Diplomacy FAQ

Anything about the Diplomacy game in general.

Watching game?

Postby jballou » 29 Apr 2010, 16:02

Can I watch a game that you needed a password to join?
jballou
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 30 Jan 2008, 21:01
Location: NYC
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Diplomacy FAQ

Postby jstott » 29 Apr 2010, 16:19

Pretty sure you can.
Do you hear the people sing,
Lost in the valley of the night,
It is the music of a people,
Who are climbing to the light,

For the wretched of the earth,
There is a flame that never dies,
Even the darkest night must end,
And the sun will rise
User avatar
jstott
 
Posts: 2879
Joined: 18 Oct 2008, 22:58
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+10

Re: Diplomacy FAQ

Postby Pedros » 13 May 2010, 08:02

Certainly you can
"Sooner or later, one of us will stab the other. But for now we're both better off as allies" (kininvie)
User avatar
Pedros
 
Posts: 12465
Joined: 25 Jan 2009, 12:59
Location: Somewhere full of gorse and brambles, West Cornwall
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1085)
All-game rating: (1314)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Diplomacy FAQ

Postby Dorussio » 23 Jun 2010, 11:50

I am kind of new, so please escuse my following question: Can i enter from Denmark directly in to Sweeden? I seems to be a see between them, but it's not mentioned wich see it is, so i figured it may be a passage way from the continent to Sweeden. Am i right? And if so, can i enter from the baltic in to the north se e from that passage?
Are there any provinces with the same problem i described?
For exemple, with a fleet from Denmark, can i enter Sweeden?
Thank you very much
Now is the winter of our discontent
Made glorious summer by this sun of York;
And all the clouds that lour'd upon our house
In the deep bosom of the ocean buried.
Dorussio
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 07:44
Location: Romania, Bucuresti
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+2

Re: Diplomacy FAQ

Postby GhostEcho » 23 Jun 2010, 15:11

Dorussio wrote:I am kind of new, so please escuse my following question: Can i enter from Denmark directly in to Sweeden? I seems to be a see between them, but it's not mentioned wich see it is, so i figured it may be a passage way from the continent to Sweeden. Am i right? And if so, can i enter from the baltic in to the north se e from that passage?
Are there any provinces with the same problem i described?
For exemple, with a fleet from Denmark, can i enter Sweeden?
Thank you very much


Yes, Denmark and Sweden are connected. You can go from Denmark to Sweden with either an army or a fleet (but both Denmark and Sweden have only one coast apiece).
"When you absolutely don't know what to do any more, then it's time to panic." - Johann van der Wiel
"I'm not panicking, I'm watching you panic. It's more entertaining." - Elli Quinn
"[Diplomacy:] No dice or chance. Just calculated insincerity." - Counter Trap
User avatar
GhostEcho
 
Posts: 1839
Joined: 10 Aug 2008, 04:56
Location: Baltimore
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 995
All-game rating: 979
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Diplomacy FAQ

Postby Dorussio » 23 Jun 2010, 15:31

Thanks mate. I would like to play more games, but i'm in pending for a long while now.
What happens if i refuse to backstab my allye in order to win the game? What is the difference between ending first and second? In points i meen.
Now is the winter of our discontent
Made glorious summer by this sun of York;
And all the clouds that lour'd upon our house
In the deep bosom of the ocean buried.
Dorussio
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 07:44
Location: Romania, Bucuresti
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+2

Re: Diplomacy FAQ

Postby QueenOfHearts » 23 Jun 2010, 15:51

Dorussio wrote:Thanks mate. I would like to play more games, but i'm in pending for a long while now.
What happens if i refuse to backstab my allye in order to win the game? What is the difference between ending first and second? In points i meen.

If you stick with your ally to the end, and you claim a 2 way draw, you both receive 6 points. But if you reach 18 supply centers alone, you will receive 12 points.
`·.„¸¸¸„‹•*˜¨˜°*•›„¸¸¸„.·´QoH`·.„¸¸¸„‹•*˜¨˜°*•›„¸¸¸„.·´
`·.„¸¸¸„‹•*˜¨Always played, never won!˜°*•›„¸¸¸„.·´

Thanks to SidneyKidney for my sexy avatar. It has a copyright on it.
User avatar
QueenOfHearts
Sponsor
Sponsor
 
Posts: 4650
Joined: 18 Jun 2009, 19:44
Location: (F) Mos (sc)
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Diplomacy FAQ

Postby Pedros » 23 Jun 2010, 18:33

Hi Dorussio. You asked about Baltic as well. From the Baltic you have to enter Denmark or Sweden if you want to get out to Skagerrak and beyond (hope that was your question) Denmark is a province both armies and fleets can move into and then out again in any direction. The only similar places are Constantinople and Kiel - fleets can enter on one coast and leave on the other, because there are sea passages through them.

And about pending games - if you're fed up of waiting for 7 players then you can always unsubscribe from a game ('unsubscribe' link on the pending games tab); otherwise the game stays there for 30 days and then is cancelled if it still isn't full. Once there are seven players the game moves to the Confirmation stage; at that point you can't unsubscribe, but that stage only lasts for twice the movement phase deadline and then anybody who isn't confirmed is dropped and it goes back to waiting for players - at that point you can unsubscribe again if you want to.

It's worth playing games that are listed in the Games Forum - the players there tend to be more reliable, and they usually fill up pretty quickly.
"Sooner or later, one of us will stab the other. But for now we're both better off as allies" (kininvie)
User avatar
Pedros
 
Posts: 12465
Joined: 25 Jan 2009, 12:59
Location: Somewhere full of gorse and brambles, West Cornwall
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1085)
All-game rating: (1314)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Diplomacy FAQ

Postby Dorussio » 23 Jun 2010, 19:14

Thanks Pedro. Indeed, that answears my question. I did not knew the coastal rule. So if i enter Spain from the atlantic, i guess i can't enter the mediteraneean.
Yes, my game is in the confirmation stage, but next time i will follow your advice :D
Now is the winter of our discontent
Made glorious summer by this sun of York;
And all the clouds that lour'd upon our house
In the deep bosom of the ocean buried.
Dorussio
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 07:44
Location: Romania, Bucuresti
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+2

Re: Diplomacy FAQ

Postby Dorussio » 23 Jun 2010, 23:09

I have another question, very silly this time. But i need to find out. I believe it is possible to support with an army a fleet that attacks an adiacent province. But is it possible to support with an army a fleet that goes in to an adiacent see?
Now is the winter of our discontent
Made glorious summer by this sun of York;
And all the clouds that lour'd upon our house
In the deep bosom of the ocean buried.
Dorussio
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 07:44
Location: Romania, Bucuresti
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+2

PreviousNext

Return to Diplomacy Lore

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests