Retreat to block other retreat, even if your retreat is...

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Retreat to block other retreat, even if your retreat is...

Postby Misliplavo » 30 Sep 2020, 22:29

So, retreat to block a retreat, even if your retreat is illegal by itself.

Here is the game, currently in the retreat phase.
Fall 1905, Retreat - game number: 182794
(image below)

Situation:
- Italian Tunis attacked Western Mediterranean
- French West med with support from NA dislodged Tunis

- French GoL attacked Tyrrhenian Sea
- Italian Tyrh sea with support from Tuscany dislodged GoL

The questions:
1. Can France retreat from GoL to Western Mediterranean, since Tunisia attacked that location. The same for Tunisia's retreat to Tyrh.
2. In case the answer above is YES, what would happen if both Tunisia and GoL retreat to Western Mediterranean (having in mind that Tunisia alone cannot retreat there since the attack was coming from that spot)

Image
Against stupidity, Gods themselves contend in vain.
User avatar
Misliplavo
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 24 Jul 2011, 20:13
Location: Lugano
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1523
All-game rating: 1571
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Retreat to block other retreat, even if your retreat is.

Postby Caladrius » 30 Sep 2020, 23:09

Hi Misliplavo

Question 1

GoL can retreat to WMS and Tunis to Tyrrhenian as neither unit was attacked from the space it would be retreating to.

A dislodged unit has no effect on the space that dislodged it so does not prevent another unit moving or retreating there even though it tried to move there itself.

Question 2

GoL would therefore successfully retreat to WMS.

Tunis retreating to WMS is as you say illegal since it was attacked from that space and so cannot block GoL from doing so - indeed if Italy made that (illegal) order the unit would be destroyed.

Hope that helps.
Omnia mundi fumus et umbra

(All in the world is smoke and shadow)

Francesco da Molin


I had a wonderful reason for not merely courting you
I wanted to talk about your eyes
I know nothing about your eyes

Leonard Cohen
User avatar
Caladrius
Premium Member
 
Posts: 163
Joined: 11 Apr 2016, 17:07
Location: Good old Sussex by the sea UK
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1069)
All-game rating: (1077)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Retreat to block other retreat, even if your retreat is.

Postby David E. Cohen » 30 Sep 2020, 23:30

As a general answer to your other question, if two units are legally ordered to retreat to the same province, both are disbanded.
Play every game of Diplomacy as if it will be the last game of Diplomacy you will ever play.
User avatar
David E. Cohen
 
Posts: 490
Joined: 28 Jan 2008, 11:30
Location: Treading the Path to Diplo-Shambhala
Class: Diplomat
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Retreat to block other retreat, even if your retreat is.

Postby Misliplavo » 30 Sep 2020, 23:40

All clear.
Thank you both, and much appreciated :)
Against stupidity, Gods themselves contend in vain.
User avatar
Misliplavo
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 24 Jul 2011, 20:13
Location: Lugano
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1523
All-game rating: 1571
Timezone: GMT+1


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests