into Spain in the spring and vacate it in the

Postby RichardListens » 22 Sep 2017, 19:21

I am sorry. Perhaps my question wasn't clear.

In my current game I have a query re Spain and it is this:

I'm currently playing in 134082 Here We Go Again II

France took Spain in the Spring 1901 and in the Fall moved into Portugal. Now by my understanding he should not have gained Spain as a Supply Centre. Yet on the status drop down list it shows him controlling 6 centres which would have to include Spain. This means it looks like he gets 3 builds yet as I understand it he should only get two.

Would it be possible for you or someone to look at our current game and tell me if I am missing something.

Thank you
Aspiring Classicist
RichardListens
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 Aug 2017, 08:57
Location: UK
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1079)
All-game rating: (1036)
Timezone: GMT

Re: If I move into Spain in the spring and vacate it in the

Postby WHSeward » 22 Sep 2017, 19:30

Richard, I just cut and paste France's orders from 134082. Did you see the order for France's fleet? The fleet captured Spain, not the army.
"As a general truth, communities prosper and flourish, or droop and decline, in just the degree that they practice or neglect to practice the primary duties of justice and humanity." WHS

A member of the Classicists.

Ask me about mentor games. Send me a PM or post in the Mentoring forum.
User avatar
WHSeward
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2994
Joined: 29 Dec 2012, 22:16
Location: San Francisco, California, USA
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1633)
All-game rating: (1647)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: If I move into Spain in the spring and vacate it in the

Postby RichardListens » 23 Sep 2017, 00:18

Thank you. I now feel foolish. I didn't look at the orders but looked at the map and thought the F was in the Western Med not the South Coast of Spain.

I appreciate your patience.

Thanks
Aspiring Classicist
RichardListens
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 06 Aug 2017, 08:57
Location: UK
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1079)
All-game rating: (1036)
Timezone: GMT

Next

Return to Regular Rules Issues Explained

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron