Page 4 of 5

Re: Quick Guide: Surrenders, Draws and Victories

PostPosted: 07 Feb 2013, 14:07
by senorita21
I am in a game where I offered several draw proposals combining different countries. Finally, I offered a draw for Turkey, Austria and France (me). Austria accepted. Turkey accepted. Turkey then surrendered but the acceptance of the draw came first. What is going to happen?

Re: Quick Guide: Surrenders, Draws and Victories

PostPosted: 08 Feb 2013, 01:02
by jaelis
I assume that not everyone has accepted the draw, otherwise the game would be over and you would know what happens. I think the issue is, what is Turkey's result if the draw is accepted? Since he has surrendered, it will count as a loss.

Re: Quick Guide: Surrenders, Draws and Victories

PostPosted: 14 Feb 2013, 22:35
by Petunia
EDITed for derpitude. Nothing to see here - please carry on.

Re: Quick Guide: Surrenders, Draws and Victories

PostPosted: 15 Feb 2013, 00:48
by asudevil
Petunia wrote:Also worth noting that, as I understand it, only one draw proposal is considered 'active' at a time, so once you submit another proposal the preceding proposal cannot be voted on.


Not true to the best of my knowledge.

Re: Quick Guide: Surrenders, Draws and Victories

PostPosted: 15 Feb 2013, 01:55
by Petunia
Just went to go test and soon realized I can't vote on my own proposals, so I got myself nowhere!

EDIT: Right you are. No idea why I ever thought that. Revising.

Re: Quick Guide: Surrenders, Draws and Victories

PostPosted: 17 May 2016, 21:13
by TheFlagMan
There are two players left in a three player game. How many supply centers do i need to win. Is it 18 centers in one of my country's or 36!

Re: Quick Guide: Surrenders, Draws and Victories

PostPosted: 18 May 2016, 01:57
by asudevil
TheFlagMan wrote:There are two players left in a three player game. How many supply centers do i need to win. Is it 18 centers in one of my country's or 36!


18 by one.

Re: Quick Guide: Surrenders, Draws and Victories

PostPosted: 30 Aug 2016, 23:07
by JonS
Question here on adjudication - how do we think playdip rules engine handles this situation?

Spring turn: Country completes orders that lead to occupying 18 plus SCs.
Fall turn: That player surrenders and is not replaced.
Fall adjudication: the surrendered nation has 18 plus SCs

What would happen then? Just curious. Would the game continue since no PLAYER in the game has 18 centers? And if someone took over the surrendered position during the Fall Build adjudication would they win upon conclusion of the build turn?

I get that this is a dumb weird fringe question on adjudication.

Re: Quick Guide: Surrenders, Draws and Victories

PostPosted: 30 Aug 2016, 23:44
by WHSeward
Jon, you are weird.

Next time you are at 18SCs, surrender and find out.

(My bet is that play continues as no active power has 18, and anyone taking the position would get the solo, but that depends on code's order of operations and who the heck knows or cares how such a case as this is actually coded!)

Re: Quick Guide: Surrenders, Draws and Victories

PostPosted: 31 Aug 2016, 00:13
by Alman
JonS, this is actually a very simple question to answer, though I'm not surprised that not many players on the site know the protocol for this situation since it is buried deep in the site terms and so rarely has to be activated.

If a player surrenders after securing 18 or more SC's but before the Fall Build phase when he (or she) would be declared winner, an email is generated which goes out to the top 5 players on this site, including powerhouse names like gsmx and charliep007 and other stalwarts of the site.
Upon receiving this email, which contains all the needed and relevant information, the 5 then travel immediately to the surrendered players house. All five, by contract, will arrive there 24 hours after the surrender.
They then burn the house to the ground, sow the property with salt, tie the offending player to a chair and make him watch 14 hours of Jim Carey's 'The Cable Guy'. (no player has actually lasted 14 hours, usually chewing their face off after 6 hours.)
Simultaneous to this, the persons account is not only deleted, but super_dipsy activates one of his botnets and the player is erased from the internet.

Finally, one of the 5 player enforcers picks up the surrendered position (with a shield in place, you can never be too careful), and finishes out the victory as God intended.

Hope this helped clear this up. Sorry I don't have more time to answer. You'd really be interested in learning what happens when people ask incredibly obscure and contrived rules questions. That procedure's pretty cool too, but then, I guess you'll know soon enough anyway....... say 'hi' to WHS when you see him...... ;)

The reason I don't have time to explain more is that I have less than 24 hours to catch a flight. I'm looking forward to seeing my fellow Mods.