World diplomacy? - FULL

GM: DRifteR. 4-way draw - sroca (Ghana), Diplomat (PacRus), Yorkshireman (S Africa), infinity8ball (India)

World diplomacy? - FULL

Postby DRifteR » 17 Jun 2008, 10:40

There's a map variant that's been floating around on this website as a suggestion

http://www.diplom.org/Online/maps/world-v2.gif

It doesn't seem like it can be implemented on this website anytime soon, but we can still play it with a Human Game Manager (GM) - moves submitted and displayed entirely through this forum infrastructure. It's large, 17 players. But we have enough regular people posting now as part of our community. Plus with a larger game there will be different social dynamics and new strategy-tactics with a new map. It will take a week to set up and a month to play, at the very least.

I volunteer to be the GM, or the human judge. But someone else will have to do the map-making, or teach me how. Thoughts?
User avatar
DRifteR
 
Posts: 359
Joined: 21 Mar 2008, 13:04
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: World diplomacy?

Postby Grumpy » 17 Jun 2008, 22:32

Ahhhh - NOW we're talking! :twisted:

Avalanche - pleeeeeeeease!
"First things first, but not necessarily in that order."

The Doctor.
User avatar
Grumpy
 
Posts: 1961
Joined: 04 May 2008, 21:44
Location: Yorkshire (where God drinks proper beer.)
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: World diplomacy?

Postby Grumpy » 17 Jun 2008, 22:33

Supply Centres in Antarctica?

WTF?
"First things first, but not necessarily in that order."

The Doctor.
User avatar
Grumpy
 
Posts: 1961
Joined: 04 May 2008, 21:44
Location: Yorkshire (where God drinks proper beer.)
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: World diplomacy?

Postby Spitfire » 17 Jun 2008, 22:36

Id be really interested in it, but it would require alot of work since we would not have to make the map work in a different way since it wouldnt be done by code. I could possibly do something as a gm, creating each new phase in photoshop and displaying it in the forum. But hey, its alot of work, and we would have to ensure people are REALLY into doing it before starting.
Diplomacy is to break someone's leg and then to say; "Lean on me."
User avatar
Spitfire
 
Posts: 1672
Joined: 12 Feb 2008, 15:34
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: World diplomacy?

Postby Dar Krum » 17 Jun 2008, 23:34

I'd really like to do it. And play this game of World Diplomacy too!!

While I am at it, I had this sort of conversation with the friend who introduced me to Dip many years ago.

"Wouldn't it be cool to introduce air units to this?"

You've all thought it too. How does one do it? There is the rub.
Live a good life. If there are gods and they are just, then they will not care how devout you have been,...If there are gods, but unjust, then you should not want to worship them. If there are no gods,...will have lived a noble life and live on in the memories of your loved ones. - Marcus Aurelius
User avatar
Dar Krum
 
Posts: 5129
Joined: 12 May 2008, 20:58
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1164)
All-game rating: (1115)
Timezone: GMT-4

Re: World diplomacy?

Postby Spitfire » 17 Jun 2008, 23:40

If we do, Id rather not do it with this. Since it looks like this would be complicated enough. Imagine trying to hold press convos with 16 other playerS????
Diplomacy is to break someone's leg and then to say; "Lean on me."
User avatar
Spitfire
 
Posts: 1672
Joined: 12 Feb 2008, 15:34
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: World diplomacy?

Postby DRifteR » 18 Jun 2008, 03:22

Yeah, not here. You'd have to test out air units on the standard board first to work out all that kinks. One thing at a time.

I agree with you Spitfire, this game would take A LOT of work to manage but it would be fun and interesting. We do need 17 willing people though, so if you haven't already replied YES, a quick reply is in order.
User avatar
DRifteR
 
Posts: 359
Joined: 21 Mar 2008, 13:04
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: World diplomacy?

Postby Tommy4ever » 18 Jun 2008, 19:12

I would love to play in this game.
so a YES from me.
This has propably been answered but how long will each turn be and how shall you do selection.

Also I have heard that there is a variant for modern diplomacy involving air units but it is unpopular due to complexities. I can't remember everything about it but the units had a range of a few regions and they could only support moves but not take areas. I can't remember all the rules because there was like a whole page of writing just about using planes and I dont think I even made it to the end.
Tommy4ever
 
Posts: 511
Joined: 01 Jun 2008, 23:39
Location: Edinburgh
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: World diplomacy?

Postby Spitfire » 18 Jun 2008, 19:28

I would suggest, its possible to do selection through Invisible Castle, where the GM, or GM's (as it looks a big job) would make the rolls.

You would first pick out the order of the countries, (1-17) then the players each get a d10000 rolled for them, and from the highest order they are alloted the countries in that order. So if I got the highest role, I would get the country we appointed number one and so on.

Players so far:

Drifter
Grumpy
Spitfire
Dar Krum
Tommy4ever

Drifter, how comfortable would you be creating and modding the map?
Diplomacy is to break someone's leg and then to say; "Lean on me."
User avatar
Spitfire
 
Posts: 1672
Joined: 12 Feb 2008, 15:34
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: World diplomacy?

Postby Tommy4ever » 18 Jun 2008, 20:42

I go on holiday at the end of July will this make it all the way to then?
Tommy4ever
 
Posts: 511
Joined: 01 Jun 2008, 23:39
Location: Edinburgh
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Next

Return to Game 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron