Province not conquered (no bug)

If the judge doesn't behave correctly or you found another problem, report it here!
Forum rules
Bugs
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: viewtopic.php?f=130&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should read the ‘Bugs Forum Guidelines’ thread.
2. In rare situations members have been known to post false bug reports in order to affect the game. This is considered cheating.
3. Please don't post information that might be detrimental to the game, such as revealing the power who sent a message. If further information is required by Admin to investigate the bug, you will be asked to provide it.
If the game a bug may have occurred in is anonymous, including Gunboat and Public Press Only, it is best to send a Private Message to the SITE HELP! group or to post using the Dolph Shtoss account rather than break anonymity.

Province not conquered (no bug)

Postby Dolph Shtoss » 22 Oct 2018, 15:19

Hello,

A province seems stuck in the game 'What passing bells for those who die as cattle?', game #148050. It significantly affects the game and it would be great if the bug could be fixed before the build is lost (or the game paused for now).

In the build phase, Beograd is conquered by Russia, references that russia army, but the province somehow stays under Yugoslavia's ownership. The build is thus not available. It significantly affects the late game possible outcome.

Happy to send screenshots if needs be! It would be great if the game could be paused until the bug is fixed - in case I am not mistaken of course!

Thank you!
Use me, don't abuse me.
If I have PMs, don't open them unless you expect to see them!
User avatar
Dolph Shtoss
 
Posts: 827
Joined: 31 Aug 2011, 17:28
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Province not conquered

Postby Charleroi » 22 Oct 2018, 15:46

Charleroi
 
Posts: 126
Joined: 07 Jan 2016, 05:39
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1577
All-game rating: 1648
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Province not conquered

Postby Charleroi » 22 Oct 2018, 15:48

Specifically:

Major / minor power operation
Each player controls a major and a minor power. These two countries are operated by the player independently, with their own messages and shoutbox posting, colour scheme and home SCs. Players switch between their major and minor countries to operate each one. Be careful; you may have read all your messages received by one power, but that does not mean your other powers has not got unread messages. Your major and minor can attack each other, support attacks on each other, cut each other's supports, dislodge each other and capture SCs from each other, except for the special case of national centres...

National supply centres
This exception case overrides the previous statement about one power capturing SCs from its partner. If one power conquers one of its partner's national SCs (assessed at the end of the Fall move as usual), it does NOT take ownership of it. In variant versions, 'national SC' is taken to mean the starting positions(s) of a country's units. There are two situations here depending on who owns the partner national centre at the time. If the SC is owned at the time by the partner power, then nothing happens; the SC remains under the partner's ownership and does not change hands. if instead the SC is currently owned by an enemy power, ownership is transferred (or perhaps more appropriately, returned) to the partner power. So for example Sweden's national centre is Stockholm. If Sweden is partnered with Britain, currently owns Stockholm and Britain has a unit in Stockholm at the end of the Fall move, Stockholm remains in all senses a Swedish centre and does not count towards the British centre count. If instead Stockholm were in German hands but was conquered by the British, at the end of the Fall move ownership of the centre would transfer not to Britain but to Sweden, adding to the Swedish centre count. Note that this rule applies whether it is a Major conquering its associated minor national centre or vice versa. Also note that conquering one of your partner national centres will immediately expose the identity of your major / minor pair since as soon as the SC does not change hands it will be obvious to all, so be careful!

Destroy / Build special case
There is a special case in the Build Phase. Because of the previous circumstance, it is possible for one country to have a unit on one of its partner's SCs even though that SC is owned by the partner. In the previous example, for instance, if Britain liberated Stockholm from Germany, there would be a British unit on Stockholm even though it is now actually owned by Sweden. In most cases this will mean Sweden cannot build a unit on that SC, because of course it is occupied. But if Britain is due to destroy a unit and Sweden is allowed to build a unit, special dispensation is given to allow the player to destroy the unit in Stockholm and then immediately build a Swedish unit there (assuming Sweden is allowed a build).
Charleroi
 
Posts: 126
Joined: 07 Jan 2016, 05:39
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1577
All-game rating: 1648
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Province not conquered

Postby super_dipsy » 22 Oct 2018, 19:28

Yep, not a bug, just a case of perhaps not understanding the rules properly
User avatar
super_dipsy
Premium Member
 
Posts: 12068
Joined: 04 Nov 2009, 17:43
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1000
All-game rating: 931
Timezone: GMT


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest