Just curious...

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Re: Just curious...

Postby Kemsyt » 25 May 2008, 00:15

Don't you win as soon as you get 18 centres?
Life is cruel lad! Why should the afterlife be any different! Dylan Sofa
Kemsyt
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 03 May 2008, 02:44
Location: New Zealand, Tauranga
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+12

Re: Just curious...

Postby Kunclunk » 25 May 2008, 06:29

Kemsyt wrote:Don't you win as soon as you get 18 centres?


It's true. But some players, would like to take it to the limit. Sometimes, they want to see a single color in the map. Sometimes, they just want to have "Smyrna MOVE St. Petersburg -> resolved" in the order history.

And, while they're trying to achieve that, it is possible for them to miss 2 turns in a row and automatically surrendered by the system.

By the way, if you want to know one of these players... look at this
http://www.playdiplomacy.com/game_play.php?game_id=1446
it's been too long since the last time i went solo
User avatar
Kunclunk
 
Posts: 156
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Singapore and Indonesia
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+8

Re: Just curious...

Postby Kemsyt » 25 May 2008, 07:19

It's true. But some players, would like to take it to the limit. Sometimes, they want to see a single color in the map. Sometimes, they just want to have "Smyrna MOVE St. Petersburg -> resolved" in the order history.

Thank you. You learn a new thing every day. I can understand the "Smyrna MOVE St. Petersburg -> resolved" reason (I myself fantasize of doing this), but I feel sorry for the people who want to see a one colour map. Switzerland must drive them nuts!

By the way, if you want to know one of these players... look at this

Wow. Losers. :D
Life is cruel lad! Why should the afterlife be any different! Dylan Sofa
Kemsyt
 
Posts: 45
Joined: 03 May 2008, 02:44
Location: New Zealand, Tauranga
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+12

Re: Just curious...

Postby behnam » 25 May 2008, 10:31

Kunclunk wrote:
I think you need to include the side with the most centers in the draw


I believe that rule was scrapped when the requirement for EVERYONE to accept came into effect. The side with the most centers would simply reject in this case, so no need to require their inclusion.
nil desperandum ; sempre vincenti

Image
Image
User avatar
behnam
 
Posts: 396
Joined: 30 Jan 2008, 22:10
Location: Dubai
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (975)
All-game rating: (978)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Just curious...

Postby Kunclunk » 25 May 2008, 16:58

Kemsyt wrote:Thank you. You learn a new thing every day. I can understand the "Smyrna MOVE St. Petersburg -> resolved" reason (I myself fantasize of doing this), but I feel sorry for the people who want to see a one colour map. Switzerland must drive them nuts!


I think if we use as many support as we have, we can take Switzerland. I'm going to try it. Wish me luck
it's been too long since the last time i went solo
User avatar
Kunclunk
 
Posts: 156
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Singapore and Indonesia
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT+8

Previous

Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests