Question about support

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Question about support

Postby zman » 28 May 2008, 07:23

I have been wondering about this for a day or so now, but if Player A has a fleet in the South Coast of StP, would they be able to support it with another fleet that is in the Barents Sea? I know that if it was an army in StP it would be a valid support, but since a fleet can't get from Bar-StP(SC) would this mean you can't support it?
zman
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 14 May 2008, 13:23
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Question about support

Postby Spitfire » 28 May 2008, 09:43

support it to hoold?

If its to support it to hold, or support a unit to move into it, from the Barents sea, it does not matter if the other unit is in a different coast, as long as the supporting unit can go to the terrirtory in question. As only one unit can be in a country at one time anyway
Diplomacy is to break someone's leg and then to say; "Lean on me."
User avatar
Spitfire
 
Posts: 1672
Joined: 12 Feb 2008, 15:34
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Question about support

Postby Batsman » 28 May 2008, 15:26

Thats correct. Barents Sea can support St Petersburg (SC), but the converse is not true - St Petersburg (SC) cannot support Barents Sea. "If you can move there, you can support there" is always the rule of thumb.
User avatar
Batsman
 
Posts: 258
Joined: 06 Feb 2008, 15:17
Location: Adelaide Australia
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1085)
All-game rating: (1086)
Timezone: GMT+10

Re: Question about support

Postby zman » 28 May 2008, 17:40

Good to hear :D
zman
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 14 May 2008, 13:23
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jay65536 and 3 guests