Attacking an attacking unit.

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Attacking an attacking unit.

Postby djthomas73 » 07 Feb 2008, 07:28

If I attack a unit that is attacking another unit does my unit break the other attack?

For example:

IF Sevestapool attacks Rumania while Rumania was trying to attack Budapest is the attack on Rumania broken?
djthomas73
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Attacking an attacking unit.

Postby mdmuff » 07 Feb 2008, 15:08

No. It would only be broken if your attack was supported and the unit was dislodged from position.
Don't argue with an idiot; people watching may not be able to tell the difference.

Ham & Eggs: A days work for a chicken; a lifetime commitment for a pig.
User avatar
mdmuff
 
Posts: 917
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Attacking an attacking unit.

Postby behnam » 07 Feb 2008, 17:34

mdmuff wrote:No. It would only be broken if your attack was supported and the unit was dislodged from position.


I don't think that's true. Even if Rumania was "dislodged", if its attack on Budapest went through, then it would move to Budapest.

You can't "cut" an attack like you can cut a support.
nil desperandum ; sempre vincenti

Image
Image
User avatar
behnam
 
Posts: 396
Joined: 30 Jan 2008, 22:10
Location: Dubai
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (975)
All-game rating: (978)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Attacking an attacking unit.

Postby mdmuff » 07 Feb 2008, 17:45

behnam wrote:
mdmuff wrote:No. It would only be broken if your attack was supported and the unit was dislodged from position.


I don't think that's true. Even if Rumania was "dislodged", if its attack on Budapest went through, then it would move to Budapest.

You can't "cut" an attack like you can cut a support.


I was assuming Budapest was occupied. If the movement (attack) was uncontested, then the movements would go through, you are right. I was looking at this as a bounced movement.
Don't argue with an idiot; people watching may not be able to tell the difference.

Ham & Eggs: A days work for a chicken; a lifetime commitment for a pig.
User avatar
mdmuff
 
Posts: 917
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests