Attacking a unit moving to the place of the attacker?

Question about the rules of the game? Experienced Diplomacy veterans will help you! There is also a Common Questions section.
Forum rules
In addition to the general Forum Guidelines (see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 30&t=15441), there are additional rules for posting in this forum.
1. Members should not refer directly to a specific situation in an active game. It is usually possible to provide an example of a similar situation elsewhere on the board.
2. It follows that links, images, game name and/or number should not be added to a post if the game is active.
3. Questions should only request rules be clarified and not request advice about how to resolve a situation.
4. When answering a question, members should restrict themselves to answering the question and not give advice on how to get around the situation.
Posts which break these rules will be subject to editing or removal; see here: http://www.playdiplomacy.com/forum/view ... 13&t=42845

Attacking a unit moving to the place of the attacker?

Postby lweinreb » 19 Jul 2019, 06:10

Say Italy is in Vienna and Austria is in Budapest and Russia is in Galicia. Italy and Russia are allies, so Russia supports Italy's move from Vienna into Budapest. However, Austria wants to get Vienna back and so attempts to go there with Budapest. Given that Austria has no extra support, are they allowed to move into Vienna even though Italy was attacking them with Vienna?
lweinreb
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 09 Oct 2015, 21:49
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: (986)
All-game rating: (986)
Timezone: GMT

Re: Attacking a unit moving to the place of the attacker?

Postby Solar Flare » 19 Jul 2019, 07:09

No. Budapest is dislodged and may not retreat to Vienna.

If you're ever unsure of moves like this, use the Orders Solver (tab at the top...) You can copy and paste your game number in, and it populates all units' positions. From there, you simply have to enter any number of orders (you don't need to give all units orders,) and then click resolve. You will go to a page that tells you the results of each unit's order.

Hope this helps!
Solar Flare
 
Posts: 85
Joined: 21 Oct 2015, 10:03
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: 1121
All-game rating: 1053
Timezone: GMT+6

Re: Attacking a unit moving to the place of the attacker?

Postby Shyvve » 19 Jul 2019, 20:27

While not addressed in the original question, it's also helpful to note that the dislodged A Bud has no effect on the province which dislodged it, in this case Vienna.
So, if there were an army in Tyrolia, also ordered to Vienna as A Bud was, there would be no standoff in Vienna. A Tyr to Vienna would succeed (assuming no other unit other than A Bud was ordered to Vienna).
An Oldie and Gold Classicist. Moderator for the Classicist group.
User avatar
Shyvve
Premium Member
 
Posts: 464
Joined: 31 Dec 2016, 20:10
Class: Star Ambassador
Standard rating: 1351
All-game rating: 1381
Timezone: GMT-6

Re: Attacking a unit moving to the place of the attacker?

Postby Mr.E » 20 Jul 2019, 10:24

It isn't part of the rules, and I don't think I've seen it elsewhere, but I tend to think of this situation as "overwhelming force".

This is clearly a 2v1 situation. Italy is attacking with a force of 2, Austria with a force of 1. Austria's attack is therefore overwhelmed by the Italian attack (with Russian support) and therefore is routed. It can't affect the space it is trying to attack. So, as Shyvve said, should another unit be attempting to move into Vienna, it would succeed even if, without the Italian attack, Austria's order of Bud-Vie would usually bounce Tyl-Vie.

Again, not addressed, but as a contrast, if Russia didn't offer support for Vie-Bud, then Austria's order of Bud-Vie wouldn't be overwhelmed, although it also wouldn't succeed. Not being overwhelmed, it would be able to bounce a potential Tyl-Vie order.

Maybe I'm being over-complicated in thinking about this situation in this way :) It is just as easy to remember that a dislodged unit has no affect on the space from which it has been attacked. And it doesn't work if the situation is slightly changed. For instance, keeping the original orders:
ITALY: Vie-Bud
RUSSIA: Gal S Vie-Bud
but changing Austria's order to Bud-Ser, and adding a Turkish order of Con-Ser, although Austria's army is dislodged, it can bounce Con-Ser (so doesn't act as a routed army).

So, well, make it simple, I guess :)
Respect neither opinions nor beliefs; only respect the person and the right to express them.
Play by the rules but be ferocious.
Visit The Embassy, a Diplomacy blog.
Read Perfidious Issue 3.
User avatar
Mr.E
Premium Member
 
Posts: 298
Joined: 20 Feb 2017, 09:27
Location: Yorkshire
Class: Diplomat
Standard rating: 941
All-game rating: 1066
Timezone: GMT


Return to Diplomacy Rules Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests