Scandinavian Fleet movements

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Scandinavian Fleet movements

Postby GenHensley » 06 Feb 2008, 22:28

Question: If there were a fleet in Bot and moved to Swe, next turn can it move to Nwy, and then to the Nrg the next turn? I've had disagreements about that in the past and this is the first time I've been able to ask people who have real experience.
GenHensley
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 03 Feb 2008, 02:29
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Scandinavian Fleet movements

Postby Master Radishes » 07 Feb 2008, 02:07

First, to clarify the abbreviations - Bot means Gulf of Bothnia, right? And Nrg I'm assuming means Norwegian Sea? Not that it matters because yes, you can move to any adjacent coastal or sea territory. I don't see why someone would think you couldn't.
Master Radishes
 
Posts: 6206
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: London
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1071)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Scandinavian Fleet movements

Postby Haircut » 02 Apr 2008, 17:05

Maybe because there are two seas and a country in between. A fleet should not be allowed to move across land like that.
Haircut
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 28 Mar 2008, 21:57
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Scandinavian Fleet movements

Postby behnam » 02 Apr 2008, 19:41

Haircut wrote:Maybe because there are two seas and a country in between. A fleet should not be allowed to move across land like that.


It's moving along coastal territories...so I don't see why it not...It's not jumping across any land...
nil desperandum ; sempre vincenti

Image
Image
User avatar
behnam
 
Posts: 396
Joined: 30 Jan 2008, 22:10
Location: Dubai
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (975)
All-game rating: (978)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Scandinavian Fleet movements

Postby mdmuff » 02 Apr 2008, 22:41

I think they are confusing the Denmark-Sweden border with a land mass (which it is not), there are small islands that connect the two. If Sweden had two seperate coasts, then the movements would need to be different, but since it has one continuous coast, the movements are quite legal.
Don't argue with an idiot; people watching may not be able to tell the difference.

Ham & Eggs: A days work for a chicken; a lifetime commitment for a pig.
User avatar
mdmuff
 
Posts: 917
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Scandinavian Fleet movements

Postby bitwise » 06 Apr 2008, 07:56

Is a fleet move from Skagarak to Baltic possible then, or does one have to go through Sweden or Denmark?
User avatar
bitwise
 
Posts: 1070
Joined: 18 Feb 2008, 14:46
Location: Denmark
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1002)
All-game rating: (1299)
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Scandinavian Fleet movements

Postby Master Radishes » 06 Apr 2008, 08:29

You have to go through Sweden or Denmark.
Master Radishes
 
Posts: 6206
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: London
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1071)
Timezone: GMT


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests