Two nations attacking 1 territory

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Two nations attacking 1 territory

Postby WrathfulVoyager » 05 Dec 2019, 21:12

Tad confused about what would happen in this scenario:

Ok so Austria is attacking Budapest with Vienna and Galicia is supporting. In Budapest is a lone Italian unit with no supports (It is holding). Turkey is also attacking Serbia with Rumania and Serbia is supporting. Assuming all support orders aren't cut, what happens? Is Italy dislodged and Austria and Turkey bounce? Does everyone just end up holding?
WrathfulVoyager
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 07 Jun 2018, 18:11
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1000)
All-game rating: (1000)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Two nations attacking 1 territory

Postby Josey Wales » 05 Dec 2019, 21:21

When two countries attack a particular spot with the same force, there is a bounce. The fact that Luigi is quietly minding his own business cooking pasta as shells whistle over his head doesn't change the dynamic, he just thanks his lucky stars to be given a chance to negotiate with one of the belligerents. Luigi stays put, the other bounce.

Someone can quote the exact rule(s) that govern here to be helpful.
If you are gonna fight, then fight like you are the third monkey on the ramp to Noah's ark … and brother, it just started to rain

Aspiring Classicist, Certified SPAM ABASSADOR, with a STAR
User avatar
Josey Wales
Premium Member
 
Posts: 136
Joined: 25 Mar 2018, 09:30
Location: Down Under
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1103
All-game rating: 1140
Timezone: GMT-8

Re: Two nations attacking 1 territory

Postby Woolgie » 05 Dec 2019, 21:22

They do bounce as they both have a force of three units and Italy gets to stay in Budapest.

https://www.wizards.com/avalonhill/rules/diplomacy.pdf

From rule diagram 10
A stand-off does not dislodge a unit in the territory where a standoff occurred.
Jon Stark in Diplomacy of Ice and Fire III - Winter is coming
GMing my Star Wars variant
Still proud of my solo in Versailles Fog Chaos
Woolgie
Premium Member
 
Posts: 251
Joined: 15 Feb 2016, 19:43
Location: Chesterfield, UK
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1058
All-game rating: 951
Timezone: GMT

Re: Two nations attacking 1 territory

Postby UM85 » 06 Dec 2019, 03:39

While a tad cumbersome to use, the Order Solver tab gives PlayDip players the chance to figure out how any attack would resolve.
UM85
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 19 Jan 2010, 01:44
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (1316)
All-game rating: (1318)
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Two nations attacking 1 territory

Postby jay65536 » 06 Dec 2019, 14:52

Potentially helpful: the only possible way one unit can be dislodged is if another is moving into its territory.

In your example, if no one else can successfully enter Budapest, then any unit already there gets to stay.

In the rulebook, this is called the "Beleaguered Garrison" rule.
jay65536
 
Posts: 480
Joined: 10 Sep 2016, 18:13
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: (1120)
All-game rating: (1126)
Timezone: GMT-5


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Icecream Guy and 2 guests