Moves that Confuse the Move Calculator?

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Re: Moves that Confuse the Move Calculator?

Postby Charleroi » 22 Apr 2020, 20:18

And, following up on Condude, even if NTH is destroyed, it still cuts the support that Denmark is trying to give.
Charleroi
Premium Member
 
Posts: 154
Joined: 07 Jan 2016, 05:39
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1554
All-game rating: 1723
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Moves that Confuse the Move Calculator?

Postby Shyvve » 22 Apr 2020, 20:27

It's really impossible to resolve these order without knowing the nationality of all units involved.

As to the question of whether Edi can support NTH. Since F NTH was issued a valid move order, it can't receive support in place (should its attempted move bounce). It's interesting to not that if F NTH had been given an illegal move order, that this order would be converted to a Hold order prior to adjudication, thus allowing F Edi s Nth to be valid. Here's an example of that from the Orders Solver:

ENGLAND
North Sea MOVE Baltic Sea -> Illegal order replaced with Hold order
Edinburgh SUPPORT North Sea to HOLD -> resolved

GERMANY
Skagerrack MOVE North Sea -> Bounced
Norway SUPPORT Skagerrack to North Sea -> Supported unit has failed
An Oldie and Gold Classicist. Moderator for the Classicist group.
User avatar
Shyvve
Premium Member
 
Posts: 478
Joined: 31 Dec 2016, 20:10
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: 1313
All-game rating: 1345
Timezone: GMT-6

Previous

Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests