Diplomacy FAQ

Anything about the Diplomacy game in general.

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

Postby SirMaru » 16 Jan 2009, 22:23

Diplomat wrote:See if that clears it up for you.


Okay, that means that if 2 or more players have 18 Supply Centers combined, then they can elect to have a Draw Win. Is that right?
Sir Maru
User avatar
SirMaru
 
Posts: 315
Joined: 08 Jan 2009, 04:06
Location: Connecticut, USA
All-game rating: 6052
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

Postby connect4 » 17 Jan 2009, 00:10

They can propose a draw, yes. All players living still have to agree for the draw to stick.
User avatar
connect4
 
Posts: 3609
Joined: 15 Nov 2008, 23:56
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1042)
All-game rating: (1012)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

Postby Diplomat » 17 Jan 2009, 00:57

better now?
Avatar courtesy of TheCraw. Many Thanks.
User avatar
Diplomat
 
Posts: 4460
Joined: 30 Jan 2008, 23:00
Location: Anytown, CA
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

Postby SirMaru » 17 Jan 2009, 01:02

Diplomat wrote:better now?


I get it now. ALL players still alive with units and/or supply centers have to vote for the draw and all share in the rating points for the win. Thus, a player with one unit and one supply center would get the same rating points as another with 14 supply centers. If one player does not vote for the draw, the others would have to wipe him out to get the draw.

That adds a benefit to staying to the end even if much reduced in size to the others.

Thanks.
Sir Maru
User avatar
SirMaru
 
Posts: 315
Joined: 08 Jan 2009, 04:06
Location: Connecticut, USA
All-game rating: 6052
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

Postby Diplomat » 17 Jan 2009, 01:11

I've seen a 3 way draw with 1 power at 2 centers, and the other 2 at 16 or so, because the 2 power center (italy in this case) was so pivitol to the standoff that the first person to attack Italy would have lost the game and neither of the larger powers could risk the other player taking him out. The last several turns had BOTH power supporting the poor Italian units to hold in place. Very funny.
Avatar courtesy of TheCraw. Many Thanks.
User avatar
Diplomat
 
Posts: 4460
Joined: 30 Jan 2008, 23:00
Location: Anytown, CA
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

Postby lotr_freak » 16 Feb 2009, 22:58

I don't get a nickname....? :cry:
"I wish the ring had never come to me. I wish none of this had happened. So do all who live to see such times, but that is not for them to decide. All you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to you."

Gold Member of Classicists
User avatar
lotr_freak
 
Posts: 3342
Joined: 18 Aug 2008, 06:25
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-7

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

Postby Diplomat » 17 Feb 2009, 00:21

There is no other Lotr to confuse when using Lotr ;)

Now if we all take to calling you Frodo, or DaRing or something, clearly then we need a post for you.
Avatar courtesy of TheCraw. Many Thanks.
User avatar
Diplomat
 
Posts: 4460
Joined: 30 Jan 2008, 23:00
Location: Anytown, CA
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

Postby lotr_freak » 17 Feb 2009, 00:25

Diplomat wrote:There is no other Lotr to confuse when using Lotr ;)

Now if we all take to calling you Frodo, or DaRing or something, clearly then we need a post for you.


DaRing? Please don't... I'm fine with just Lotr ;-)
"I wish the ring had never come to me. I wish none of this had happened. So do all who live to see such times, but that is not for them to decide. All you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to you."

Gold Member of Classicists
User avatar
lotr_freak
 
Posts: 3342
Joined: 18 Aug 2008, 06:25
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-7

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

Postby Master Radishes » 17 Feb 2009, 00:26

There's also l_f, but that just looks like a deranged smiley face...
Master Radishes
Premium Member
 
Posts: 5937
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: London
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1000
All-game rating: 1283
Timezone: GMT

Re: Diplomacy Terms FAQ

Postby lotr_freak » 17 Feb 2009, 00:29

Master Radishes wrote:There's also l_f, but that just looks like a deranged smiley face...


LOL!

I don't even know what that looks like, but it's kinda disturbing either way. I'll stick with Lotr for now. ;-)
"I wish the ring had never come to me. I wish none of this had happened. So do all who live to see such times, but that is not for them to decide. All you have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to you."

Gold Member of Classicists
User avatar
lotr_freak
 
Posts: 3342
Joined: 18 Aug 2008, 06:25
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-7

PreviousNext

Return to Diplomacy Lore

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron