Page 1 of 1

Advanced Question... Not in the book of rules!

PostPosted: 12 Jul 2020, 16:09
by Kiz Urazgubi
If a unit is supporting another unit, and i attack it (the unit giving support) with a strength of 1 from two different adjacent provinces, thereby creating a stand-off in that province causing my 2 units to remain in their original province, is support cut? Or is it NOT cut because the attack resulted in a stand-off?

Re: Advanced Question... Not in the book of rules!

PostPosted: 12 Jul 2020, 16:14
by Strategus
Cut

Re: Advanced Question... Not in the book of rules!

PostPosted: 12 Jul 2020, 16:16
by Kiz Urazgubi
Thank you, sir, for a very quick answer... I'm just curious though, how do you determine that the support is cut?

Re: Advanced Question... Not in the book of rules!

PostPosted: 12 Jul 2020, 16:28
by Strategus
Kiz Urazgubi wrote:Thank you, sir, for a very quick answer... I'm just curious though, how do you determine that the support is cut?

If the unit is attacked by any unit other than the fact that a unit cannot cut the support of a unit that is attacking it. E. g. a supports b to c, c cannot cut b's support by attacking a.

Re: Advanced Question... Not in the book of rules!

PostPosted: 12 Jul 2020, 16:29
by Strategus
But cutting from two directions guarantees it

Re: Advanced Question... Not in the book of rules!

PostPosted: 12 Jul 2020, 18:04
by adebruyn666
The answer is incomplete. Any attack from a unit A on a unit B cuts the support unit B was giving, except...

1. If unit B supports an attack on unit A.
2. If units A and B belong to the same player (since an attack on your own unit has no effect).

Since it is not clear who own the units A, A', and B, it's not clear what the correct answer is.

But indeed, whether A succeeds, fails, or creates a standoff with unit A', it doesn't change anything to support being cut (or not).

Re: Advanced Question... Not in the book of rules!

PostPosted: 12 Jul 2020, 21:56
by mjparrett
If you are unsure, I suggest using the order resolver feature of the site. Type the game number in and you'll get all the units ready, or you can freestyle your own hypothetical board. Very helpful...

Re: Advanced Question... Not in the book of rules!

PostPosted: 12 Jul 2020, 22:51
by Kiz Urazgubi
It's very interesting, i've never seen this situation before... I'll take it for granted that the support will be cut. For your own entertainment, i just want to say that Russia has an army in Finland and a fleet in Norway (i'm England)... Now it's the Fall, Norway is still mine, but i just captured Sweden and Stp and i want to keep them, and at the same time drive him out of Norway. I have a fleet in SKA, in BAR,in Sweden, and an army in Stp... I'm thinking

F BAR S F SKA-Nwy
F SKA-Nwy

but i need to cut support from Finland in case he attacks Sweden or Stp because i want to keep them, so i can only cut support from Sweden or Stp, but i have to make them both attack Finland, because if support is being given to F Nwy-Swe, for example, Sweden cannot cut support given against it, right? And if he supports F Nwy-Stp, well then it's not A Stp that can cut support, it's F Swe...

Anyways, thank you all for your answers! I'll attack Finland from both directions to make sure that support from Finland is definetly cut...

Kiz Urazgubi (Odin)

Re: Advanced Question... Not in the book of rules!

PostPosted: 12 Jul 2020, 23:24
by WHSeward
FYI, this tactic, two units ordering a self-standoff in an enemy occupied province, has a name: the scissors cut.