Rule clarification on support

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Rule clarification on support

Postby dzaffrann » 30 Apr 2020, 22:17

Can a unit support an attack from the opposite side of the targeted territory? Or does a supporting unit need to be adjacent to the unit it's supporting in addition to the targeted territory?
dzaffrann
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Apr 2020, 04:56
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 942
All-game rating: 943
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Rule clarification on support

Postby V » 30 Apr 2020, 22:32

The unit ordering the support only has to be adjacent to the destination territory, for the move being supported.
The origination territory is not relevant.
Platinum Classicist
Voilà! In view, a humble vaudevillian veteran cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of Fate. This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is a vestige of the vox populi, now vacant, vanished.
V
 
Posts: 738
Joined: 04 May 2014, 21:28
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1778
All-game rating: 1829
Timezone: GMT-7

Re: Rule clarification on support

Postby dzaffrann » 30 Apr 2020, 22:41

Thank you
dzaffrann
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 24 Apr 2020, 04:56
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 942
All-game rating: 943
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Rule clarification on support

Postby Charleroi » 30 Apr 2020, 23:06

The same rule applies even when a DESTINATION province has multiple coasts. The only requirement is that the unit giving support is adjacent to the PROVINCE that is being attacked or supported. The unit giving support does not need to be adjacent to the destination COAST.

So, for example, a fleet in the Aegean can support an attack from the Black Sea to the east coast of Bulgaria. Bulgaria is the destination province and the Aegean is adjacent to Bulgaria so the order is allowed.

By contrast, a fleet in the east coast of Bulgaria cannot give support for an attack from Greece (or anywhere else) into the Aegean. In that case, the Aegean is the destination Province. The east coast of Bulgaria (the home of our unit attempting to give support) is not adjacent to the Aegean. The order fails.
Charleroi
Premium Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: 07 Jan 2016, 05:39
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1554
All-game rating: 1723
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Rule clarification on support

Postby condude1 » 01 May 2020, 01:14

This actually leads to some really interesting defensive opportunities. For example, say England has fleets in the Mid-Atlantic and London, while France has fleets in the North Sea and English Channel.

France realizes that if he ordered ENC s NTH-Lon, NTH-Lon, the English fleet in the Mid-Atlantic can attack the English Channel, cutting the support, and holding London. Instead, he orders the support from the North Sea and the attack from the Channel. That way there's no way for England to defend.

Or so it seems! England, predicting the Frenchman's wiles, orders the fleet in the Mid-Atlantic to support London-English Channel (!). Because now London's attacking with a strength of 2 against the Channel's Strength 2 attack, there's a bounce, and England miraculously holds onto a critical home center for another year! Hurrah!

You'd be surprised how often this scenario comes up. It turns a guaranteed lost center into, at worst, a 50/50.
Telleo wrote:I don't think I've ever met someone who more perfectly embodied Chaotic Neutral than Condude1.


Moderator of the Mafia Subforums!

Silver member of The Classicists!
User avatar
condude1
 
Posts: 7549
Joined: 06 Feb 2013, 03:41
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: (1368)
All-game rating: (1307)
Timezone: GMT-8


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests