Page 2 of 6

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

PostPosted: 16 Jan 2009, 22:23
by SirMaru
Diplomat wrote:See if that clears it up for you.


Okay, that means that if 2 or more players have 18 Supply Centers combined, then they can elect to have a Draw Win. Is that right?

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

PostPosted: 17 Jan 2009, 00:10
by connect4
They can propose a draw, yes. All players living still have to agree for the draw to stick.

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

PostPosted: 17 Jan 2009, 00:57
by Diplomat
better now?

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

PostPosted: 17 Jan 2009, 01:02
by SirMaru
Diplomat wrote:better now?


I get it now. ALL players still alive with units and/or supply centers have to vote for the draw and all share in the rating points for the win. Thus, a player with one unit and one supply center would get the same rating points as another with 14 supply centers. If one player does not vote for the draw, the others would have to wipe him out to get the draw.

That adds a benefit to staying to the end even if much reduced in size to the others.

Thanks.

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

PostPosted: 17 Jan 2009, 01:11
by Diplomat
I've seen a 3 way draw with 1 power at 2 centers, and the other 2 at 16 or so, because the 2 power center (italy in this case) was so pivitol to the standoff that the first person to attack Italy would have lost the game and neither of the larger powers could risk the other player taking him out. The last several turns had BOTH power supporting the poor Italian units to hold in place. Very funny.

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

PostPosted: 16 Feb 2009, 22:58
by lotr_freak
I don't get a nickname....? :cry:

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

PostPosted: 17 Feb 2009, 00:21
by Diplomat
There is no other Lotr to confuse when using Lotr ;)

Now if we all take to calling you Frodo, or DaRing or something, clearly then we need a post for you.

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

PostPosted: 17 Feb 2009, 00:25
by lotr_freak
Diplomat wrote:There is no other Lotr to confuse when using Lotr ;)

Now if we all take to calling you Frodo, or DaRing or something, clearly then we need a post for you.


DaRing? Please don't... I'm fine with just Lotr ;-)

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

PostPosted: 17 Feb 2009, 00:26
by Master Radishes
There's also l_f, but that just looks like a deranged smiley face...

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

PostPosted: 17 Feb 2009, 00:29
by lotr_freak
Master Radishes wrote:There's also l_f, but that just looks like a deranged smiley face...


LOL!

I don't even know what that looks like, but it's kinda disturbing either way. I'll stick with Lotr for now. ;-)