Convoy Question

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Convoy Question

Postby Diplomat » 21 May 2008, 23:27

In order to break a convoy order, the convoying fleet does not need to be dislodged, only to have been attacked. How about if the convoying fleet has support? Is there any difference?

IE. Italian F-Ion C Tunis to Albania, Italian A-Tun to Alb, Italian F-Adr S F Ion in Ion, Turkish F-Aeg to Ion

I believe the fleet movement/attack breaks up the convoy, despite the support, but I just want to make sure.

Has anyone gotten an answer having tried this in the adjudication of actual orders on this site.
Avatar courtesy of TheCraw. Many Thanks.
User avatar
Diplomat
 
Posts: 4460
Joined: 30 Jan 2008, 23:00
Location: Anytown, CA
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Convoy Question

Postby behnam » 22 May 2008, 00:22

In order to break a convoy order, the convoying fleet MUST be dislodged. It is insufficient to simply attack the fleet.

Page 14 of the official rulebook:

Dislodgment of a fleet in a convoy causes the convoy to
fail. If a Fleet ordered to convoy is dislodged during the turn,
the Army to be convoyed remains in its original province. An
attack on a convoying Fleet, which doesn’t dislodge it, doesn’t
affect the convoy.
nil desperandum ; sempre vincenti

Image
Image
User avatar
behnam
 
Posts: 396
Joined: 30 Jan 2008, 22:10
Location: Dubai
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (975)
All-game rating: (978)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Convoy Question

Postby DRifteR » 27 May 2008, 01:01

I've seen it before on this site, but I don't remember it very well. The result turned out different from the rulebook, because the attack on the fleet broke up the whole convoy and the army didn't move. The next move the guy tried again with something different. He supported the convoying fleet to hold with another fleet (like the orders you gave) and the army moved to where it wanted to go. So in that case the convoy order can be interpreted like a support order that can be cut.

Any similar experiences?

The rulebook quote is correct. But I kinda think this way is fine too. Logically, a ship can only be a transport or a warship, not both. And land troops are not skilled in marine warfare =P
User avatar
DRifteR
 
Posts: 359
Joined: 21 Mar 2008, 13:04
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Convoy Question

Postby Master Radishes » 27 May 2008, 07:12

An unsupported attack on a fleet shouldn't disrupt a convoy at all. If that's happening on the site, it's a bug.
Master Radishes
 
Posts: 6206
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: London
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1071)
Timezone: GMT


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests