Bouncing question

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Bouncing question

Postby Putski » 12 Dec 2019, 11:08

I am in Greece, I am in Tripolitania, two fleets.
I want to bounce at Ionian Sea, by ordering Greece => Ionian Sea and Tripolitania => Ionian Sea

However, the fleet in Ionian Sea is of the enemy who has also an army in Tunesia. So he can support Ionian See => Tripolitania. That will succeed.
My question: when he orders like that, will Greece still bounce at Ionian Sea? Or will my fleet at Tripolitania never 'reach' ionian Sea, and will there be no obstacle for Greece for entering that area?
User avatar
Putski
Premium Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: 12 Nov 2010, 10:51
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1000
All-game rating: 1844
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Bouncing question

Postby drillbit » 12 Dec 2019, 14:10

From Page 9 of the downloaded rules:-

A dislodged unit, even with support, has no effect on the province that dislodged it. If two units are ordered to the same province and one of them is dislodged by a unit coming from that province, the other unit can move. This situation does not result in a standoff since the dislodged unit has no effect on the province that dislodged it.

Always worth checking in the order solver though as this site has trouble interpreting some rules correctly.
drillbit
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 23 Apr 2012, 12:16
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1284)
All-game rating: (1458)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Bouncing question

Postby Putski » 12 Dec 2019, 14:26

Thanks, that is helpful.
User avatar
Putski
Premium Member
 
Posts: 115
Joined: 12 Nov 2010, 10:51
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1000
All-game rating: 1844
Timezone: GMT+1


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests