Movement clarification question

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Movement clarification question

Postby rayman47 » 09 Dec 2020, 21:18

Say I have a fleet in the Norwegian Sea and a fleet in Norway. I want to move one fleet from Norwegian Sea to Norway and the other from Norway to Skagerak. However, there is an opposing fleet in Sweden that also moves to Norway. Will my moves be successful, or will Norway be unoccupied since my fleet moving in and an enemy fleet moving in would cause a standoff?
rayman47
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 09 Dec 2020, 21:02

Re: Movement clarification question

Postby V » 09 Dec 2020, 21:35

Norway to Skagerrak works fine.
The Norwegian Sea & Sweden units bounce in Norway, which is then vacant at the end of the turn.

Enjoy your Diplomacy, Cheers V
Platinum Classicist
Voilà! In view, a humble vaudevillian veteran cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of Fate. This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is a vestige of the vox populi, now vacant, vanished.
User avatar
V
 
Posts: 812
Joined: 04 May 2014, 21:28
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1769
All-game rating: 1827
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Movement clarification question

Postby Pops2112 » 10 Dec 2020, 18:02

V is of course correct. A variant - if the opposing Fleet in Sweden instead was ordered to Skagerrak, then Norway-Skaggerak bounces, therefore Norwegian Sea-Norway also bounces, and at the end of the phase all three Fleets are where they started.

Welcome to PlayDip, and I hope you enjoy the game and the community.
Proud Oldie & Silver Classicist
User avatar
Pops2112
Premium Member
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 19 Apr 2020, 07:49
Location: England
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1036
All-game rating: 1042
Timezone: GMT


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests