I'm surrounded

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

I'm surrounded

Postby Grumpy » 28 May 2008, 20:35

OK, I have occupied a coastal territory with an army, and there are four other countries bordering it.

Three of these countries are occupied by the enemy I just stabbed. He isn't there to give me fluffy bunny hugs. I am going to lose that territory next turn.

The fourth country, however, can be occupied by my enemy's new best friend. (They were at war until I decided it was a good time to stab...)

As I understand it, if I am attacked by three units while another country moves into the only territory I can retreat into, my unit is destroyed.

Please, please someone tell me I am wrong.
"First things first, but not necessarily in that order."

The Doctor.
User avatar
Grumpy
 
Posts: 1961
Joined: 04 May 2008, 21:44
Location: Yorkshire (where God drinks proper beer.)
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: I'm surrounded

Postby EarlOfWessex » 28 May 2008, 20:58

Your Wrong.




just kidding.
the territory doesn't even have to be occupied, just an area of conflict that turn.(bounce)
Who are you?
...................................................................I am the new number two.
Who is number one?
...................................................................you are number 6
I am not a number, I'm a FREE MAN
User avatar
EarlOfWessex
 
Posts: 332
Joined: 12 May 2008, 12:54
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: I'm surrounded

Postby behnam » 29 May 2008, 00:20

If you have nowhere to go...what else do you expect?
nil desperandum ; sempre vincenti

Image
Image
User avatar
behnam
 
Posts: 396
Joined: 30 Jan 2008, 22:10
Location: Dubai
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (975)
All-game rating: (978)
Timezone: GMT

Re: I'm surrounded

Postby dakka » 29 May 2008, 07:53

If the fourth is a SC and it's the fall phase I would move to it hoping for the bounce (and that your enemies don't anticipate it). It's a one turn SC denial for a unit that's on the low road home to Scotland.

If it's not a SC and/or the fall phase then the unit dies for nothing.

dakka
dakka
 
Posts: 245
Joined: 25 Apr 2008, 19:03
Location: Canada
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: I'm surrounded

Postby Grumpy » 29 May 2008, 09:52

I took the position in the first place to gain the SC and (more importantly) deny it to the other country.

There is a way to save the unit though - I can convoy it out. The manoeuvre has partially worked. Just not as well as I had hoped.
"First things first, but not necessarily in that order."

The Doctor.
User avatar
Grumpy
 
Posts: 1961
Joined: 04 May 2008, 21:44
Location: Yorkshire (where God drinks proper beer.)
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests