can you convoy Edinboro - Livonia

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

can you convoy Edinboro - Livonia

Postby clagr » 06 Feb 2008, 22:11

I have often wondered about this. Can I as England with fleets in North Sea, Skag, Baltic convoy an army from Edinboro to Livonia.

Since you dont have East coast and West coast of Sweden, it must have water all around it. Does this mean you can pass a fleet from Skag to Baltic in one turn? It cannot be the same as going from Black Sea to the Aegean, but more like going from MAO to WMed. So in the same way you should be able to move fleets through, thus also convoys.

Clagr
clagr
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Class: Ambassador
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: can you convoy Edinboro - Livonia

Postby Master Radishes » 07 Feb 2008, 02:12

No. Denmark is in the way. There may not be separate coasts for Sweden, but you still nonetheless have to go through Sweden or Denmark to reach the sea territories on the opposite side. And you can't convoy through Denmark, as it's in practice a land territory. So no, you can't convoy from Edinburgh to Livonia.
Master Radishes
Premium Member
 
Posts: 6204
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: London
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1071)
Timezone: GMT

Re: can you convoy Edinboro - Livonia

Postby behnam » 07 Feb 2008, 06:02

Master Radishes is correct. Denmark, Kiel, and Constantinople are three territories that do not have separate coasts, meaning that a fleet can move through, but when occupying that territory, they are on land, not in the sea.
nil desperandum ; sempre vincenti

Image
Image
User avatar
behnam
 
Posts: 396
Joined: 30 Jan 2008, 22:10
Location: Dubai
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (975)
All-game rating: (978)
Timezone: GMT

Re: can you convoy Edinboro - Livonia

Postby clagr » 07 Feb 2008, 08:07

Rats!!!
clagr
 
Posts: 24
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Class: Ambassador
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests