Super Pastis Scoring System Question

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Super Pastis Scoring System Question

Postby dib » 17 Sep 2019, 00:05

Hi

I wonder if anyone can help

We are running the super pastis scoring system which just figuring out

http://www.world-diplomacy-database.com ... _scoring=1

In Example A where there is a single leader.
Germany and Italy score 6 bonus points for being within 2 centres.

Is this what should be deducted from the winning bonus.

So if they were within once centre the deduction would be 12. So it should read

- The player with the top score get a bonus of 51 points minus the second highest BONUS point score in the game.

Here it is

Country Nb centres Score
Austia 4 c. 10+8=18
England 0 c. (1906) 6+0=6
France 9 c. 10+18+(51-6)=73
Germany 7 c. 10+14+(6)=30
Italy 7 c. 10+14+(6)=30
Russia 3 c. 10+6=16
Turkey 4 c. 10+8=18
Total 34 c. 191

Dib
Last edited by dib on 17 Sep 2019, 00:26, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
dib
 
Posts: 332
Joined: 15 Sep 2008, 14:56
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1824
All-game rating: 1942
Timezone: GMT

Re: Super Pastis Scoring System Question

Postby Shyvve » 17 Sep 2019, 00:22

That's how I understood the examples to read too, Dib. Deduct the second highest bonus score from the leader(s) bonus score.
An Oldie and Gold Classicist. Moderator for the Classicist group.
User avatar
Shyvve
Premium Member
 
Posts: 387
Joined: 31 Dec 2016, 20:10
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1339
All-game rating: 1369
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Super Pastis Scoring System Question

Postby Groo » 17 Sep 2019, 09:35

I don't think it should read bonus...maybe I'm wrong.

51 points minus the second highest point score in the game.

That would mean France gets 10+18+(51-30)=49

EDIT: I see that there are examples below now...
Your first example:
Code: Select all
Austia   4 c.   10+8=18
England   0 c. (1906)   6+0=6
France   9 c.   10+18+(51-6)=73
Germany   7 c.   10+14+(6)=30
Italy   7 c.   10+14+(6)=30
Russia   3 c.   10+6=16
Turkey   4 c.   10+8=18
Total   34 c.   191

and this one:
Code: Select all
Austria   5 c.   10+10+(3)/2=21.5
England   8 c.   10+16+(48)/2=50
France   4 c.   10+8=18
Germany   5 c.   10+10+(3)/2=21.5
Italy   3 c.   10+6=16
Russia   1 c.   10+2=12
Turkey   8 c.   10+16+(48)/2=50
Total   34 c.   189


So, you're telling a tie at 11 dots is worse (56 points) than being a leader at 8 points and a runner-up at 7 points. (that would be 10+16+(51-12)=65 That's crap :P

Edit 2:
To prove my point, tie at 17 (so basically a duo) is 68 points, and being first at 9 like in example nr 1 above (which might as well end in a 6-way draw) is 73. I think something is wrong there...
"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need."

Cornubia in Heptarchy 14 - 3WD
Front Range in Emergence - 3WD
Holland in Colonial 7 - 3WD
House Baratheon in Diplomacy of Ice and Fire - Mad King SOLO
Mexico in WiTA 7 - stabbed to death
Thebes in Greek City States IV
User avatar
Groo
Premium Member
 
Posts: 220
Joined: 14 Nov 2016, 18:13
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1621
All-game rating: 1786
Timezone: GMT

Re: Super Pastis Scoring System Question

Postby dib » 17 Sep 2019, 20:20

Thanks Shy

***

But by your logic Groo

France gets less for winning in example A 49 points

Than England and Turkey do for getting for drawing 50 points

***
As to the second point
The scoring system may reward a win more than a tie and this may be unfair but I just want to know what it is saying.

***

Anyone else have a view on what it is actually saying?
User avatar
dib
 
Posts: 332
Joined: 15 Sep 2008, 14:56
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1824
All-game rating: 1942
Timezone: GMT

Re: Super Pastis Scoring System Question

Postby Groo » 18 Sep 2019, 15:20

dib wrote:But by your logic Groo

France gets less for winning in example A 49 points

Than England and Turkey do for getting for drawing 50 points

***
As to the second point
The scoring system may reward a win more than a tie and this may be unfair but I just want to know what it is saying.

***

Yeah, fair point. I guess super pastis heavily rewards the board leader, no matter on how many dots. That might be "unfair" in some cases, but I think I can understand why it is used in high-level tournaments with time (game year) limit.
"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need."

Cornubia in Heptarchy 14 - 3WD
Front Range in Emergence - 3WD
Holland in Colonial 7 - 3WD
House Baratheon in Diplomacy of Ice and Fire - Mad King SOLO
Mexico in WiTA 7 - stabbed to death
Thebes in Greek City States IV
User avatar
Groo
Premium Member
 
Posts: 220
Joined: 14 Nov 2016, 18:13
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1621
All-game rating: 1786
Timezone: GMT

Re: Super Pastis Scoring System Question

Postby Jensen » 23 Sep 2019, 04:39

The way I interpret the intent of the scoring system is that firstly there is a base score calculated purely on total sc count and secondly there is a bonus score calculated solely on relative position to the board leader(s). Hence, the board leader's bonus should be 51 - second place getter's bonus. If you used the second place getters base score as well, then total sc count would affect bonus which I do not believe is the intent.

For an illustrative example of how the alternative would not work, look at a 17-16-1 result. Player on 16 scs gets 54 points (12 point bonus) in total so the board leader's bonus would be -3 which is more of a penalty than a bonus. They would then be motivated to tie rather than lead. Using my interpretation, the board leader's bonus would be 39. This is the same bonus as a 13-12-9 result because the relative difference in SC count is the same.

Furthermore, based on the way the bonuses are described, I interpret the intent to be that outright win and win by a greater margin is rewarded over a tie. Hence a result were 8 centres beating 7 centres gets a higher bonus than 16-16 tie is completely consistent with this philosophy. Player on 8 is rewarded for keeping their nose in front of the player with 7 which might be quite difficult when there are 19 other scs up for grabs. Meanwhile the players drawn on 16 have elimated at least 3 opponents and still counted muster an outright lead so perhaps are duly penalised by having to share the bonus.
Jensen
 
Posts: 40
Joined: 09 Mar 2011, 11:59
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1444
All-game rating: 1448
Timezone: GMT


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest