Page 5 of 6

Watching game?

PostPosted: 29 Apr 2010, 16:02
by jballou
Can I watch a game that you needed a password to join?

Re: Diplomacy FAQ

PostPosted: 29 Apr 2010, 16:19
by jstott
Pretty sure you can.

Re: Diplomacy FAQ

PostPosted: 13 May 2010, 08:02
by Pedros
Certainly you can

Re: Diplomacy FAQ

PostPosted: 23 Jun 2010, 11:50
by Dorussio
I am kind of new, so please escuse my following question: Can i enter from Denmark directly in to Sweeden? I seems to be a see between them, but it's not mentioned wich see it is, so i figured it may be a passage way from the continent to Sweeden. Am i right? And if so, can i enter from the baltic in to the north se e from that passage?
Are there any provinces with the same problem i described?
For exemple, with a fleet from Denmark, can i enter Sweeden?
Thank you very much

Re: Diplomacy FAQ

PostPosted: 23 Jun 2010, 15:11
by VGhost
Dorussio wrote:I am kind of new, so please escuse my following question: Can i enter from Denmark directly in to Sweeden? I seems to be a see between them, but it's not mentioned wich see it is, so i figured it may be a passage way from the continent to Sweeden. Am i right? And if so, can i enter from the baltic in to the north se e from that passage?
Are there any provinces with the same problem i described?
For exemple, with a fleet from Denmark, can i enter Sweeden?
Thank you very much


Yes, Denmark and Sweden are connected. You can go from Denmark to Sweden with either an army or a fleet (but both Denmark and Sweden have only one coast apiece).

Re: Diplomacy FAQ

PostPosted: 23 Jun 2010, 15:31
by Dorussio
Thanks mate. I would like to play more games, but i'm in pending for a long while now.
What happens if i refuse to backstab my allye in order to win the game? What is the difference between ending first and second? In points i meen.

Re: Diplomacy FAQ

PostPosted: 23 Jun 2010, 15:51
by QueenOfHearts
Dorussio wrote:Thanks mate. I would like to play more games, but i'm in pending for a long while now.
What happens if i refuse to backstab my allye in order to win the game? What is the difference between ending first and second? In points i meen.

If you stick with your ally to the end, and you claim a 2 way draw, you both receive 6 points. But if you reach 18 supply centers alone, you will receive 12 points.

Re: Diplomacy FAQ

PostPosted: 23 Jun 2010, 18:33
by Pedros
Hi Dorussio. You asked about Baltic as well. From the Baltic you have to enter Denmark or Sweden if you want to get out to Skagerrak and beyond (hope that was your question) Denmark is a province both armies and fleets can move into and then out again in any direction. The only similar places are Constantinople and Kiel - fleets can enter on one coast and leave on the other, because there are sea passages through them.

And about pending games - if you're fed up of waiting for 7 players then you can always unsubscribe from a game ('unsubscribe' link on the pending games tab); otherwise the game stays there for 30 days and then is cancelled if it still isn't full. Once there are seven players the game moves to the Confirmation stage; at that point you can't unsubscribe, but that stage only lasts for twice the movement phase deadline and then anybody who isn't confirmed is dropped and it goes back to waiting for players - at that point you can unsubscribe again if you want to.

It's worth playing games that are listed in the Games Forum - the players there tend to be more reliable, and they usually fill up pretty quickly.

Re: Diplomacy FAQ

PostPosted: 23 Jun 2010, 19:14
by Dorussio
Thanks Pedro. Indeed, that answears my question. I did not knew the coastal rule. So if i enter Spain from the atlantic, i guess i can't enter the mediteraneean.
Yes, my game is in the confirmation stage, but next time i will follow your advice :D

Re: Diplomacy FAQ

PostPosted: 23 Jun 2010, 23:09
by Dorussio
I have another question, very silly this time. But i need to find out. I believe it is possible to support with an army a fleet that attacks an adiacent province. But is it possible to support with an army a fleet that goes in to an adiacent see?