Am I convoying correctly?

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Am I convoying correctly?

Postby Draconarious » 19 Aug 2020, 00:47

Hey I'm obviously playing diplomacy on the website and wanted to make sure I am inputting my orders correctly for a convoy. I want to use my Fleet in Gulf of Bothnia to convoy Livonia to Sweden. I believe that order would be:

Gulf of Bothnia -- Convoy -- Livonia -- Sweden
Livonia -- Move -- Sweden

The reason I'm uncertain is because it seems more logical that I would use "Move (via convoy)" from Livonia instead (as so:)

Gulf of Bothnia -- Convoy -- Livonia -- Sweden
Livonia -- Move(via convoy) -- Sweden

but when I try to input that order, the Menu based Orders only allow me to select St. Petersburg (as so:)

Gulf of Bothnia -- Convoy -- Livonia -- Sweden
Livonia -- Move(via convoy) -- St. Petersburg

For some reason it's limiting to places the army can move on its own that the convoy is adjacent to.. even though that's the opposite of what convoy is supposed to be for. Is this just a misprogramming? Am I misunderstanding something? Should I stick with my interpretation and order:

Gulf of Bothnia -- Convoy -- Livonia -- Sweden
Livonia -- Move -- Sweden

instead of

Gulf of Bothnia -- Convoy -- Livonia -- Sweden
Livonia -- Move(via convoy) -- St. Petersburg

?
Draconarious
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 13 Aug 2020, 00:53
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (969)
All-game rating: (969)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Am I convoying correctly?

Postby V » 19 Aug 2020, 01:04

You’re fine. The Fleet uses the convoy order with source & destination, while the army uses the move order with the same source & destination.
The reason you have to confirm “via land” or “via convoy” if both are feasible, is that it would make a difference in say a scenario where units are attempting to swop spaces. Liv to StP & StP to Liv is usually a bounce, but not if one is being convoyed.
If there is no feasible way an army could get to the destination via land it’s not necessary to say via convoy, because there’s no other option.

Best Regards V
Platinum Classicist
Voilà! In view, a humble vaudevillian veteran cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of Fate. This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is a vestige of the vox populi, now vacant, vanished.
User avatar
V
 
Posts: 782
Joined: 04 May 2014, 21:28
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1769
All-game rating: 1827
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Am I convoying correctly?

Postby Draconarious » 19 Aug 2020, 02:30

Thank you!
Draconarious
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 13 Aug 2020, 00:53
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (969)
All-game rating: (969)
Timezone: GMT


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests