Page 4 of 4

Re: Diplomacy Rules FAQ

PostPosted: 05 Sep 2009, 04:53
by rick.leeds
It isn't that long ago when I had a similar discussion with a guy who said Sweden should have two coasts because of the land link between Den and Swe (http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=7671&st=0&sk=t&sd=a). To cut out the debate the Rules say: The common border with Denmark does NOT separate the coast of Sweden into two coastlines.

One other thing:

TheRedArmy wrote:A fleet may move to Sweden if it is in any of the following territories...

Denmark
Baltic Sea
Gulf of Bothnia
Finland
St. Petersburg (north coast)

Not St Petersburg(nc) - you're thinking of Norway. Yes, Sweden is accessible from Den, BAL, GOB, & Fin but also from Skaggerak and, as discussed above, Norway. Can't forget SKA ;)

Re: Diplomacy Rules FAQ

PostPosted: 27 Sep 2009, 17:44
by gd2677
Hi all

Is there a date deadline for the game or does it carry on until someone wins?

Re: Diplomacy Rules FAQ

PostPosted: 27 Sep 2009, 20:53
by detroit_red
gd2677 wrote:Hi all

Is there a date deadline for the game or does it carry on until someone wins?


Games end when either a draw is accepted by all surviving players, or one player wins by controlling 18 or more centers. There is no predetermined deadline year.

Re: Diplomacy Rules FAQ

PostPosted: 03 Oct 2009, 21:21
by djwhite
I've played diplomacy several times, but never online, so this is new to me.

First: Is it common for other players to miss turns? This happened in a few of my games and it's really annoying.

Second: If a person is forced to retreat but doesn't post a retreat order, is the unit destroyed or is it automatically moved? If so, where?

Re: Diplomacy Rules FAQ

PostPosted: 03 Oct 2009, 21:36
by detroit_red
djwhite wrote:I've played diplomacy several times, but never online, so this is new to me.

First: Is it common for other players to miss turns? This happened in a few of my games and it's really annoying.

Second: If a person is forced to retreat but doesn't post a retreat order, is the unit destroyed or is it automatically moved? If so, where?


1.) In open games with unknown players, it's unfortunately very common, particularly in games with shorter deadlines. Choosing to play games with players of known reliability and reputation is really the only workaround for this. Looking for games advertised on these forums is a good start.

2.) A unit that is not given a retreat order is automatically destroyed.

Re: Diplomacy Rules FAQ

PostPosted: 25 Nov 2009, 18:53
by rick.leeds
Hi all,

This topic is now being locked. If you have any questions that you can't see the answer to here, please check the other threads and/or post a new topic in the forum.

Cheers.