Can you cut support for an attack into your own province??

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Can you cut support for an attack into your own province??

Postby NicholasJaxson » 12 Sep 2020, 10:09

I had a situation similar to this:

Germany: A Pic-Bel, A Hol (s) Pic-Bel
France: A Bel-Hol, A Ruh (s) A Bel-Hol, A Bur-Bel

I was surprised that Picardy did not succeed into Belgium. Holland’s support seems to have been cut, but I didn’t think a piece in Bel can cut the support of an attack on itself.

Was this the correct resolution, that Bel-Hol succeeds, but Pic-Bel fails?
NicholasJaxson
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 12 Sep 2020, 10:06

Re: Can you cut support for an attack into your own province

Postby Solar Flare » 12 Sep 2020, 12:23

Yes, because Belgium to Holland had support, and so negated Holland's ability to support the move to Belgium - which bounced because it moved with the force of one, versus France's unit. If Holland had been supported to hold then its own support order would not have been negated, because it wouldn't have been dislodged. In short, if a unit is not dislodged, it can support a move against a unit that is attacking it. If it's dislodged its support is negated.
Solar Flare
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 21 Oct 2015, 10:03
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: 1200
All-game rating: 1147
Timezone: GMT+7

Re: Can you cut support for an attack into your own province

Postby WHSeward » 13 Sep 2020, 01:50

The adjudication is correct, but I find Solar Flare's explanation a little confusing though he is right. The rule covering this case is glossed on our site as:
Game Rules wrote:
20. Dislodged units have no effect on the province where the unit dislodged it came from. Support orders from dislodged units are always cut.


So you are correct, NJ, a unit can't cut a support on an attack against itself just by moving there. (That is rule #19). But in this case, Bel didn't just move to Hol, Bel dislodged Hol. As a result, rule 20 governs and Hol has no effect on Bel (where the attack came from) and Hol's support is always cut (because it was dislodged.)
"As a general truth, communities prosper and flourish, or droop and decline, in just the degree that they practice or neglect to practice the primary duties of justice and humanity." WHS

A member of the Classicists.

Ask me about mentor games. Send me a PM or post in the Mentoring forum.
User avatar
WHSeward
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2992
Joined: 29 Dec 2012, 22:16
Location: San Francisco, California, USA
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1633)
All-game rating: (1647)
Timezone: GMT-8


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests