Fog Question

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Fog Question

Postby Phlegmatic » 08 Aug 2019, 20:17

In the Fog, does the Status tab show that a power has been eliminated, or does that remain secret too?
Phlegmatic
Premium Member
 
Posts: 97
Joined: 18 Jul 2018, 16:50
Location: Cheshire, UK
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1214
All-game rating: 1261
Timezone: GMT

Re: Fog Question

Postby NoPunIn10Did » 08 Aug 2019, 20:32

Phlegmatic wrote:In the Fog, does the Status tab show that a power has been eliminated, or does that remain secret too?

It tends to remain secret. You'll sometimes see that someone surrendered in the public press.
NoPunIn10Did
Lead Volunteer Developer

Forum Administrator

Variant GM & Designer
User avatar
NoPunIn10Did
Premium Member
 
Posts: 2424
Joined: 17 Aug 2011, 00:17
Location: North Carolina
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1000
All-game rating: 1501
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Fog Question

Postby Putski » 08 Aug 2019, 20:48

I think that is not true. An eliminated power is grey in the status. A surrendered country which is still alive keeps active in the status tab.
User avatar
Putski
Premium Member
 
Posts: 107
Joined: 12 Nov 2010, 10:51
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1000
All-game rating: 2056
Timezone: GMT+1

Re: Fog Question

Postby NoPunIn10Did » 08 Aug 2019, 21:51

Putski wrote:I think that is not true. An eliminated power is grey in the status. A surrendered country which is still alive keeps active in the status tab.

But there is a message in the Public Press that states when a player has "auto_surrendered", like when they NMR too many times.
NoPunIn10Did
Lead Volunteer Developer

Forum Administrator

Variant GM & Designer
User avatar
NoPunIn10Did
Premium Member
 
Posts: 2424
Joined: 17 Aug 2011, 00:17
Location: North Carolina
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1000
All-game rating: 1501
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Fog Question

Postby Phlegmatic » 08 Aug 2019, 23:11

It was the greyed status I was mostly thinking of, but good to know about the PP too. Thanks guys :)
Phlegmatic
Premium Member
 
Posts: 97
Joined: 18 Jul 2018, 16:50
Location: Cheshire, UK
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1214
All-game rating: 1261
Timezone: GMT

Re: Fog Question

Postby ColonelApricot » 08 Aug 2019, 23:26

In the case of actual elimination the power is disabled in the status list. That is information to which in a fog game especially all players should not be entitled. In fact it is unnecessary in any type of game and should be fixed.
Dog of War in ToS
GRU of the Despicables in TTT
User avatar
ColonelApricot
Premium Member
 
Posts: 379
Joined: 06 Oct 2013, 11:48
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1010
All-game rating: 1415
Timezone: GMT

Re: Fog Question

Postby uzes90 » 09 Aug 2019, 02:50

In the case of actual elimination the power is disabled in the status list. That is information to which in a fog game especially all players should not be entitled. In fact it is unnecessary in any type of game and should be fixed.


Then how would you handle the case when someone offers a draw?
Can they offer the draw to someone not in the game?

I don't think there is a good or better solution to what is being done today... else Super_dipsy would have thought of it ;)
User avatar
uzes90
Premium Member
 
Posts: 278
Joined: 24 Dec 2010, 22:23
Location: ...appears here and there - now and then - to this one and that one...
Class: Ambassador
Standard rating: 1000
All-game rating: 1842
Timezone: GMT-5

Re: Fog Question

Postby ColonelApricot » 09 Aug 2019, 04:14

uzes90 wrote:
In the case of actual elimination the power is disabled in the status list. That is information to which in a fog game especially all players should not be entitled. In fact it is unnecessary in any type of game and should be fixed.


Then how would you handle the case when someone offers a draw?
Can they offer the draw to someone not in the game?

Sure why not? Any response by the eliminated player should be ignored under the rules so it doesn't matter. Failure to respond is ambiguous. Maybe the player is eliminated, maybe they just decided not to respond.
In FoW why should everyone see that a player is eliminated? They should only see what is not in the fog. Only the players who have done the hard work of carrying out the elimination have earned the right to know that.

I suspect this is outlier thinking based on trying to improve the UI by excluding options, but that is not aligned to the general approach of the UI here in general that allows players to make illegal moves, or decline their own secret draw proposal, etc.
Dog of War in ToS
GRU of the Despicables in TTT
User avatar
ColonelApricot
Premium Member
 
Posts: 379
Joined: 06 Oct 2013, 11:48
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1010
All-game rating: 1415
Timezone: GMT


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests