Supporting convoy

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Supporting convoy

Postby wolf1234 » 20 Dec 2019, 00:58

I convoy an army from Norway to Belgium. Can I support it by a fleet in Holland?
wolf1234
Premium Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 23 Jul 2019, 14:38
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 787
All-game rating: 975
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Supporting convoy

Postby drillbit » 20 Dec 2019, 02:45

Yes, it's always worth running anything you're unsure of through the Orders Solver though. It's a very useful tool.
drillbit
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 23 Apr 2012, 12:16
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1284)
All-game rating: (1458)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Supporting convoy

Postby jay65536 » 20 Dec 2019, 15:59

The fact that you are convoying doesn't change what the rules say about eligible support:

1) If you are trying to support a move, any unit that could move* to the destination province can support that move. So Holland is allowed to support Nwy-Bel, whether Holland is a fleet or army.

2) If you are trying to support a unit in place that is not ordered to move, any unit that could move* to the province that unit is in can support it. So a fleet in Holland is allowed to support the North Sea, because it could have moved there, and the North Sea itself isn't ordered to move.

So in this case the answer to your question is yes, regardless of whether you meant supporting the move or supporting the convoying fleet.

(* - could move without being convoyed)
jay65536
 
Posts: 480
Joined: 10 Sep 2016, 18:13
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1120)
All-game rating: (1126)
Timezone: GMT-5


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron