More than one supporting unit

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

More than one supporting unit

Postby Wamshite » 28 Mar 2020, 12:43

Hello.
I am currently enjoying my first game!

I find myself in the position of having the potential of two units (from different sides) supporting me into a third side's territory with their unit in it.

Can I get them to both support me? The area I want to move into could be supported by the third player's second adjacent unit so my question is basically can 3 v 2 or would the additional support be obsolete and the game consider it to just be a 2 v 2 and therefore a standoff with no movement?

I hope that makes a little sense?

Many thanks! :D
Wamshite
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 19 Mar 2020, 14:50

Re: More than one supporting unit

Postby Strategus » 28 Mar 2020, 12:47

You can have as many supports as you can get, and yes they are cumulative, so 3v2 wins
The Devil makes work for idle forces

Better to have fought and lost, than never to have fought at all
Actual Platinum Classicist
I did WDC 2017

UK f2f Champion 2019
Just say "NO!" To carebears and kittens
User avatar
Strategus
Premium Member
 
Posts: 2635
Joined: 30 May 2015, 14:30
Location: England
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1546
All-game rating: 1612
Timezone: GMT

Re: More than one supporting unit

Postby Wamshite » 28 Mar 2020, 13:06

Perfect, thanks Strategus! :D
Wamshite
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 19 Mar 2020, 14:50

Re: More than one supporting unit

Postby UM85 » 28 Mar 2020, 15:36

TheVaccinator:

If you ever wonder how a set of moves will end up, the Orders Solver tab is very helpful. Plug in the various orders and it tells you the result.
UM85
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 19 Jan 2010, 01:44
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1316)
All-game rating: (1318)
Timezone: GMT-6


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests